California- Day 1

Hello! Hello! …I have been MIA for the past few days, and for good reason; I went home to be with my family before school starts! My sister is expecting her second bundle of joy and well, the bundle decided to ‘drop’ leaving us all on the edge of our seats hoping that he/she will continue to cook for a couple of more weeks!

Boy? .... Girl?

Boy? ....OR.... Girl? .....Either way, Aunt Julie will cry. ♥Love the baby to pieces. Proceed to not ever want to put the lovely bundle down. I can see the handwriting on the wall.

The doctor said that sure enough, baby has ‘dropped’ but she isn’t dilated yet! Thanks be to God, baby needs to stay in mommy’s tummy for as long as possible! Side-note— She is the most beautiful expantant mother ever! :) For real. I wouldn’t lie to you! (nope, not biased or anything. She really is that beautiful!)

California! Day 1!

I have also been busy basking in the glory of the vacation with the husband, still beaming from the much needed time away with the husband.  I know that I showed you a few of these already, but incase you missed them, I had to add them! I don’t want you to miss this!

Breakfast for the day! Oops! —Wait.

Wait, I don't regret it.... Not one, single, bite do I regret!!

A view of the city!

After the Golden Gate Bridge  we decided to go to Fisherman’s Wharf since we were already in the city, plus maybe we would get some good food while we were there. We weren’t planning on like the Wharf that much. But, we did! We like to walk around and experience an atmosphere, the Wharf is great for this!

We ate at The Franciscan :

Here it is!

Here’s what I got:

Sooo good!

Smoked Salmon Crustini— It was crostini  that had smoked salmon, capers, red onion, and avacado; with fresh mozzarella in the middle! 

It was delicious! …The waiter was NOT impressed that I got an appetizer for a meal!  When I go out to eat, I always have a to-go bag because I can’t eat it all. I am more of a grazer (sometimes from the husband’s plate!) and usually don’t eat large meals but more smaller ones.  I didn’t want to spend a whole bunch of money on something I couldn’t eat and couldn’t take home, I just didn’t want to waste a whole bunch of food. Side note- I love that the husband loves me enough to let me have a bite off of EVERY dish he eats. He doesn’t judge me for my weird habbits but just loves me, no questions asked. 

We decided that we liked Fisherman’s Wharf and this afternoon would not be enough time…. 

THEN! We headed to Santa Rosa to our hotel... But before we could settle down for the night, I had to make a pit stop!

Trader Joe’s! ♥

....Then the heavens opened up!

I hadn’t been to a Trader Joe’s since I moved from New York, about 2 years ago! Needless to say: I! WAS! EXCITED!!!! :) 

I needed to pick up a few things for breakfast for the week, supper for the night, and just take it all in. I was one happy girl looking at all of the produce and food that I can’t get back at home! Seriously, SO happy! ... I picked up lavash, peanut butter, bananas, peaches, and wine. And sushi for supper. A $6 meal on vacation, I can live with that! Not that it was amazing but I can’t get it at home and it tasted pretty darn good!!!

We called it a night, we were soooo tired from the day of traveling and jet lag. Day one was great but let me tell you people—-

THE BEST IS YET TO COME!!!! 

PS- I have had some problems posting this and have written it THREE times, sorry if you get it more than once and for the cruddy writing. I must have used my decent writing on the first two posts that didn’t save!!!  I don’t know what is going on!

Question: Do you think being a flight attendant would be awesome? —-AND— Do you order appetizers as a meal? —AND— Do you use to-go bags when you go out to eat?!?!? (or am I the only one!?)

37 responses to “California- Day 1

  1. So exciting waiting for the new little one!

    Fro yo for breakfast is completely acceptable — vacation or not! :-)

  2. Yay for finally returning to us, Julie!! I’ve been thinking about you!

    Looks like day one was awesome, especially because of TJs :) Can’t wait to hear about the rest of the trip!

  3. I ALWAYS order appetizers as my entree, but I get so worried that the server is judging me. I feel pressured to order more, even if I know there is NO way I will eat it. My husband thinks I am so strange for caring what the server thinks, but I am such a people-pleaser! It is ridiculous!

