Grasshopper Pie…. that is healthy!

I don’t know if you have yet to be informed; but, March is just around the corner. This means many things for me but the first one up to bat is that I have to bring something to help celebrate March birthdays at school. I have expressed my issues with the teachers lounge before. I will wow them with this healthy dish! I just know it! I’m brining this. To me:

March = Mint

Healthy Grasshopper Pie Vintage

I love all things mint. In fact, when I was little I would go with my dad to Dairy Queen in a nearby town and get a ‘Mint Sunday- Julie style’. My dad was friends with the owner so they made it just for me, I was the only one to get it. :) Spoiled with mint, I know. Well, they would give me a vanilla dish and cover it with the mint sauce that they would put into a mint oreo blizzard- cover the ice cream with about 6 X as much as they would put in a blizzard. It was heavenly.

I have also been bombarded with the sight of these things!

Girl Scout Thin Mints

I have done a pretty good job of staying away and just sticking them in the freezer till the day comes when my cravings are just too much! I made something that is just as good, except for it’s guilt free! I was inspired by a Chocolate Covered Katie  recipe and then went out on my own to create this wonderful creation!

Healthy Grasshopper Pie

  • 1 can of rinsed white beans
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 T cream cheese (I used fat free)
  • 1 T coconut oil
  • 2 T cocoa powder
  • shy 1 tsp mint extract (You can always add more but you can’t take it out! Make sure it isn’t peppermint!)
  • 1/4 tsp heaping baking soda
  • 1 tsp heaping baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. sugar sub of your choice (I used Stevia drops and some Stevia till I thought it was sweet enough to be a dessert, I didn’t make mine super sweet- I used about 1/4 c. of sugar plus drops)
  • 1 tsp Xantham Gum
  • Mint Chocolate Chips (or regular would work too) for sprinkling

Rinse and drain white beans. Then add all of the ingredients except for the Xantham gum and chocolate chips into the food processer. Process all of the ingredients until they are very well mixed. Then add Xantham gum for thickening. Then, fold in the amount of chocolate chips you find to be perfect!  Place in greaced pan– I used a loaf pan– Bake in 350° oven for 30-40 minutes.  Let set for about 10 minutes before digging in, that is if you can resist! ;) Enjoy!

Healthy Grasshopper Pie!

QUESTION: Favorite Girl Scout cookie?!

17 responses to “Grasshopper Pie…. that is healthy!

  1. Seriously looks delicious!!! I am now gluten free, but I used to loooove thin mints and samoas :)

  2. This looks wonderful! I love all Girl Scout cookies but my favs are Tagalongs & Lemonades!

  3. Gosh, I love your bean recipes! I’m pinning this :)

  4. ooo I may have to try this…I have been into baking with beans lately!

  5. Hmmm looks delicious girl! Glen would love this recipe! Now to find mint extract..

    xoxo from Trinidad

  6. Looks so delicious. Thin mints are my favorite!!

  7. Omg this looks fabulous!! Anything chocolate mint is a winner in my book! I’m sure it will be a hit with the teachers!! Can’t wait to make it myself!

  8. I can’t believe this is healthy, it looks too delicious! ha I love those thin mints with a slight passion! ha
    I can’t wait to try out this cake though, it’s calling my name!!!

  9. I was just thinking how crazy it was that I’ve never had a Girl Scout cookie…like ever. Guess I’m missing out!! :)

  10. Yum! I’m a huge fan of mint, too! Thin mints were always one of my favorite Girl Scout Cookies. We currently have like 5 boxes of Girl Scout Cookies in our pantry right now and it is absolutely *killing* me!! My family all gave up treats for Lent. So hard! I’ll have to give this pie a try after Lent! Looks and sounds de-lish! :)

  11. Are you kidding me!? How on earth can you make beans looks so dang yummy? You are a genius, girlie!

    Thin Mints are amazing and my fave–but Samoa’s are a close second. I love me some coconut!

  12. I really, really love mint too! Mint choc chip ice cream beside a scoop of cookies n Cream was always my top choice. Total 80′s kid.

  13. I love how you use beans in your Grasshopper pie! :) Is there anything I could use in place of the cream cheese? How many servings would you say it is?

  14. I love Thin Mints…and this pie! My husband can’t stand mint flavor. Sometimes I think part of the reason why I like it so much is because I know minty treats won’t disappear overnight :)

  15. I just polished off a box of thin mints over the weekend. Oh man, those things are good. I’m a huge mint (plus chocolate) fan. Mint smoothies, mint pie, mint chocolate chip ice cream, all favorites of mine.

  16. That’s so clever and creative! I’m impressed!!!

  17. What a fabulous recipe! Love that it is healthy!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

