Gingerbread Protein Dough

As I was making a staple in my household, Cookie Dough Protein Balls- I can’t live without them- I am so thankful that Mareya opened my eyes to them. She posted the invention and I’ve been in love ever since. I want to make the new version and send them to her growing family as a thank you gift! …Task at hand? Oh yes, I was making the cookie dough protein balls and  *I had a revelation*. The revelation went a little something like this….

Christmas + Protein deliciousness = Gingerbread Protein Dough

Gingerbread Protein Dough

Gingerbread Protein Dough

I have to admit- I’m quite glad I stumbled into this great idea! It is adding so much holiday joy to my days when I can go grab one of these to give me an extra boost. Plus, they are uber healthy. Yes, I just said UBER healthy and I’m pretty sure I’ll say it again later. Watch for it.

What you need:

Gingerbread Protein Dough Ingredients

Gingerbread Protein Dough Ingredients

  • 1/2 c. almonds (ground into fine crumbs- Do this FIRST)
  • 1 can Garbanzo beans (rinsed + drained!)
  • 1/8 ish c. milk (your choice- I used soy)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • heaping 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • heaping 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 c heaping whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp molasses

Directions:

First, grind 1/2 cup of almonds into fine crumbs. Add 1 can of rinsed + drained garbanzo beans. Pulse until combined and beans are broken up. Add milk, vanilla extract, ginger, cloves, nutmeg, and whole wheat flour. Mix together- it should be getting dough like. Add honey and molasses. Mix together until a dough forms- just like cookie dough, pretty thick. Taste the dough to make sure the spices and sweetness is to your liking! :) That’s the best part.

(If it is too dry- add a splash of milk. Too wet- add more flour. This recipe is pretty forgiving!)

Dump onto a plate with saran wrap to chill in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Once chilled. Roll out and cut out your gingerbread men! Or turn them into dough balls if you are strapped for time. I did half gingerbread men and half dough balls :)

NOTE: This is not a cookie dough to cook. It is a dough that is to be eaten ‘raw’. No eggs- you’re safe. They keep perfectly in the freezer for weeks. Just set them out for a minute or two from the freezer. Finally- eat them!

Enjoy! 

As you can see from the ingredient list, these are insanely healthy. Yes, they are husband taste tested and approved. I am loving them for the season and am on the fence about sharing them with others at school.  To share or not to share? That is the question.

Warning: the UBER healthy nature of this dough may cause you To o.d. on gingerbread dough

………

….

Serving suggestion: By the Christmas tree- only Christmas lights on- hot chocolate in one hand- gingerbread protein man in the other- Christmas movie playing in the background- cozy slippers. :)

Gingerbread Protein Dough

Perfect for Santa! His waistline will thank you!

 Question: What is your serving suggestion?

16 responses to “Gingerbread Protein Dough

  1. hmmm….eating one while Skyping my friend sfrom Kansas….hmmm…yes that sounds good!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  2. Ooo I have all the ingredients…might be making these tonight. My goal is one Christmas treat per night so when I make my treat baskets I have everything ready in my freezer (already pre-portioned because I’m type-A like that).
    I think your serving suggestion sounds fab. Only I might sub out the movie for a book and the Nutcracker ballet music in the background. :)

  3. I never would have thought to make these! Way to get creative!

  4. So creative! I love that they are actually shaped like gingerbread men. I love you serving suggestion. The only thing I would add would be a santa snuggie:)

  5. That’s it, i’m pinning this. SO creative, and I love that they’re gingerbread men! I just got a new set of cookie cutters that have these babies all over them

  6. Ooo.. Gingerbreads are totally my fave to begin with. And this. This is just too much!! I love it. Don’t share. Lol. Ok. Just make an extra batch!

  7. Ahh yum do these look good! I have all the ingredients at home, so when I return from school tomorrow I shall be making them :D

  8. So adorable! Anything that is served next to an xmas tree is a winning recipe in my book :) Love the sprinkles, too!

  9. Love this!!! Looks insanely good :D

  10. I can’t believe these are real. I have to try these out!!

  11. These sounds delish and I love your serving suggestion ;)

  12. Love this!! These look incredible. I hope I get the chance to make a batch before I go into labor! ;-)

  13. I am totally going to substitute almond or coconut flour to make these gluten-free. They look DELISH! I would have never thought to make them gingerbread. Thank you, Julie! You rock!

  14. Dough? Um YES, count me in! Love that this sounds delicious, yet won’t kill ya with the calories ;)

  15. Such a great recipe! Can’t wait to try them out!

  16. YAY! I’m so glad that you shared the recipe. :)

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

