The Story of the Princess Band-Aid

Tonight’s post was going to be awesome. I kid you not. I had plans of a wonderful soup on all of your horizons. No, I didn’t make up the recipe- I stole it from an amazing food blogger out there. Now I’m sure you’re all wondering if it was you. You’ll find out soon enough.  Honestly- it was going to be delectable. You should smell my house!

Then…. 

This happened.

The cut.

The cut.

I was cutting potatoes for the recipe in an ill fashion- due to the limited amount of counter space I have in my kitchen- and by limited, I mean a square 13 inches of counter space that is probably being occupied by my blender or something of the sort. So, I wasn’t cutting the potato properly and I cut myself. Like really cut myself. It was bleeding  a lot. I couldn’t get it to stop.

Then….. 

I had to fix it.

The princess band-aid

Nothing can fix a boo-boo like a princess band-aid. (Again, the perks of being a teacher, I have princess bandaids on hand.) I feel so special when I use princess band-aids. I am a kid at heart so I am in love with using these. Such and adult. I know. After I mended my cut, I decided to continue cooking.  Onward and upward.

Then…

I poured myself a glass of this….

Okay… so the recipe called for a little of this. ****I swear I cut myself BEFORE I poured myself a glass.**** I thought, “Why the heck not?…. I mean, it’s already out. Yah, just a glass. It will make the cooking more enjoyable.” You’d be thinking the same thing if you were in my shoes. You know you would! :)

Then….

While my soup was simmering I enjoyed my glass of wine in front of my Christmas tree- Princess Band-Aid and all. 

I love being an adult. 

QUESTION: When was the last time you cut yourself really bad? -OR- What kind of band-aids do you have on hand? Am I the only cool kid with the Princess & Batman bandaids?! 

12 responses to “The Story of the Princess Band-Aid

  1. I totally do the same thing when a recipe calls for wine – you might as well if the bottle is already out! I can’t remember the last time I cut myself cooking…I guess that’s a good thing! Looking forward to seeing your soup recipe :)

  2. I haven’t cut myself badly in a long time (luckily!), but I’ve definitely had my fair share of accidents. I used to have cartoon Band-Aids on hand, but the kids that I nanny for have either “graduated” to plain, brown ones, or refuse Band-Aids all together!

  3. I cut myself almost every time I cut something in my kitchen!! My dad has made a joke about me using a knife for years. Anytime we’re all together for dinner and he sees me grab one, he ducks and acts like he needs to run out of the room!

  4. I have plain old band-aids at my house :( I’ve (knock on wood) been good about not cutting myself in the kitchen lately, but I have managed to get a ton of paper cuts! Yuck!

  5. I always have fun band-aids on hand! :-)

  6. My band-aids are SO lame! I want princess ones! We are totally boring and just have the plain ones.
    I actually have not cut myself in a couple months. However, I burn myself at least once a week. I also always catch pot-holders on fire (I did that last night!).

  7. Ouch!!! Nothing like a cute bandaid and wine can’t fix ;D Hope you feel better! I literally always cut myself.

  8. Ouchie…I try my best not to cut myself but I have more scars than I can explain…I happen to burn myself much more than cut. ast healing soon girlie! p.s. — AWESOME giveaway today…you must head over and enter!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  9. Aw I’m sorry about your finger!! But a glass of wine and a princess bandaid sound like it made it all better! Have you seen these Cynthia Rowley band-aids? They are too cute! I think you need some! http://www.cynthiarowley.com/exclusives/rowleyband-aids/band-aid-brand-by-cynthia-rowley.html

  10. Lol. I use princess band-aids almost EXCLUSIVELY!! But it’s almost always on my poor runner’s feet! I hate cutting myself though. I’m super dramatic when I do. Last time I was terrified I was going to have to have stitches which would be like… my worst nightmare!!

  11. Awww you got a boo boo :(! My mum keeps disney-themed bandaids at home for my nephews! Apparently it really does make things all better!

  12. Aww, pretty band aids make EVERYTHING better. :) I got some crayola crayon band aids when I had my meningitis and flu shots (though now I wish they had been princesses!). I’m sorry about the cut, though.

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

