105 years and 5 generations later

My great grandma celebrated her 105th birthday last week. I got to go home and celebrate since the husband was at football camp. YAY for family time!

ONE HUNDRED FIVE YEARS! …..That is amazing!

I can’t imagine all that she has seen, lived through, endured, and learned through her 105 years.

Grandma T's 105th birthday

5 Generations of Dutch Women (and one little nephew)

The pure logistics of this amaze me. Then, I see the HUGE family that surrounds her.   ♥All because two people fell in love. ♥  She had 7 children (I believe- I lose track with my huge family), my granny being the oldest of them. My granny had five children, my mom being one of them. My mom had three children, me being one of them. And my sister & I are both adding on to the family tree. *Now, multiply that by 7 and you’re getting close to understanding the extent of her family* That one line “all because two people fell in love” amazed me at her 100th Birthday party- there were a few hundred of us there, no joke or exaggeration– all children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great-great grandchildren of one woman. Truly amazing!

I come from a long line of amazing women and as I look at all the women (and my little nephew- he’ll tell you he’s a boy!!) in that photo all I can see is blessings.  My great grandma, my granny, my mom, and my sister have all been a major component to my upbringing and make up who I am…. Unfortunately, my great grandma has been deteriorating a lot in the past 8′ish years and I was unable to truly get to know her as a woman but from all the things I’ve heard- she had fire in her veins and was quite the woman.

My granny is one of the most Godly women I know, I can’t say THE most, because my mom and sister are in the running for that title as well. She views life through the eyes of an angel and truly embodies a Christian spirit. If only my heart would be that pure, open,  selfless, and God driven…. The thing is— I can say those exact words about my mom AND my sister as well. They are such amazing and Godly women- I know how proud He is of those three women- they lead me everyday to becoming a better woman- not by words but by actions. They live their lives in such a way that others can’t help but take note of their beautiful hearts. So wonderful they each are. I have such admeration and love for them and their amazing spirits. 

No questions- I just thank God for the good things in my life…. and by ‘things’ I mean people! They are the best blessing!  

13 responses to “105 years and 5 generations later

  1. Holy crap! 105 years old?! That’s amazing! I’m hoping my family tree will look like yours in the near future since I have four siblings. My mom’s side of the family is very small, but my dad has many extended relatives–too bad they live in Iran and I’ve only seen the majority of them twice!

  2. fitandfuninthird

    Julie, that is AMAZING. 105 years, and a whole lot of family and love to show for it… And to think, your about to add on!!! That’s honestly so beautiful. Wishing your Granny a very happy, happy belated birthday! :).

  3. Oh my goodness! 105! That is so amazing!

  4. Wow, happy birthday to your great-grams! My grandma is 92 and I hope she keeps on ticking that long. You’re so lucky to have a huge family. I always wanted one because until I got married I had a whopping 3 aunts, 1 uncle, 2 grandparents and 2 cousins. And they all lived in Texas and Florida, so it isn’t like I got to see them, haha. But now that I’m married I have a very large stairstep Catholic family :)

  5. Wow, That is amazing, 105 and all the generations. You are blessed. What a great photo too, that is one to cherish.

  6. Happy birthday to your great-grandma! It sounds like she’s lived an amazing life!!

  7. Happy birthday to your great-grandma! How wonderful to leave such a legacy of love and family and following God! I hope that one day I can look at all of my family and see the same sort of blessing. maybe not 7 kids…but something like that:)

  8. Ohmygosh, I adored this post. Your family is adorable! My neighbor is turning 98… I thought that was impressive, but clearly your great-grandma has that record beat :)

  9. Wow!! This post really put a smile on my face! I can sense how close you are to your family! Family truly is such an incredible blessing from our heavenly father isn’t it?

  10. 105 is amazing!! Even though you say she has unfortunately deteriorated the last 8 years, that still means she was with it at 98 and thats awesome! I hope to have lots of kids so that can be me in 75 years :)

  11. Awesome!! What a blessing!!! That’s amazing!!!!!

  12. this is so amazing! I true blessing indeed!

  13. AWW! Happy Birthday to you Grandma! 105 years is awesome.. even if things may not be as good as they once were! I hope to live such a long.. and happy life!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

