Buffalo Chicken Hummus

Can it be? Yes, you read it correctly, buffalo chicken hummus!

It is missing the chicken but has all the burning flavor of buffalo wings!  Woooo, call the fire department! …..Especially all you single ladies! 😉

I originally made this recipe for my husband because he likes his buffalo chicken wings more than beer likes football. He likes it hot and likes to feel the burn! So burn is what I gave him…. Don’t worry, I cooled it down quite a bit for all of you, just because I like you, and I want you to be able to taste for the next two weeks.

Buffalo Chicken Hummus

Buffalo Chicken Hummus

The ingredients to make the deliciousness!

  • 15 oz. can of drained chickpeas (I wash them too, because I’m OCD)    -save a smidge of the ‘water’
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, chopped or thrown in the food processor first
  • 2 TBSP tahini **
  • 1 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 TBSP lime juice (you can use lemon too)
  • 1 TBSP of buffalo chicken sauce
  • 1 tsp Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle blend (not a must, I just had it on hand so thought I’d throw it in)
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
 * * I live in the middle of nowhere and couldn’t find tahini paste ANYWHERE! So, I bought sesame seeds and ground them up in the food processor with a touch of olive oil. No idea if it made paste but I used it and it tasted good. hummm?
  • What went down: Drop the garlic into the food processor or blender and make sure it chopped very small, you don’t want to bite on raw garlic (or maybe you do? what do I know?) Then, add the tahini paste and washed chick peas and process away, stream in the olive oil and lime juice. If it isn’t the texture you like yet, you may want to add some of the chick pea water to help it blend. Add the spices and buffalo chicken sauce.

*Husband’s hummus has a heaping 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, 2 tsp of the Mrs. Dash Chipotle blend, and 2 TBSP of the buffalo chicken sauce. I’m telling you, a heaping 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper will light your fire if you are wanting to call the fire department!!! 😉

Buffalo Chicken Hummus Finished

Crud, a carrot already found the dip.... and it has been double dipped. Good thing I'm not sharing this batch with anyone other than the husband; no worries, he already has my germs.

After the love created recipe for hummus, I bet he now feels more included in my carrot eating rituals that take place every day (after school August-May). He claims that it is ‘even better than the other stuff’. He means the hummus I usually bought, up until I decided it was way too expensive for what I was getting, plus I want to be Mrs. Susie Homemaker! All for the love of the husband…

Question: Do you like it hot? ha! I’m talking about food! 😉  What is your favorite ‘hot’ food?

12 responses to “Buffalo Chicken Hummus

  1. I like this! I am growing to love spice more and more as I get older. I don’t know if I could handle this though!!! BUT I know my honey could 🙂 I will definitely be trying this out very soon for him.

    Thanks for the kind words on my posts yesterday!

    • What is it with men and their love of all things hot? I agree, as I’ve gotten older I love spice more and more but not near to the extent of the husband…. This version has an after burn but the first one for the husband, I had to find the milk right away!

  2. You know I’m a sucker for good hummus. My husband would LOVE this – he loves buffalo chicken wings and anything with hot sauce, so this would be perfect! I would what this would be like with a little blue cheese crumbled on top, served on celery?! Love it.

  3. I LOVE spicy, this hummus sounds so good! And I would definitely kick it up with the larger amounts of spice 😀 Hmm, maybe I can call those firemen that were in my office yesterday checking the alarms…TALL and pretty darn good-looking. I can offer them hummus while they’re here 😀

  4. WOW that looks AMAZING. My boyfriend LOVES buffalo chicken wings… i think I need to make that too!

  5. Oh my gosh, this look amazing! I love all the things going in here, mmm and hummus is so healthy! GO JULIE!

  6. Ohh this looks delicious!! I’ll have to try it out! I love the idea of a hot spicy hummus! And haha looks like we both had trouble with finding tahini! But I’ll have to try your trick with the sesame seeds too!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

