Carrot cake anyone?

Do any of you like carrot cake? …. I do!… My grandma used   to make THE BEST carrot cake in the world! I am missing her like crazy,  always do.

Grandma & Julie

This is a picture of her and me at a cousin’s wedding….. years ago. But, that is all I have. She passed away and my world fell apart. I don’t get to have a picture with her on my wedding day, I hated that.

She and I lead lives that are exactly the same, only mine came 70 years after hers. We were connected. We are still connected and I miss her every passing day.

Do any of you make anything because it takes you back? ….I make carrot cake to take me back to the loving hands of that beautiful woman.

Do you like how I tease you with the finished picture first…. Cruel, know!

Carrot cake squares

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 c. grated carrots
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 c. raisons
  • 1 c. water
  • 1/2 c. orange juice
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil (butter if you don’t have coconut oil)
    • You’ll mix all of these together and then microwave on high for 2 minutes!
    • Let it set out for 10 to become ‘warm’ instead of ‘hot’ Then you’ll add the following to the mix:
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour (white whole wheat works too!)
  • 1/2 c. oat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts (they will be folded in at the end!)
Bake at 325° for 25-30 mins in an 8X8 pan!
This is from livelaugheat.com…. Miss Allie pretty much rocks! :) Tis true, she rocks! … Here is her post on the good stuff. Thanks Allie for the recipe! 

The carrots make the cake, for real!  Don’t skimp on the grated carrots, they make it truly delish!Here it is in the microwave, not 100% sure why it says to microwave it, but it does. So, I do it…. I think it helps plump the raisons? This is my guess… 

Let it sit for 10 minutes after you take it out of the microwave. Then add the dry ingredients. FOLD in the walnuts.

Oh yes!

Question: Do you make anything to take you back to a time or remind you of someone? ….How about those childhood favorites that take you back? 

16 responses to “Carrot cake anyone?

  1. I love making cheesecake because it’s one dessert my grandmother and I made together all the time – same goes for chocolate chip pecan cookies!

  2. Mmm – that looks awesome! Being Greek, anytime I make or bake any traditional Greek food it TOTALLY reminds me of my childhood – especially the holidays when the house would be packed with relatives and all the food would smell so good :)

  3. That looks good! And your story is both sweet and sad–grandmothers are such wonderful people, and I love that you had such a connection with yours. I always associate cinnamon buns with my grandmother who has passed away–but mine are never as good as hers!

    • I think it must come with time, no matter how closely I follow her recipes, they always come out lacking something! It has to be the love and years that they put in while we weren’t looking that made it taste so special! …Thank you for the lovely comment! :) Warmed my heart!

  4. Awww I love my Grandma!! Unfortunately, she is known for being a terrible cook, ha! I remember eating things like lasagna without the noodles… Because she forgot them! So kitchen mess-ups always remind me of my gma :).

  5. Looks delicious! These would be perfect for my mom’s birthday next weekend… carrot cake is her favorite! Thanks for passing along the recipe!

    • It is more of a muffin/healthy alternative to the cake but GREAT nonetheless! Mom’s birthday, huh?!? I should make real carrot cake to celebrate!!! :) No porb for sharing the recipe! It is all Allie, I just made the stuff, good stuff might I add. :)

  6. I absolutely loveeee carrot cake!! There’s a bakery near my house that makes a layer carrot cake with prailine filling, plump raisins, nuts and cream cheese frosting..so dangerous. :) The squares are a great idea! My grandma makes the best homemade toffee, so that will always remind me of her.

    • Be still my heart! For once I’m glad that I live in the middle of nowhere, not a single bakery in sight! For real, I’d have to drive at least four hours to find one that was decent. ….Toffee? That is unique and special! Hope you’ve learned the tricks of the trade!

  7. YUM that looks so good! I LOVE carrot cake! Happy you have so many good memories with your grandmother!

  8. Unfortunately, by the time I came around, my own grandma was not super interested in cooking…. but she was very fond of the beach and of rum and cokes, so I think I at least inherited that from her!!

    My other grandma’s go – to dish was baked beans and that’s never gotten me going…. however, my mother would do (and still does) EPIC breakfasts for large crowds so, whenever I have a chance to contribute to events and meals, I choose breakfast!! Makes me feel like I’m a mother hen.

  9. ALSO totally forgot why I wanted to write on this post:

    I’ve been looking for a quality carrot cake recipe that doesn’t rely on WADS of cream cheese frosting to be good. AHHH EXCITEMENT!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

