Right now?!?

Let’s take a moment to discuss why I have some of most amazing readers on the face of the earth:

  • You are kind enough to read this nonsense every day that I post.
    •  You don’t shun me when I don’t have enough time to post every day. 
    • You don’t shun me when I don’t have enough sanity to post every day. 
  • You add your great thoughts and make me smile. 
  • You have such amazing hearts
  • You are just AWESOME

I have gotten several questions and a few e-mails regarding what is going on with me and my wonderful body right now. I call my body wonderful for a few reasons. No, not that I think highly of myself- but I do think highly of my Creator. There are people in this world that have bodies that could be doing better for them. I pray for them.  Yes, it’s true my body isn’t working the way I would like…. But, since when do I know what is best for me?!

^I didn’t know what was best for me then ^…. I still don’t know.  So, *RIGHT NOW* I’m concentrating on the good things it can do.

For the past month and a half, I was supposed to call the doctor every single week to let them know what’s going on. I call the doctor to tell them that nothing has changed. The standard doctor response is, “Wait another week and call back.” ……. I was supposed to call on the 16th.  Nothing had changed, I was ready to hear “Wait another week and call back” but much to the terror of my heart I heard, “We need to see you as soon as possible. You may have cysts on your ovaries. When can you get here? Today or tomorrow. Right now would be best.”

*RIGHT NOW?!?* Ummm, hello it is 10:30AM and I am at work trying to educate a room full of 9 & 10 year old children. *right now?!?* It is a 3.5 hour drive down there. You need me right now??!? Am I just supposed to walk out on a room full of kids, hand them a box of matches, gasoline, and a how-to video named “How to light things on fire?” Ummm, I don’t think so! *RIGHT NOW* is not a good time for this. I don’t have time right now. I’m not prepared right now. I simply can’t right now!.…….. But, I had to do it.

You caught me— Okay, so I didn’t leave a box of matches, gasoline, or the how to video. I’ll save that for another day. ;) But, I did have to leave the moment my sub got there at 12:00. I didn’t have time to make lesson plans, I felt like I abandoned my kids. I hated that. The husband couldn’t come along since it was such short notice, so I headed down the long road by myself. Darn.

After 3.5 hours on the road. I arrived to my 3:45 appointment just on time. I’ll spare you the details but I did get to hear “Well, it doesn’t look like there are large cysts like we were afraid of. So, we have that to be happy about.” They tried to get me to come in on Thanksgiving morning- I kindly declined and said that I really needed to see my family, that would be what is healthy for me- family time. I have to go back on the 25th, the day after Thanksgiving, to start a new round of medication. I’ve been on two different kinds since I last updated all of you.

I am thankful that *right now*, I am feeling very positive and hopeful. For a couple of weeks there, it was super tough. I was mad and I felt abandoned by my body. It has not abandoned me, it is just taking its dear sweet time. In true Julie form, it is doing exactly what it darn well pleases.  Yep, true Julie form right there. (family, I know you are laughing right now. That’s okay. I deserve it.)

*RIGHT NOW* I’ll be thankful for the body God gave me, He gave it to ME for a reason.

QUESTION:  What is great for you *RIGHT NOW* ? 

21 responses to “Right now?!?

  1. I just have to say that I love how positively you are able to look at the situation God has dealt you. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to remember that there is a reason for all of this, but just know that He has a greater plan for you!

    You’re in my prayers, Julie. <3

  2. Julie, only you could spin this situation so positively that your story even made me giggle, even though you are going through an exhausting ordeal. I keep seeing (full disclosure: on pinterest) the quotation: If all you had today was what you thanked God for yesterday, what would you have? Your right now is filled with so many amazing things, as is mine, as is everyone’s! The future will come when it will and bring with it awesome surprises we never could’ve imagined – you’ll make it! xx

  3. I can’t imagine having to drop everything like that, but I am glad that you are making the right choices for yourself and no one else. Keep your head up high and things will work out in the end like they are supposed to…you have the right attitude!

  4. You sure as heck have a fantastic attitude and I am glad you are so so proud of this <3 You are doing everything you are supposed to and I believe everything will workout out as a result :)

  5. You’re amazing. Seriously. Having to just drop and go and still keep a sense of humor about everything is remarkable.

    What is great for me right now is that I get to see my family that lives far far away very soon!

  6. aw happy birthday to ur sister! :)

  7. You are seriously amazing because you are looking on the bright side of things even through all of this. I am so sorry that you have to deal with this! I hope you feel better soon! Enjoy your Thanksgiving and hopefully you will find out everything asap :) xoxo

  8. You have so much positivity and your posts are always full of that and i love it! I hope everything will get better for you! And I hope that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family! Right now, my temporary job is great for me..it might be temporary, but I’m really enjoying it. :)

  9. You are so positive, it’s very uplifting. No one ever has time *right now* because we’re always doing something. We live in a 24/7 world now. I hope you have a wonderful time with your family and that your body starts working perfectly. Right now the fact that I’m almost out of school for break is great.

  10. What a scary day! I’m glad this is a fixable problem, and who knows, maybe after this round of medication your body will be ready to get in line with what your heart wants. I was just wondering how things were going. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers!
    And uggh, last minute sub plans are the worst! Last month I thought I was well enough to make it through the day, but was attacked by a high fever and almost passed out in class! Super Teacher worksheets to the rescue! Not as great as real lesson plans, but they work in a pinch :)

  11. Praying for you!!! I hope you get some answers and things taken care of quickly, but definitely enjoy your Thanksgiving too!!!!!!

  12. Wow, drop everything is really what you did eh? I can’t imagine going through what your going through. I have you in my prayers every night girl. It crazy because I’m trying to do everything I can not to have a baby and you the opposite. I know things will work out to God’s plan…. I wish you the best Thanksgiving ever and I can’t wait to Skype w/you after Beth leaves…
    xoxo from Trinidad

  13. Hang in there Julie! You are so positive and good for you for knowing what’s right for you and spending time with your family on Thanksgiving! You are in my prayers for answers and results that you want.
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  14. Awww Julie! I am so sorry that you are going through all of this! That must have been incredibly stressful for them to tell you to leave work and go immediately there! But you have such an incredible attitude despite it all! And you are right- God knows what’s going to happen and we just have to trust him and rely on him during these difficult times. Also- I’m not quite sure what your issues are, but I had some serious feminine ones a few years ago that were very complex and had years for doctors to figure out! If you want to email me I’d be happy to discuss!

  15. Oh girlie, I have been thinking and praying for you! I love the way you have re-framed the situation and am so glad that you feel more encouraged. You are SO strong! I am also very glad you told them NO to a Thanksgiving visit…um, no thanks! You are awesome!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

