Everyone else is prepared- I’m not…Weeks 21 & 22

21 weeks

Growing Baby H for 21 weeks

I feel like every other mommy to be has themselves so together and prepared. Every other mommy on the face of the earth has their nurserys painted, cribs bought and put together, are informed about what kind of diaper is best, knows all about breast feeding, has the birthing classes taken, is preparing their bodies for labor with prenatal yoga and such,  and has absolutely every aspect of their pregnancy/delivery/homecoming taken care of.  Yep, it’s true- EVERY OTHER MOMMY TO BE HAS IT ALL TOGETHER-—– and I don’t.

I know that this isn’t true. I know that there are hundreds of other mommys to be out there that feel the same way I do. I can’t be the only one freaking out about all that I don’t have done and all that I don’t know.

These past few weeks have been a week full of craziness and numbness. Let me explain.  When I get overwhelmed, I go numb in a sense. I kind of black out and go through the motions. Keeping a job, growing a baby, being a wife, and wrapping up a school year is enough to make me feel stretched thin. I know this is only minor to the things to come but it sure does feel overwhelming at the moment.

Currently, I am preparing to bring a new life into the world and into our family. That is a big deal. Right? Yep, HUGE.  I’m too much of a Type A personality to not have everything in order. I need to get busy!

  • Baby’s room needs to be cleaned out of stuff not baby related
  • Baby’s room needs painted
  • Buy a crib
  • Schedule our childbirth class
  • Paint Baby’s room
  •  Prepare for EVERYTHING under the sun for what is to come in the next 3 1/2 months. Holy cow. THREE AND A HALF MONTHS.

The thought of holding this baby in my arms is getting me through and makes me absolutely giddy inside- and totally freaked out too. I want to be a good mom. I want nothing more than to be the mom that this baby deserves. I can’t believe that all of these mommy emotions happen long before I even get to hold the little bundle.

I need to continue concentrating on doing what is right for me and my growing family and not get so caught up in how ‘together’ every other mommy to be seems to be. I’m being me and doing the best job of being a mommy that I can- even if her/her nursery isn’t even started. That doesn’t mean I’m not excited beyond belief for the little life in my tummy- each prayer I say is worth just as much as a painted or clean nursery. 

22 weeks

22 weeks with growing baby

Such a journey that I am so blessed to be walking upon with my husband and growing bundle. 

31 responses to “Everyone else is prepared- I’m not…Weeks 21 & 22

  1. You are going to be an amazing mom! Trust me, when the time comes, I will definitely be “winging it” and figuring it out as I go along. You have such a positive attitude and everything will work out wonderfully!

  2. I think you are doing everything right! It’s totally important to relax and take things as they come. And you have summer break to catch up on anything necessary, right? :)

  3. Meh, we have summer break to figure out all the little details – don’t stress too much! You’re going to be amazing darling. You already are :)

  4. I’m sure you’re doing everything just fine. I hope these next few months treat you well. You’ll probably feel much more relaxed once the school year is out. You’re going to be an amazing mother, don’t worry about anything.

  5. I obviously have nooo idea what it feels like to be pregnant, but I just have to say that you are doing everything the right way for YOU. Don’t worry one bit, Julie! All of those little details will figure themselves out. Like you said, you’re too much of a type A (like me ;) ) to let them just pass right on by.

    This is all so exciting, and you look SO happy and radiant in all of your pictures <3

  6. fitandfuninthird

    Julie… I want to reach through the computer and give you a huge hug. You are already loving that little one with your whole heart, and that’s what is important, not whether you have all the details together (I know…. Easy for me to say…. I 200% know that I will be feeling the exact same way when my time is here.). Just take deep breaths and have faith. Your going to be an AMAZING mommy!!!!!

  7. You will be a great mom! I know I will feel the same way when I am pregnant one day. Right now I am freaking out because I’m getting married in two months and still don’t have a house to move into. My anxiety eats me up every day, and it’s really not even worth it — this is supposed to be a happy time, just as your pregnancy should be a happy time for you. You will get through this :).

  8. You look so cute in the pictures!

    I’m sure every new mom-to-be feels like you do; some just pretend they don’t! You will be a wonderful mom!

  9. You may not have it all figured out (who actually DOES anyways!?) but you look absolutely STUNNING. Just remember that He doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle! Get through the rest of the school year, then worry about all these details. You’ve got this!

  10. You look so fantastic in your new pictures!! How exciting!! And I’m sure it’s overwhelming thinking about that everything you have to do but it will all come together and remember that you and your husband are in this together! You are so sweet and caring, I just know that you are going to be a wonderful mom!

  11. You look so gorgeous. I wouldn’t worry toooo much about being prepared. You’re a teacher. Plus you have all the mother instincts and whatnot. You got this!! :) You definitely seem to be owning it so far.

  12. You look great, congrats!

  13. Oh Julie, I am right there with you. For my first, I was 38 weeks when we finished the nursery and I am now 19 weeks and we havent even started BUILDING my daughter’s room so we can move new baby into the nursery. It gets done, don’t worry!

  14. Julie…deep breaths. You are OK, I’m sure what your feeling is totally normal. You will get it all done in time. You just focus on staying healthy and happy. You look adorable but I knew you would! Cutest lil pregnant lady I know!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  15. Julie, I feel the same way you do! I hear so many moms to be out their doing all this research on diapers, nursing, baby this baby that…its easy to get wrapped up in ALL THINGS BABY…but I keep reminding myself that no matter what diaper brand you pick, how you feed your baby, what color the nursery is…the baby needs YOU to love, snuggle, hold, and care for. And that’s all…everything (well almost everything else) is extra! You look amazing!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

