Don’t wake me! …26 weeks

This is what growing a baby for 26 weeks can do to a person. See that smile? See that bump?

…I have had to completely revamp the wardrobe now that summer has arrived for this teacher. YAY for summer! I have been able to check off some items on the baby to do list now that I’m not swamped with 3rd grade stuff; but I’ll get to that later ;)

26 weeks

Growing Baby H for 26 weeks!

As usual- I am feeling the growing a whole lot! It is truly different to feel myself getting large. I’m okay with it- but it is quite the transition. As the weeks tick past, I get more and more excited (and scared too, I can’t lie) to bring this baby home! I don’t know how much more room this tummy can make- but I’m guessing it will continue doing its job of housing our little bundle of joy for the remainder of the pregnancy. I feel that the baby is getting lower than it was in the past. Luckily- the pelvis pain has been pretty minimal as I’ve cut back on some forms of exercising. I’m feeling great!

Baby H got to kick for their Aunt and Grandma this week- it was AWESOME!

Week 26 Ups!

I learned that Baby H has a quality of his/her momma.

Baby H DOES NOT LIKE TO BE AWOKEN ABRUPTLY! …. I woke up one morning and realized that I needed to pee (normal).  I was laying on my left side at the time. I made a quick turn to my right side. Sat up. Walked to the restroom. All rather quickly. By the time I got to the restroom Baby H was MAD that I had woken her/him up so abruptly. It took a couple or real punches at my tummy- not playful ‘hello mommy’ punches that I know I feel the love behind….. but ‘what the heck?! I was sleeping in here! Leave me alone, I want to sleep!!’ kind of punches. I could tell that there was no love on these punches- it was all agitation. It made me laugh out loud!!! Poor little one’s mommy is already annoying her/her in the mornings. :)

Baby H has a place to sleep!!

Baby H's crib

Baby H will sleep in there!!!

I’ll do a post on it sometime this week! Uh-oh…. I think this happened in week 27 though. Oh well, I’m putting it here anyways! Super exciting for our growing family!

Week 26 down

*** (skip past the down unless you would like to hear me complain about work…. again.)***    ;)

 I pride myself in being 100% in control of my emotions. Nothing annoys me; weird but true. Yes, I get stressed and feel like I’m losing my bearings but NO ONE can tell unless I want them to know. I have a wonderful cover that keeps me seemingly level at most times. I have not felt emotional in the least or hormone ridden since I’ve become pregnant- still been the same ol’ Julie…… Until week 26. HOLY HEAVENS! 

Week 26 hit and I was bitter, angry, emotional, and not me….bummer….  All of it was work related. My situation at work is less than ideal.—— I always have this awful sinking feeling at the end of the year as I realize that all the work I did for this year is down the drain and I am instantly transported back to square one, feeling like a first year teacher all over again, for the fourth time. If you are a longtime reader you already know that I have been teaching for four years and next year will be my fifth. In those five years- I have taught five different grades and had to pack up my classroom, learn a new curriculum, and learn different standards that my students will be tested on FIVE DIFFERENT TIMES. Can’t lie- it’s tough. I complain about it. It gets the best of me….. a lot……  We had meetings this week an I was just not in the mood to be compliant or listen to others that felt high and mighty. I was easily annoyed. I was easily cry-able. I was easily angered. I was not me. I’m sure God shook his head at me as I was not being the best image of The Son. Through all the junk at work, I try to be up beat and positive and reflect the image that would make Him proud. I couldn’t get in the groove this week.

I’ll miss third grade…. luckily- my 3rd graders will become 4th graders, and be mine again!!

I was just not in the mood to deal with all the 4th grade stuff that was coming my way. Ummm, “Hello, I was just teaching a room full of 3rd graders three days ago. I need a transition period before I start worrying about 4th grade stuff. A mourning period if you will.” Enough about Grumpy Julie. I sent her packing….. That being said, I can definitely tell that my hormones have been shifting and I have to be much more aware of my emotions or *they will* get the best of me. 

Another Week 26 Up! 

I cannot end on a down! This week has been GOOD! 

Baby H has clothes to wear with Mommy & Daddy this NFL football season! 

San Francisco 49ers baby clothes

These little clothes were actually a birthday present I bought for the husband. He loved them! As do I! …… I can’t wait for the THREE of us to be in our San Francisco gear on Sundays this fall! We are SO excited for out little SF fan!! :)

QUESTION: What has been your up & down of the past week? Hopefully you all have GREAT UPS! :)

29 responses to “Don’t wake me! …26 weeks

  1. Whoa …. you look just beautiful.

    Yeah …. long way to go …. takes time for bebe to grow! Ha. Summer should be great.

    Enjoy yourself!

  2. Sorry about getting so emotional all of a sudden! But you are looking fabulous and it is finally summer for you (lucky) so you get lots of time to relax and focus on baby (which I’m sure you were already very aware of). That’s funny about disliking being woken up so abruptly. I don’t think anyone likes that. Adorable little onesies!

  3. I get your frustrations! I absolutely cannot imagine teaching a new curriculum every year. And even though you may love the kids, I’m sure it would be nice to have a fresh start with some new faces! I teach 10th & 11th grade & get some of the same kids two years in a row… even that is too much sometimes! But to be expected to prep for an entire new grade every year… that’s a LOT!

