JOY…. Almond Joy to be exact

Good Sunday morning! Guess who overslept and missed church. This girl (and the husband too of corse). I hate when I do that, I feel off all week. What are you doing this Sunday morning? Being Lazy? Productive? (I pat you on the back if you are being productive) Feeling lazy and trying to bet on track,  I decided to put a little *JOY* into my morning…. Well, Almond Joy to be exact. kind of. Anyone else ever eat these?

Used to love me some Almond JoyWhen I was younger and didn’t so  much care what I ate, I ate these. Not in large amounts, just the fun sized ones on occasion. Ice cream was really my thing back then. The thing I couldn’t control myself on… Wait, I’m getting off task.  So, I love coconut more than words can express. Like seriously, I love coconut, I have extract on hand at all times and add it to the most random things. Just ask the husband. Coconut makes me feel like I’m on a beach. Who doesn’t want to feel like they are on the beach? Even if is just for a moment? To make things even better, I added chocolate. Dark chocolate.  Coconut and chocolate= my joy!

I decided to make my own CoconutChocolateJoy in a Ball. Much healthier than the Almond Joys in my past. So here is what went down.

The makings of CoconutChocolate Joy in a ball

The beginnings of something great. The dates, almonds, and cocoa powder inside the food processor. Coconut on the side, waiting to get folded into the chocolate delicious mess.

Here is what I did:

CoconutChocolateJoy in a ball

1/2 cup almonds + 12  13 whole almonds for inside the balls

1 cup of pitted dates (a little less actually, maybe 3/4 c. )

2-3 tablespoons of dark cocoa powder

1/4 cup of coconut, plus a couple of tablespoons extra for rolling

In a blender or food processor, process the almonds into smaller pieces that you would like, I went pretty small and processed for quite a while. Then, add the pitted dates, cocoa powder and process all of them together. Transfer mixture to bowl of counter, (I covered my counter in plastic wrap and dropped the mix into that for easy clean up) then fold in coconut.  Kneed the doughy mixture into a rectangle and flatten it. Evenly place 12 (I used 13) whole almonds. Cut and form into balls. Roll the balls in coconut for a prettier CoconutChocolateJoy in a ball.

The makings of CoconutChocolate Joy balls

See how I rolled it out into a rectangle. Yah? Do that, then place almonds on the rectangle evenly and cut. Roll into balls with the almond in the middle.

Julie’s Top 5 reasons to try these today.

  1. These are seriously just as good as the Almond Joys that I used to eat. Maybe even better. Don’t take my word for it…. Try it! 🙂
  2. They are fast and easy to make (maybe 10 minutes, that’s maybe)
  3. The clean up is minimal if you use the plastic wrap like I suggested. Only a food processor bowl and a set of hands to wash.
  4. They are an easy sweet treat to grab and go. The balls are handy. Yes, I just said the balls are handy.
  5. I said so….. 🙂
Have a happy Sunday everyone. I’ll be in my garden if you need me. 🙂
Question: What is/was your favorite treat as a kid? Or now even? Have you ever tried to make it healthier?
13 responses to “JOY…. Almond Joy to be exact

  1. These look good! And definitely better for you than Almond Joys 🙂 By far, my favorite treat is ice cream! I’ve recently started making it at home with raw cream (straight from the cow) and sweetening it with maple syrup instead of white sugar. It is so much better for me and WAY tastier!

    By the way, welcome to the blog world! I also just started my blog…it’s been an adventure! I look forward to reading more 🙂

    • This blog thing is tough to figure out on your own, an adventure to say the least! I’m glad you stopped by!
      I made ice cream from a cow when I was younger and lived with my parents, it is QUITE delish! Surprisingly it is satisfying enough I would only want a cup or so. Wish I could say the same with store bought ice cream!

  2. Yum! I love almond joy. My favorite treat from when I was younger are scotcheroos (the PB rice krispie bars). I have not tried making them healthier. But if you figure out a way to do it, let me know!! 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness those look amazing! I need to make! I’m a coconut fiend too – coconut gelato with warmed up chocolate sauce on top is one of my favorite desserts!

  4. Omigosh- those look delicious!! I will definitely be making them asap! Almond Joys were one of my faves too! I also have always loved cupcakes and though I haven’t tried making them healthy yet, I know there are recipes floating around the blog world that I am excited to try!

  5. I just made peanut butter cups! Way healthier than reeses and tastier!

  6. I am DEFINITELY going to make these. I love almond joys. too much.

  7. Pingback: It’s Middle of the Week Wednesday | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