    I have finally stopped getting “to-go” bags because it just sits in the fridge until I throw it out days later. So just force my husband to finish whatever I order–now that I am Paleo he NEVER complains. That boy loves his meat! :)

  4. Froyo for breakfast? YES.YES.YES.

    I’ve only been to Trader Joes once in my life and I cry every time I think about it :( They don’t have any down south!
    And I DEFINIELY use “to go” bags– I’m a huge leftover fan!

  5. What a cute post!! Yay for a new baby coming soon. :)

    YES I think being a flight attendant would be awesome! But I’m not tall enough. Sad.

  6. I am so jealous of your Trader Joe’s trip! I have always wanted to go there. :) YAY FOR NEW BABIES! :D I can’t wait to find out if it is a girl or boy.

  7. When I get back to the states (On MONDAY!!) I think I might have fro-yo for breakfast, lunch and dinner the first day. Hey its been 8 months!! LOL

    I always order appetizers and sometimes (if they let me) from the kids menu!! I can never finish a meal either unless its a salad. Sometimes I order an appetizer and a side salad…you really get some strange looks from the waiter then. I get even more weird looks when I ask/change a lot about what I am ordering too! Maybe we should go out to eat together then the glares would at least be split between both of us! ;) LOL

    I think if you were single and wanting to travel being an international flight attendant would be AWESOME! I was actually thinking about that when I was on a plane last week. If you got to go to cool places and stay a few days for free (which most of them do) then yeah it would be awesome!

    • I totally agree, I hate having a complicated menu and changing a lot of things but I just can’t help it. I usually just want stuff on the side, I don’t think that’s too bad, but boy do I get looks!!! ……We could totally split the glares between the both of us! :) HA! I would LOVE that!

  8. So exciting about the baby!!! I like the idea of being a flight attendant, but I’m sure cleaning the bathrooms and digging out tissues/food from the seats is not so glamorous!

  9. Glad you’re back!

    I order appetizers (or kids meals – hey they usually come with a cookie!) on the regular. The portion size is perfect!! And its cheaper! Win/win in my book.

  10. I think being a flight attendant would be SO amazing! Apparently though it’s a much more difficult job to get than it appears…

    I always get a to-go bag – I view dinners out as dinner that night, and delicious leftovers for lunch the next day. 2-for-1!

  11. I always order appetizer as entrees…usually most entrees are crazy huge…To-go bags only when we ara at home – on vacation there’s usually nowhere to put them..unless we have a fridge. Before meeting my husband I traveled all over the US – for 8 years,.,on a plane every week..I felt like a flight attendant -it was a super fun thing to do right out of college but it eventually gets old quickly that’s for sure! xoxo from Trinidad

  12. I always get appetizers as meals, but it really annoys me when the appetizer costs the same amount as a meal! How does that even make sense?

    I love Trader Joe’s so much! When I was home in Connecticut this summer I had one 15 minutes away from my house, but now that I’m back in upstate ny, the closest one is 163 miles away :(

    And I don’t think I could be a flight attendant.. I’m fine flying except when I fly over water I start to have a panic attack. I think that might freak some travelers out haha. This is quite a lengthy comment. Have a wonderful day :)

  13. 1. Trader Joe’s is the FIRST place I stop when I go to California each year (there aren’t any in Canada)…curious though, was the wine 2buckChuck? ;-)

    2. I order an appetizer for dinner if I am going to a movie afterwards, or if I am with some friends and we want to try a few little things. The only time I have ever heard a waiter say boo about it was at Dick’s Last Resort in Vegas…and if you have been there, you would know why!

  14. Haha i go to that TJs all the time!!!

  15. Ahh love Trader Joe’s! I am so glad you were able to experience it’s awesomeness :)
    I order appetizers as entrees quite often, the portions are just too huge in some places!

  16. Aw it sounds like this was a great first day! I’m so glad that you enjoyed SF so much :) I’ve actually thought about the flight attendant thing before- I think it would be awesome to travel to really cool places all the time, but I wouldn’t love the whole being away from your family and having to deal with cranky passengers! And I think it’s smart to order an app as an entree especially when you know that you won’t be eating large portions!

  17. SO glad you had such a great trip!!

  18. My friend from Germany is a flight attendant and although she travels all over, she says it can get lonely. I don’t think I’d want to do it…

    That’s annoying about the server getting mad. I’m totally on the same page as you!

  19. Pingback: California- Day 4 & bold blogging up date! | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

