Pumpkin + Granola = Good Idea!

Pumpkin Granola Bars 

I have this friend, her name is Chelsey.  She is pretty darn smart! In fact, she came up with her own recipe to make homemade pumpkin granola bars! See what I’m talking about?! S-M-A-R-T!

They are pretty darn yummy!

Okay, I lied. We’re only blog friends— but if I ever get the chance to run across her one day, I’ll thank her for a lot of things. These granola bars will be on the list I’ll thank her for ….along with spreading passion for youth and positive self image in young girls! Task at hand?! Oh yah, the granola bars….

Pumpkin Granola Bars

Using Chelsey’s recipe & making a couple of changes. 

  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup molasses
  • 3 tbsp. maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/3 cup walnuts
  • 1/3 cup cacao nibs (can sub chocolate chips)
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries

Turn 1/2 c. of oats into oat flour using food processor or blender.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the remaining: oats, oat flour, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt. Toss the ingredients until all are well incorporated. In another mixing bowl, combine  pumpkin puree, molasses, maple syrup, and  vanilla. Whisk until smooth and add to dry ingredients. Stir until dry ingredients are mixed into the wet ingredients. Then, carefully fold in your cacao nibs, walnuts, and dried cranberries. Press into a small baking dish (depending on how thick you want them) Bake in a 300 degree oven for 20 minutes. ENJOY!


I added molasses because I wanted a deep flavor and walnuts because I think they are delicious! I also added water because I thought it wouldn’t hurt to add some more moisture just to make sure they were extra moist & chewy!.….I should have followed Chelsey’s recipe a little closer because the amount of water caused them to turn out a little more chewy/bar’ish than I had planned. She’s smart, follow her recipe! :)

Question: Favorite way to eat pumpkin? That is if you like the stuff. PS- tomorrow is Friday! Are you excited?!

 

 

24 responses to “Pumpkin + Granola = Good Idea!

  1. I agree that pumpkin+granola=good idea! I love that you added molasses. Yum.

  2. :) Thanks, Julie! You’re a pretty smart lady too – molasses? Love it! Thanks for all the kind words you said about me. You’re too much.

  3. I love to make overnight oats with pumpkin. 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, pumpkin pie spice, or cinnamon to taste, stevia, 1 Tbs Chia seeds and 1/3 to 1/2 cup of pumpkin.

  4. I saw these on Chelsey’s blog last week too! Now I’m wanting to make granola bars! I love to put pumpkin in my oatmeal, & of course, pumpkin pie!

  5. I love oatmeal and I love pumpkins so your recipe sounds amazing! I bet the cranberries, walnuts, and cinnamon gave the granola even more flavor. I want to try the recipe!

  6. OH boy, I admire people who make up their own recipes so much! They have way more guts than I do :/ I’m always super freaked out to waste ingredients!! These sound super yummy, pumpkin makes everything better!

  7. I had already bookmarked Chelsey’s recipe… but I am definitely going to be adding some molasses. I don’t use it nearly enough. I think most foods taste good with lil pumpkin:) oats, cakes, chili, etc.

  8. Pumpkin granola sounds awesome! We pretty much love all things pumpkin lately, I think we are going to turn orange! :-)

  9. Pumpkin dip is by far my favorite way to enjoy pumpkin!

    Yay for it being Friday, but I’m actually working 14 days straight! At least I love my job and some days aren’t as long as others!

  10. Although i hate pumpkin…i do love Chelsey…..long live no more pumpkin recipes…Just kidding guys!.
    xoxo from Trinidad

  11. Mmmhmm yes this is a good idea! I love pumpkin in oats, and in PIEEE of course!

  12. Holy. Cow. These look incredible! My husband loves granola bars! I am going to have to whip these up!

    My favorite way to eat pumpkin is in soups and chilis! Oooh! I just love it!

  13. Yummmm! I love anything pumpkin and I have a couple cans chillin in the pantry. I may just have to give these a whirl!

  14. These look so good! I LOVE pumpkin and like eating it in bread form the best :)

  15. I love eating pumpkin in every which way…but if I must narrow it down I would go with pie! :D

  16. These granola bars look great! I definitely just bookmarked the recipe. I love pumpkin<3

  17. They look really really good!!! Are they sweet!? I LOVE granola bars – and I also love almost all of Kaths recipes on KathEats – BUT I made her granola bars a few months back and I was not a fan – I dont normally have a super sweet tooth, but the bars were almost savoury and I was NOT a fan. I know a bunch of other people were… so Im now always keen to check! Are these like Starbucks granola bars (which are a major dirty secret of mine!). I love your blog BTW! xox

  18. You had me at Pumpkin Granola Bars….I need these in my life.

  19. Ohh pumpkin granola bars sound amazing!! I have never made my own granola bars but I really want to try it! I love the idea of knowing exactly what’s in them!

  20. Those look SO good! If only I wasn’t orange…..

  21. Pingback: Halloween Pumpkins « Biking Before Bed

  22. livinglearningeating

    Ooh, yumyum!

  23. Pingback: Halloween Pumpkins

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

