Rules to Live By… From the desk of Mrs. H

Happy Tuesday everyone! I have been reflecting a lot lately. Concentrating on the things that matter. -I wanted to share what I have hanging in my classroom.

 Mrs. H’s classroom door. Rules & Rainbows! :) 

Classroom Door

Rules & Rainbows!

Mrs. H’s Rules to live by…

  1. Be honest and kind…. Always. No exceptions. 
  2. Do the right thing…. because it is the right thing to do.
  3. Eat you vegetables. 

As I do on the first day of school, let me elaborate on each rule’s importance and meaning.

I wanted to write 10 rules- that was too many. I tried to make a single rule that encompassed everything- that was too few and too hard. I wrote three- that was just right. (Goldie locks anyone?!) 

Rule #1: Be honest & kind…. Always. No exceptions. 

  • There is no reason to lie. Ever.  Life is lived better when the truth is the only option. Lying is not an option, it is not the truth.  Life becomes confusing when we lie. People can not trust someone who has lied to them and it says something about your character. Go out of your way to be honest. 
  • There is no reason to not be kind. Ever. Being unkind is not kind. I know that sounds simple; but seriously, what is ever truly gained from being unkind? The happiest people in life are those who go out of their way to be kind to others. Search for ways to be kind. Go out of your way to be kind.
Rule #2: Do the right thing…. because it is the right thing to do.
  • Deep within our inner being, we know what is the right thing to do in a situation and what is the wrong thing to do in situation…. Do the right thing. It may be hard; but do the right thing. When you follow your conscious – don’t do it for the reward you may get, don’t do it for a pat on the back, don’t do it to impress others- do it ONLY because it is the right thing to do. 
Rule #3: Eat your vegetables.
  • This is good for your body. I say this because I want your body to love you. I say this because I want you to love your body. I know, sometimes they taste yucky. (saying to 3rd graders…) Suck it up and learn to like them. They are the one thing your body craves and all science agrees that they are a necessity. Eat them and don’t complain. 
Okay…. That’s all :) 

L.O.V.E. the 3rd grade art ....PS- no I don't go by Mrs. H, they all call me by my full last name... I blurred it out...

QUESTION: No questions today. Thoughts?  How is life?

17 responses to “Rules to Live By… From the desk of Mrs. H

  1. That is ADORABLE! Do you really tell the children to eat their vegetables? That might be an awesome way to get them excited about it– I can’t remember any of my teachers doing that haha

  2. Aw, so cute; love your rules! All of them are so true!

  3. love these rules…haha wait, i love rules? (That sounds just not right) anyways that little picture is adorable!! That would definitely make the whole job worth it for me :)

  4. You r such a doll! Love your rules…simple – honest – excellent!
    Love the vegetables comment too! xoxo

  5. I love your rules and LOVE the eat your vegetables rule. Great for little kids to be hearing this from someone other than their parents. I think it helps it stick a bit when their teacher encourages these things. :-)

  6. I love the drawing. I remember I never drew necks on my people:) and way to encourage veggie eating from a young age!

  7. I love your rules. I think you covered it all with those three! (p.s. Your name is written again on the bottom of the picture and isn’t blurred out. I’m not sure how I noticed that but thought I’d let you know)

  8. OMG, I LOVE that eat your vegetables is one of your class rules! One of my rules (not posted, but a rule nonetheless) is that if they have a snack it must be a healthy snack. Even though I’ve gone over what a healthy snack is, I still have kids every day showing me their snack and asking if it is healthy. Yes, your apple is healthy. No, for the 10th time, your fruit by the foot is not.

    oh, and p.s. My google reader makes images very large, and your last name shows on the last picture, in case you want to blur it.

  9. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE these rules. If every adult lived the way we teach our kids to … this world would have a lot more smiles in it. You rock!

  10. I agree with all of these!! I HATE when people lie or are unkind for no reasons. Those are definitely sososo important. Veggies are pretty darn important in my book too ;) I love that you tell your students that!

  11. hahaha “EAT YOUR VEGETABLES” love that. of course it had to go on the list! :)

    xoxo <3

  12. Those are great rules… I’m amazed at how many people are snappy and unkind, especially at work. Great to reflect on these… and a friendly reminder to eat more veggies haha

  13. You are brilliant! These rules are PERFECT! I am also glad you added rainbows–rules are always better with rainbows!

  14. I love these life lessons you instill in 3rd graders :D because they are our future! It’s good to know that there are people like you teaching them well!

  15. That is so cute. I love the rules. Life lessons need to be taught young.

  16. These are fantastic rules. I love the foodie rule thrown in for good measure! Haha!

    P.S. I totally miss 3rd grade now.

  17. Pingback: Learning and Working and Being Nice | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

