Orange-Maple-Walnut Granola

I love to share the things that wonderfully grace my life.  When an afternoon of baking yields something like this, I realize that it’s deliciousness has to be given to the world. This granola seriously has me weak at the knees when I think about it.

I was inspired by a lot of recipes on Pinterest and some of my favorite food bloggers. All of their recipes made a crunch granola. I, too, love crunch granola. But, I do have a serious issue with crunchy granola. My problem, I eat it way to quickly and I don’t take the take to savor and chew it like I should. Therefore, I made mine kind of chewy! 

My granola is a new kid on the block. Chewy. Sweet. Unexpected. Packed full of flavor. Citrus notes all over. Cinnamon laden. Goodness.

Some of the things you'll need to make this new kid on the block.

This chewy granola is made to savor. It just overtakes your mouth and you are able to feel the chewy texture take on all kinds of flavor notes. I love how this flavorful granola takes me a lot longer to eat and that I actually take the time to savor every single bite of this delicious chewy granola.

Orange-Maple-Walnut Granola

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup roughly chopped Walnuts
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp oil (I used coconut oil)
  • 5  tbsp orange juice concentrate (or more if you want)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • scant amount of salt (shy of 1/4 tsp)
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • zest from two oranges

Preheat oven to 325°. Combine the maple syrup, honey, oil, and orange juice concentrate in a large bowl. Heat it if you need the oil or the orange juice concentrate to be able to mix. Combine thouroughlly so that all ingredients are combined. Add the rolled oats, walnuts, cinnamon, and salt to the wet ingredients. Combine so that all of the oats have a good, heavy coating. Spread the ooey, gooey mixture into a 9 x 13 glass pan that is sprayed with nonstick spray. Put into the oven to bake for about 45-50 minutes *tossing every TEN minutes*! Watch it closely so that it does not burn.

While it is baking, zest your two oranges being careful to not get into the bitter part of the skin. Place the zest on a plate covered with parchment paper. Place in the microwave for about 30-45 seconds. They should be crisping up to become flakier. Set aside to add to the granola when it is done baking. Put your raisins in a mixture of 1/4 cup of orange juice and 1/8 cup of maple syrup. Heat the raisins, orange juice and maple syrup for 1-1/12 minutes in the microwave. This will give you plump orange juicy raisins to add to the granola. Add orange zest, orange plumped raisins to the granola. Enjoy! 

Orange-Maple-Walnut Granola

QUESTION: Do you like a chewy or crunchy granola? -OR- How can I slow down when eating a crunchy ganola? Teach me!

14 responses to “Orange-Maple-Walnut Granola

  1. OOO This just sounds like it was made to go in my mouth! Thanks for the recipe – can’t wait to try it!

  2. Yay for gluten-free granola!! This looks yummy! I like chewy better than crunchy–I hate when I feel like I am breaking my teeth! I actually eat granola with a tiny spoon–it kinda slows me down.

  3. I am definitely a crunchy granola girl! I wish I could help you with the slowing down question, but it’s hard for me myself!

  4. This looks delicious! I’ve never made my own granola before!

  5. Your granola looks SO good! Do you think there is anything I could use in place of the orange concentrate? I don’t have any. :(

  6. I love all granola–chewy, crunchy, it’s all good! The flavors of this look incredible.

  7. I can’t slow down on granola either!! It’s just toooo delicious. This looks like a great twist!!

  8. I plow through super crunchy granola too! When I make a batch I store it in the mini mason jars for cuteness and more realistic serving sizes :) I love the orange and maple combination in your recipe!

  9. I prefer crunchy for snacking, chewy for eating as proper cereal with milk! This looks so yummy!

  10. that sounds delicious! i made my first batch of granola over the holidays to package as gifts and I was like DANG this is not that difficult!
    it’s pretty fun too!

    happy weekend!

  11. This granola looks heavenly! I’ve got to try it. I’m bipartisan when it comes to granola – I like the chewy kind and the crunchy kind. I need to learn to slow down a bit when I eat it though, too. I tend to reach for granola when I’m super hungry and end up inhaling it.

  12. Hands down, crunchy granola rules! This looks like something I’ll have to try. Thanks for the recipe!

  13. I like the chewy myself! This looks and sounds delicious! Can’t wait to give it a try. :-)

  14. This looks so yummy! I love all granola!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