    • I feel sorry for some of the kiddos- all.day.with.me—- for three.whole.years. Good thing that I’m fairly certain that most of them love me enough to be okay with it.
      I tip my hat to high school teachers- I substituted in high school and taught some science—- I belong in elementary for sure.

  4. fitandfuninthird

    First of all…. you are still looking so TINY!!! I feel like you are one of those lucky woman who gain all the weight in their belly when they are pregnant… you’d never be able to tell you were pregnant anywhere else! So adorable!
    Second of all… that story about waking up your little one made me laugh out loud too… that’s the cutest thing I’ve ever heard!
    And third of all…. damn girl. 5 different grades?! I can not even imagine how frustrating that must be for you. :( Looking on the bright side though… at least you will already know your kids so well when you start up next year!

    • My doctor said I should gain 20 lbs– TOPS! Holy heavens, I’ve already gained 14’ish! YIKES! ….I’m trying to just listen to my body and stay as active as possible for as long as possible- it makes me a more stable mommy to be :) …… and thank you for the comment, I’m not feeling so cute as of late.
      I do know my kids inside and out—- the only down. I am incredibly attached to them. I love them to my core after being with them for over two years solid and watching them evolve. I am a second mom for sure. :)

  5. Ugh I feel your profession pain. I am also a teacher and I have bee bounced around much more than I would like. This is a terrible time of year and so stressful. BTW I love the baby gear!

  6. You look so cute with the bump! I can’t even imagine teaching a different grade each year…especially at the elementary level. I taught high school, and at least the planning was for 50 minute classes when I changed grades. (The grading though I could never stay on top of.) Relax and enjoy your summer, girl! It sounds like you have more than earned it.

    • I have a super hard time finding a groove when everything is new every year. But, I am looking forward to two years from now- when I’ll hopefully be in a more permanent position.
      AND— I truly tip my hat to any teacher that can stay on top of grading!

  7. You always look so cute in these pictures! You have been lucky enough to only gain weight in your belly :).

    Education is very similar where I live. Teachers aren’t guaranteed jobs from one year to the next because so many changes are being made. I feel for you!

    • Oh gosh has the tummy been growing lately- the husband ran into it yesterday and just stopped in his tracks— and laughed out loud. (gosh, I’m a lucky girl ;) )
      It is NO fun being bounced around year after year! It makes me want to pull my hair out!

  8. Yay, you have a crib! Happy nesting m’dear.

    Argh, you have to switch again!? You poor thing, I’m so sorry. I almost had to go to 5th next year, which would be 3 different positions in 3 years – but I student taught in 5th, so at least I’d somewhat know the curriculum. But a last minute HR blessing let me job share with another pregnant teacher in my building, so I’ll be in 4th again next year. If you need anything I created a TON of stuff this year. I’ll happily send things your way…hopefully our standards match :) The bright side is that you get to loop with your kiddos :0 How long will you be out on maternity leave? Do you have any say in who your long term sub is? I just turned in my top 5 long term sub picks to my principal – hopefully one of them doesn’t get hired next year so I’ll get a good one to run my class while I’m out!

    • YAY for the HR blessing! I wish I had one of those!!! ….I do love looping with my kiddos. The only down side is that I am ridiculously attached to them! … I’ll get 6 weeks of leave unless delivery doesn’t go as planned and then it will be 8. I do have a pretty good guess of who my long term sub is and she will do a good job of just going with the flow. She has actually taught 4th grade more than I have because she has done long term subbing for our other 4th grade teacher!!

  9. Oooo… switching grades is so tough!!!!!!!! We’re experiencing a LOT of ups & downs with house hunting. It’s exciting, but pretty daunting too.

  10. You are so cute…love the picture of you in this post! I’m so sorry that you’re having to switch grades and classrooms AGAIN:P I will be going on my fifth year of teaching next year and it will be my fifth time moving my classroom and my fourth subject to teach, so I feel your pain! I just keep reminding myself that God knows where I need to be and what I need to be teaching in order for Him to work through me the most. He knows what He’s doing!

    • You sound exactly like me about the situation— except for some days, I just can’t help but complain and feel sorry for myself. It’s just so darn hard. BUT with Him all things are possible and I can’t wait to see His plan in all of this. It’s not about me– it’s about the kids. :)

  11. You look so cute in your pic! Sounds like there were some great ups of week 26 and you are well on your way to meeting your little one! And you have every right to be frustrated with work stuff- I can’t believe that they are switching you grades, AGAIN! Just remember that God has a plan and it will all be revealed to us later! Trust in Him!

  12. healthhappinessandharmony

    I give you so much credit for switching as much as you have! I am going on my sixth year teaching, and I taught K-5 basic skills my first year, second grade my second, and first my past three years. I just found out I’m switching to third because of all the new core standards, and I’m a bit overwhelmed myself…especially since I just took on studying to get my NASM PT certification. Your principal wouldn’t switch you unless he/she had faith in you! It’s a challenge, but he/she wouldn’t have given it to you if they didn’t think you’d excel.

  13. oh my goodness, you will seriously be the best mom in the world!! (don’t tell my mom i said that, haha) “Enough about Grumpy Julie. I sent her packing….” Lol that is too perfect!! I can’t tell you how much more excited i get for you every time i read one of your new posts on Baby H :)

  14. I’ve just recently woke my baby up and yes she was not a happy camper. It took me about 3 minutes to wake hr and when she did she gave me a few swift ones lol.

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

