Week 37 & Week 38


Nope, No baby yet. I’m sitting at 39 weeks + 2 days. No rush for the little one though- I’m okay with it taking its time. Guess we’ll see what the next few days bring. I’ll do my best to keep you all posted. :)

Week 37

37 Weeks

37 Weeks… can’t believe I’ve been growing this little blessing for 37 weeks!

  • Week 37 UP

We had another sonogram so we got to see our baby move around. Getting the sonogram was not planned (that will be my down) but we got to see our baby and they checked the gender for us (okay, mainly just for me- I’m the doubter!) again. This is our third sonogram since week 22′ish. And, all three times the sonogram technician has said,

“It’s a ……………..!”

Three for three-  they have said the same gender all three times. I’m stating to become a believer. I do agree with the tech now- we will probably be having what they say we are having. :) I can now pack _________ with confidence in the diaper bag.

Funniest moment as of yet….. I feed this child meat and it goes CRAZY. I swear if this child wasn’t growing inside of me, I would wonder if it were mine. Who is this baby? Why aren’t you going nuts over spinach? My amazing family finds this to be hilarious! I grew up eating meat, I still like a good steak but I never crave meat like I do veggies. So, everyone finds this to be quite amusing! This child already has a mind of its own!

week 37 did baby drop

Week 37 baby seems to have dropped for the moment. It looks like I’m trying to smuggle a watermelon or basketball under my shirt!!!

Week 37 DOWN

I am measuring small. My fundal measurement that is- from my pubic bone to the top of my uterus. It is supposed to correlate with the number of weeks along that you are. I’m not measuring normally. Total bummer. At week 36, they were concerned that I was measuring small but gave it till week 37 to see if things got themselves worked out. They had not. The doctor said that he could squeak out 35 cm if he really tried but I was measuring at 34.5- over two and a half weeks behind— from the outside that is… He is just hoping that since I’m so tall and have a large bone structure, I have a lot of room for baby to hide. This seems to be the case- baby is looking good inside there!

After the sonogram we were able to get some stats on the baby……. Gender confirmation (again for this paranoid mama),  Baby is weighing in the 56th percentile at 6lbs 4 oz, baby is looking to have a pretty long torso (like mama!) , and a head circumference of 33-34 cm. (holy ouch! For the record- even if it were smaller, I’d still say holy ouch! )

Week 38 

Week 38

Week 38

Week 38 UP

This was the week of the shower celebrating Baby H’s upcoming arrival! My family got to come down for a few hours (my dad included) to help me do last minute things and attend the baby shower. It was bliss. My dad even knocked a hole in my closet that I have been wanting done for a year and a half. Yep, I’m totally stoked about the hole in my bedroom wall/closet!!!! I don’t even care that it doesn’t have doors yet! Thanks dad! Thanks to my sister & mom for everything else they helped me do: clean out my car, help install a carseat, answer my silly  questions, love me, let me kiss my niece, look over my hospital bag, mop the floor after my dad made the mess, ect…. See? They are awesome!

The cake at the baby shower was out.of.this.world. AMAZING! I haven’t had a good piece of white cake in probably two years. It was delicious! I tell you, it was worth the calories- and that is saying something- If I’m willing to say I’d run three miles for a piece of cake, it was THAT.GOOD.

People that attended the baby shower were so generous and kind! They are dying to know if it is a boy or girl. I think I did a pretty good job of throwing them off with a few ‘he’ and ‘she’ comments thrown around carelessly! ;) …. I’m so thankful that I have been welcomed into the community. In a small town, if you weren’t born there- you’re an outsider. I’m an outsider. But, they are all kind enough to make me feel like I’m making this town my home. Thank you for being so sweet, ladies! <3

Knowing that my husband is the perfect husband for me and will be the perfect daddy for our baby. ♥Such a blessing! I feel so lucky that God helped mold us for eachother. He just shook his head and lovingly smiled when I wanted a hole in our bedroom wall NOW! Then, helped my dad knock the hole in the wall. I love how sometimes even though he doesn’t ‘get me’, he always shows respect for me, even in my unique moments.  Who is the lucky duck? THIS GIRL!

Week 38 DOWN

I thought I could have been in the early stages of labor at the baby shower!…. I had some serious cramping in my lower abdomen/hip/pelvis area and just didn’t feel well. It made it hard to fully enjoy the shower wondering what was going on. Welp, no labor started. BUT, at this stage in the game as a first time mom- everything has me wondering what is going on with my body!

