3 years ago…

Three years ago, a girl and a boy from Kansas drove 1,555 miles into New York City.  He was dropping her off for her to live and work for a semester on Long Island. She knew that she wanted to do this, to see what it exactly was she wanted from life. The boy and the girl drove for days on end and ended up in the city.

The girl and boy went through you know what trying to get into the city through the Holland Tunnel a couple of days before New Years Eve. EVERYONE was trying to get into the city to celebrate in Times Square! It was packed and the car they were riding in about got clobbered by a bus. True story….. The girl cried. The boy asked “Where do they sell I hate NY shirts? Where can I buy one of those?” The boy was trying to make light of the situation. The girl cried more.

After about losing their lives trying to get into the city, a wrong turn was somehow taken and they got lost. The girl cried more.

After hours of being lost in NYC, they were finally on Long Island driving on the LIE- which can otherwise be known as torture during ‘rush hour’. Right before it was completely dark they drove up to the girl’s new home. There were no curtains on her windows, the new roommate was a fitness model (true story) who does competitions, and her bed was not put together. The room was cold and empty and the boy was going to leave the girl there all alone. The girl cried more.

The boy and the girl went to bed on tear a tear stained pillow. The next day, the boy helped the girl put her room together and make it home to her. The boy was being such a prince charming.

AFTER the boy helped the girl get her room together.

The boy walked out of her new place in New York on New Years day and the girl stayed in New York.  The boy got on a plane and flew back to Kansas, without the girl. The girl cried when the boy walked away from her and she felt her hear break….. She thought she liked that boy quite a bit but didn’t think she would actually feel her heart break when he walked away and left her there. Yes, she cried all the way to New York and for a few days after she arrived but ended up having the time of her life and learned the most important lesson of her life. 

The lesson that girl learned: She loved that boy with all of her heart.

This is a true story based on the real life of Julie and her now husband. :)

I’m pretty sure the boy in this story learned the same lesson, loving the girl with all of his heart. You should hear HIM  tell the story! It’s waaaaaay better than my version!

31 responses to “3 years ago…

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    How SWEET! And thank you so much for sharing because as you’ve probably heard me mention, it looks like Will and I will have to pull off some long distance in the future. If anything, it will hopefully prove to us how much we truly DO love each other!

    Have a Happy New Year, Julie :) Can’t wait to read more of your shenanigans in 2012!

    • I know your heart is heavy with the thoughts of miles. Believe in your relationship and that His plan is perfect for you two!
      …..I think the thing that helped us the most is that we discussed the things that we would NEED in order to keep our relationship alive and connected. My request was that he call me every night when he got into bed, no matter when we talked last during the day. I wanted to say goodnight, even though he had to wake me up to tell me goodnight (there was a time difference between us) It comforted me so much to be able to say goodnight. <3

  2. Such a sweet story. It sounds like you had an awesome opportunity & it helped you realize what you wanted in life, which is huge!

  3. Awwwwwwwa!! That’s awesome!! Okay, let’s hear his side too. Make him write it. Haha. :)

  4. Awww, what a nice story :)

  5. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!! What an amazing story! Isn’t it funny how God teaches us so much from “heart-break” moments! I am glad you married the love of your life! :)

  6. everything happens for a reason….at least that is what I believe. :-)
    so happy y’all found your way back to each other. I know you are going to have the BEST 2012 ever girl. xoxo from Trinidad

  7. What an amazing story! My brother and his girlfriend have an apartment in New York City as that is where my brother’s girlfriend works. My brother lives most of the year in London, England so I know it is VERY hard on both of them to be so far apart.

  8. What a sweet story! I smell a guest post coming??? You two are adorable :)

  9. Aw, this is so sweet! :)
    I hope you and your boyfriend have an amazing and very blessed new year!! <3

  10. So sweet! You were such a brave girl for moving up here all by yourself!!!! I’m glad the experience led your heart back to your true love :)

    • I thought I was brave but then when I had to drive, in that traffic, I knew what true fear was. I had never seen traffic like that in my life. Now, I know what sink or swim truly feels like! :) I came out alive! …..I’m so glad that you and your honey had such a wonderful time in NYC!!!!

  11. Such a great story! So happy the boy and girl – I mean you and your husband :) – ended up together! Happy New Year!

  12. awwww so cute! Thanks for sharing. What a great life lesson to learn.

  13. Haha, this story is too great! I’m dieing to go to NY and since I’m a crier, like I cry over just about everything I know I’d cry buckets being there. So much excitement and stress all at once.

  14. This is adorable! My husband and I dated long distance (he was in Arizona and I was in Ohio) before getting married and I could totally relate to all the tears and realizations. So glad your story ends happy ever after :)

  15. What a special post!! It sounds like you and the husband have an amazing love story! I think it applies to all of us too that sometimes, when things look bleak, God is working for an amazing outcome and we just can’t see it yet! I’d love to hear the husband’s version too!

  16. What a great story! I realized how much I loved Dan while I was studying abroad in Germany for a summer. I felt like less of “me” without him. (:

  17. What a beautiful story Julie! I have been catching up on my blog reading now. I have missed reading all your wonderful stories! I hope this new year brings you everything you desire!!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

