Shhhhhh! No talking!

I know I’ve been MIA for a couple of days. Let me tell you why.

3rd Grade Awesomeness!

I had the 3rd grade Thanksgiving play on Tuesday. The kiddos ROCKED! Every last line was to be memorized and spoken with expression and projected for all to hear. They preformed the fifteen/twenty minute play FOUR TIMES on Tuesday. —-and I didn’t have to give them a line once! Not even one time! Holy amazingness! See? They did so awesome!

My momma was so amazing that she came down for the day to watch my kiddos preform! She agreed, they were quite impressive!

Shh! NO Talking!

Do you realize how much talking we do in one day? I now do. We do a lot of talking. We chit chat over the phone, check in to let others know we are safe, and engage in conversations quite frequently. As a teacher, I talk nearly 24/7. For real. I talk a lot.

To answer that question- No I don't get tired of it! :)

My body must have known that a break from school was drawing near because at 2:00 on Tuesday, my voice was D.O.N.E. -done-. I was feeling a little under the weather but it would be no big deal. I’d be fine.  BUT- my throat had other ideas. By 5:00, I could no longer speak. Like at all. I went to bed on Tuesday night without a voice but I just knew I’d be able to wake speaking and ready to hit the road with my sister to go shop! That was a no go. I hit the road but my voice decided to stay behind. Bummer- the one time I get to be with my sister allll day long with no interuptions and I can’t talk HOW RUDE!

Yet we spent the day together and still had fun. I know that she would have given anything when we were kids to spend a day with me where I was unable to talk. Now that we are adults, I think she would have kind of liked to talk to me. Repeat- I think ;) We enjoyed the day together even though it was quieter than usual!

On to Thursday. This was Thanksgiving. NO VOICE! I couldn’t even whisper. I had sit through family conversations in silence and just take the friendly banter about me being unable to speak or defend myself in a conversation. Good thing I love you large family. Good thing I love you.

Promptly after Thanksgiving lunch the husband and I had to hit the road. I had a doctors appointment to get to on Friday. So we drove two and a half hours home and then another three and a half hours to the town that my doctor is in. That makes a total of SIX HOURS in a car with no conversation. Talk about a bummer.

So, here I sit after 3 1/2 days with no voice at all….. Sometime soon I’ll have to share what I saw on Black Friday while I was out and about. It is the humor of a 3rd grader but golly was it funny! :) Maybe that is why I teach the 3rd grade.

QUESTION: Have you ever lost your voice for a prolonged period of time?

11 responses to “Shhhhhh! No talking!

  1. I once lost my voice for 48 hours….PAINFUL. Then a couple years ago…I had to get my tonsils out and it was HORRIBLE – no talking for a very long time! I hope you feel better!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  2. First, I hope you feel better, losing your voice is a bummer! I have one time from laryngitis, but it was only for about 36 hours.. then returned. And I am so so impressed that you ventured out for Black Friday, I am scared by the whole thing haha

  3. I hope you feel better! I’ve only ever lost my voice for short periods of time. My sister-in-law has actually been without her voice since last Saturday!

  4. I have never lost my voice like that before, but I’m sorry you have. I can’t imagine not talking for that long!

  5. Awww that sounds awful!!! You poor thing! I’ve lost my voice for a few days and it was pretty crappy, so I know what you’re going through! Drink lots of tea with honey, and try adding in some apple cider vinegar. That stuff cured my sore throat the other day!!!

    Hope you still had a great Thanksgiving with your fam! And I hope the doctor’s appt was positive :)

  6. I’m so sorry you lost your voice — and over the holiday! At least you were “stuck” in the car with your husband and not a random person who it would have been awkward to be silent around!

    Feel better soon!

  7. Oh gosh, that is terrible! Good thing you had Wednesday off! Bummer not to be able to talk to your family though :( I hope the doctors appt. went well!

  8. The pictures you chose, particularly of Stephanie Tanner, made me giggle! Hope you are feeling tip top soon!

  9. I’m so sorry that you lost your voice! That’s happened to my sister before — and it drove her CRAZY! To tears even. The house was pretty quiet, until she got it back. ;)

  10. aww hope your feel better! Thats a bummer to be sick on the holidays :/ hopefully you scored some good deal on black friday!

  11. Pingback: Dear Body, | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