As I’ve said in the last post, I’m just in shock that the time is melting away before the biggest day of the husband and my life. My pregnancy hormones have been no joke. I’m not weepy, I don’t cry all the time, I don’t get grumpy with anyone, my emotions don’t change at the drop of a hat,  but I do FEEL more emotional. But hey- it is a huge life change. It’s bound to make anyone kind of emotional. Am I right?….. I did cry when my mom gave me a card for the baby shower that was made by my Grandma (who passed away my junior year of college, when she passed,  I felt like my other half was missing for quite some time. ) and it had her handwriting inside of it.  I cried as I read her words….

Things are going great and I’m starting to settle into how close things are getting. It’s still a lot to take in but I am totally ready for the first moment where I get to hold our baby. ♥ 

Sisters.... after the baby shower.

I love this girl! ….I can’t wait to make her an Aunt! :) SOON!

QUESTION: What have been your ups & downs this week? Hopefully more ups than downs!! :)

23 responses to “Week 37 & Week 38

  1. I just love your comment that your husband is the perfect husband for you. What a great way to say it. :-)

  2. You’ve totally dropped! Does your belly feel heavier now? How’s the back pain? I would imagine it would be worse after the dropping. And possibly more round ligament pain. But you’ve got such a long torso it might not be an issue at all. I wouldn’t worry too much about the smaller fundal height. Baby H probably just wants to cook longer than your due date.
    Are you ready to go back to school next week if need be? I have a “4th day in 4th grade” packet to send you if you’d like. All about the number 4. Just a fun time filler thing I found online last year.

    • It doesn’t really feel heavier- but it really crunches things up down there and makes things feel smashed & super tight…..and adds A LOT of pressure and pulls on the ligaments from up top- not what I was expecting.
      I’m ready to go back to to school to see my kids- just wondering if I’ll make it to Wednesday! :) ….Where did you find the 4th day in 4th Grade thing? Sounds like fun!

  3. I’m going to go out on a limb and guess that you’re having a GIRL! :-)

  4. Yay, so soon! The baby is very low! How tall are you (I’m always curious because it’s so hard to tell in blog posts :))?

  5. Omigosh, I can’t believe your little baby (I’m guessing girl too!) is coming so soon! Prayers that everything goes smoothly and baby and mama are healthy and happy! So glad you know that the husband is your perfect match and father to your little one. As someone who is still looking for that guy, I try and think about that God is molding me and someone else out there for each other- nice to hear that it does happen! xoxo

    • Thank you for the prayers- I’m super anxious and those prayers really help!
      …..As for the perfect match- I never in a million years would have guessed that he was the one for me– and then we suddenly became the perfect people for each other, completely divinely molded. It totally happens- even when you don’t expect it :)

  6. thehinzadventures

    I am so incredibly excited for you girl! I can’t wait to see the new sprinkle… lol Obviously my ups & downs have to do with my new diagnosis about diabetes. All I can say is WOW…still hard to believe one day I’m OK and the next I’m a diabetic. All is OK now..just lots of shots and finger poking.. Cheers to a safe baby/delivery/etc.. You are going to be an amazing mom girl!

    xoxo from Missouri

  7. I’m a long time reader but don’t comment too often.

    I just had to say how absolutely beautiful you look! :) You are all belly and it is beyond adorable on you! Pregnancy sure suits you and I know you’ll look even better with her in your arms- I have a feeling it’s a girl ;)

  8. awwww, you are absolutely glowing! so beautiful!

  9. You are seriously one of the cutest pregnant women EVER! I hope you are enjoying your last few days. :-)

  10. SO EXCITING!!!!!!!!!!! I love your pictures. Stunning!!!!!!!! My up this week was definitely my new dog, Pippa! Love her!

  11. ahhh! I just want to see the little sucker, Can’t wait!:) You look great, by the way!

  12. Well…I hope this message finds you happy and comfy…my friend Anya – finally had her little one..a boy – Jennings. Last night..you’re up next girl…
    Good Luck!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  13. You’re absolutely stunning! Can’t wait for the introduction of your little _____!

  14. Hi Julie! I’m still reading jut not posting as often as I would like to. I’m still adjusting to 5 hours of sleep a night. I can’t wait to hear your news when you have your little one!! Juliana is already 5 weeks old this weekend. Hard to believe!!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

