I can’t wait to be a mom….

I know that in a matter of months- my life will change. I am so excited for the journey ahead of the husband and me! We will be parents! :)

It’s true, I can’t wait to be a mom! 

I was telling my sister about this video over the weekend. I love it. This video truly encompasses a lot of what being a parent is about, in my personal opinion.  I am in no way putting down this father or this little girl. They are both doing their jobs- one being the dad and one being the three year old. It isn’t always rainbows and butterflies when you are a parent. It’s a whole lot of hard work. 

….The thing I’ll struggle with the most is acknowledging that even the best parents in the world are still parents of—- kids. Kids that scream, throw fits, and do things they aren’t supposed to do. I know I’ll struggle with being too hard on myself. After all, I have a degree that deals with children and their development. I want to be the best mommy that I can be!  I know I’ll struggle with feeling like I’m failing at times- especially when my little one is a complete turd in public. 

Still, I can’t wait to be a mom. I get to show a child unconditional love. 

Question: Do you remember  a time as a child where you may have been less than stellar for your parents?

32 responses to “I can’t wait to be a mom….

  1. Awwww I loved that video. I don’t think I could keep a straight face!! She was cute!

  2. I once accidentally pulled my dad’s pants down in a bank because I wouldn’t let go of his leg…..

  3. haha. it LOOKED heavy. I wasn’t toooo bad for my parents (in public) but my younger brother had a habit of contradicting my mom in public — at like age 5 — that drove her bonkers!

  4. Hahaha, that video is too cute. Reminds me of some of my stinkers…our profession is great training for parenthood, don’t you agree?
    Hmm…a time in my childhood when I was less than stellar. The first time I remember being sent to my room was when I was 5 and an Inspector Gadget marathon was on. My mom wanted me to carry dishes upstairs and I didn’t want to miss a minute of the Inspector & Penny, so I stormed upstairs and yelled, “what do you think I am, your slave!?” Needless to say I missed the rest of the marathon.

    • Oh golly, I have *SO* much training for parenthood! My poor little one- I’m already numb to all the junk that little ones try to pull! It won’t work even for a millisecond. :)
      Inspector Gadget was a pretty good show- wasn’t it. Poor slave girl, you ;) bahahaha!

  5. As a pediatric nurse, I totally get the pressure of being a perfect Mom. When you work with kids, everyone assumes that you should have it all figured out! All I know is that regardless of whether or not I am a perfect Mom, I am the best mom to my daughter (and baby on the way) that I can be, and no one can love her like I can!

  6. I very, very vividly remember throwing a fit (like a serious tempter tantrum) at the mall one time… how annoying for my parents!

  7. I was the stubborn firstborn child (and I guess I still am), so I know I wasn’t always easy for my parents! I never did anything rebellious, but I know I threw plenty of fits.

  8. You are going to be such a great mommy!!! :)

  9. Hi! I just came across your blog so here’s a belated congrats! How exciting! I love that your about me relates to your shoes. Brilliant! I’m a fellow shoe lover and you’ve got some cute ones!

  10. ittybitsofbalance

    If there’s one thing I know, it’s that you’re going to be an amazing mother, Julie! The love you have for life and others beams through your blog each time I read it– and I can only imagine how it beams in real life!

  11. fitandfuninthird

    Hahaha oh my gosh I’ve never seen that video before but it is HILARIOUS. I love how calm the Dad is!
    This is such a sweet post…. you’re going to be an amazing Momma! :)

  12. I’m not a parent, but I work with 15-20 2 year olds every Sunday and although I love them- I know they can be selfish, stubborn, clingy, etc and I think for me the hardest part if going to be patience. I’ve learned to be more patient working with the 2′s, but I know I still have a long ways to go!

    P.S.- You’re going to be an awesome mom- I just love how excited and upbeat you are about the whole thing!

    • I have quite a bit of patience when it comes to the kids- I just hope that I can be patient with myself as I learn the ropes for myself. All the years of baby sitting and teaching have gotten me to be a pretty patient person- or numb– it’s a tossup! :)

  13. You have such a positive attitude about it :)

  14. Love that video and love your attitude! So excited for you :)

  15. I used to think that if i was truely the best mom i could be that my child wouldnt throw fits like the other kids in target, they wouldnt back talk, etc. And then I had kids and the truth is you can TRY to do everything right as a parent but kids are kids, and no one is perfect, parent or child!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

