Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Dip

It’s no secret, I’m a HUGE fan of Chocolate! … I eat a lot of it! Seriously, I should probably cut back…. Oh well. Maybe later. ;)

Till then, I‘m going to enjoy my chocolate…. Here is a new dip that I have been needing to try since I first saw it floating around in blog world.

Chocolate Covered Katie is where my inspiration came from. I love her *SUPER* healthy spin on all the goodness that life has to offer! I would TOTALLY head over to check out her recipe for Dark Chocolate Brownie Batter Dip. Especially if you want a good recipe. I’m more of a dumper, so my ‘recipe’ will need tweaking based on what you like. 

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Dip 

adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie!Dark Chocolate Dip Ingredients

What you’ll need!
  • 1 can of RINCED & drained Great North Beans
  • 1 c. unsweetened Applesauce
  • 2 TBSP milk
  • 3 TBSP of Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tsp. peanut butter extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 packets of Truvia
    • (but I used an overripe banana for sweetness!)
  • 1 cup of quick oats
Put all items into a food processor (a blender would work too, I’m sure!) and let it whirl! 

Finally once it was all blended up, I dug in with spoon!

Maybe I should learn some patience!

To be completely honest, I think I’ll add baking soda next time to give it more of a kick and it was way better after it sat in the fridge overnight. Like I said, I would give Katie’s recipe a try first, she’s a professional – I’m a dumper.

QUESTION- Are you a recipe follower?  -or- Do you look at a recipe and then just dump stuff in?

I do follow recipes if I’m baking but on stuff like this I tend to want to do my own thing and not follow a recipe, just because I’m the boss in my kitchen! :)

20 responses to “Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Dip

  1. Haha honestly, I probably would’ve eaten this anyway– Anything with cocoa powder usually has me sold. I’m a combo kind of girl! I follow recipes to a point, but when I don’t have any of the ingredients anymore I get crazy and start subbing whatever I’m feelin ;)

  2. Awww lol! Patience? I don’t think that word belongs in the same sentence as “chocolate” :).

  3. yummmmm I could eat this in one sitting.. I love the idea of putting banana in it!! I’m like you- I follow recipes for baking, but for everything else I just kind of throw ingredients together and cross my fingers :)

  4. Oh. My. Goodness! Anything with chocolate and nut butter is TOTALLY up my alley!

    I always use a recipe as a guide, but than totally add and subtract things as I feel compelled to do!

  5. Sometimes I follow recipes and sometimes I experiment. Depends what kind of mood I’m in. :-)

  6. Looks delicious! I love Katie’s recipes!

    I tend to follow recipes pretty closely when I’m baking, but I “wing” things more when I’m cooking!

  7. I totally wing it all the time! I love creating new recipes and just adding things until it looks and tastes right. With most dinners, I simply just dump stuff in- especially spices! I also smell the dishes a lot and I can tell by the smell if it needs something else.

    The dip looks good! I’ve never heard of peanut butter extract before!!!

  8. Yum! I loved chocolate covered katie too! Shes always got such tasty recipes that seem like theyd be super fattening..but arent :D

  9. That looks amazing! You had me at “Dark chocolate Peanut butter dip” Love it!
    I do a bit of both, I like to follow the directions and then make up my own after the first round.

  10. Omgahhhh these look amazinggggg. I usually follow recipes, but tweak the ingredients to make them healthier. I have tried just dumping things in and going at my own pace in the past and things got messy.

  11. Ummm…this looks like the absolute best thing ever!! I am definitely making this ASAP! :-D

  12. This looks heavenly!! When there’s chocolate and peanut butter in the same sentence, you know it’ll be a great thing. :)

  13. why would you ever think about giving up chocolate?! you know that’s just a horrific idea. haha.

  14. I follow recipes. If I just dumped stuff in it would be a disaster. I know form experience :)

    That dip looks great! Show me dark chocolate and I’m in!

  15. I do LOVE chocolate myself! You’re not the only one!

  16. I love her website, she is one creative lady… nice job re-creating this amazing dip!

  17. I’m the same as you–I don’t dare adjust baking recipes, but everything else is fair game. I love making dessert dips out of chickpeas–similar theory. Banana and pb are my favorite add-ins for that, yum! And I’m not exactly food-patient either. But if I wasn’t, I’d miss out on such glorious things as uncooked pancake batter and cookie dough :D

  18. Mmmm dark chocolate peanut butter dip sounds so good! I’ve never seen peanut butter extract though? I’m going to have to keep an eye out for that and the dark choc cocoa powder! I usually start off following recipes but then kind of make it my own by what I have in the kitchen!

  19. Amazing looming recipe- I’d never think of making a bean dip into a sweet treat!

    Never heard of peanut butter extract- I’ll have to look out for it!

    -Miriam

  20. oh my, that sounds incredible!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

