Coconut Pineapple Vegan Banana Bread

Happy Day everyone! 🙂 I’m feeling good today! I’ve decided to do my first technical circuit since, ….well, awhile ago (let’s not mention how long). We will see how this works out, I know you’ll be waiting on pins and needles to see how I feel tomorrow which is the true test for a new workout. Hopefully I feel the burn.

Also, if you haven’t already, check out ‘getting to know the girl, I let you into my shoe closet……. On to sweeter things.

Coconut Pineapple Vegan Banana Bread

I’m sure that Joy the baker is proud. I make this pretty much every week. No, I’m not vegan but the bread is good. So, I make it. Simple as that. 🙂

So, here is what went down…

Bananas, rotten!

Yuck. I know. ....but, they make the best bread

I start with three very overripe bananas, almost rotten. They make the bread sweeter. I know it’s weird but I like to see the brown banana pieces once the bread is baked.

The wed ingredients

Add the wet ingredients

Here are the wet ingredients: bananas, sugar, crushed pineapple, and applesauce. Mix them together really well before you add the dry because you won’t want to over work that and get tough bread.

Here it is with the dry. Getting there....

Whole wheat flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, allspice, and salt.

Fold in the coconut. AKA- add the deliciousness!

After you have folded in the coconut. Pour into loaf pan and bake!

After 45-50 minutes.... the sweet smell of success!

Mix together all of the following ingredients really well….

  • 2 or 3 large ripe bananas (I always use 3 *very* over ripe)
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/4 c crushed pineapple, drain (I always use name brand Dole, it makes a huge difference. I hate to admit that….)
  • 1/4 c applesauce (it calls for oil but I do applesauce to make it healthier)
Sift in all of the following ingredients to the wet ones.
  • 1 c whole wheat white flour
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon (I usually go overboard with cinnamon. Love it!)
  • pinch of ginger, allspice
  • After all of that, fold in 1/2 c shredded coconut (I use less…) 
Bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes in a loaf pan.
Coconut Pineapple Vegan Banana Bread

"Coconut Pineapple Vegan Banana Bread" all done and all good!

I made this for my mom and she said “With a name like coconut pineapple vegan banana bread it has to be hard to make.” I reply, “Oh mom.” ….because it is not hard to make at all. I promise. Cross my heart…. You only dirty two bowls and a whisk. 

Question: Is there something that is on your baking schedule every week?  (almost every week) -OR- Have you circuit trained?  

18 responses to “Coconut Pineapple Vegan Banana Bread

  1. This looks delicious! I love trying out vegan recipes (my goal is for my husband not to know it’s vegan!).

    I make muffins most weeks, but always a different recipe. I also have cookies in the house at all times for my husbands lunches. Chocolate chip is a favorite here!

    I would love to see what your circuit workout looks like!

  2. This bread looks so delicious! And full of good-for-you ingredients! I’m a little concerned about how to tell an over-ripe banana from a rotten one though- any suggestions?

    And I wish I baked something every week! But maybe I’ll try to bake something soon!

    • The best advice I got about a rotten banana was from ‘the banana bread lady’ from my hometown church. “If it smells rotten, it’s rotten. If it looks ugly, it will make good bread.” ….I follow that. It takes quite a long time for them to become rotten, I’m guessing 2.5 or 3 weeks? When they are rotten they leak out juices and kind of ferment on the inside=rotten….
      Mine were at least 2 weeks old, maybe 3. I waited for them to get ‘ugly’ to make good bread. So, I’d smell em’…. That the wisdom of an old church lady talking. 🙂

  3. YUM that looks delicious! I LOVE coconut! I’ve done circuit training before and I really like it! Helps to keep me from getting bored!

  4. The workout this morning kicked my butt, I’m just not in that ‘type’ of shape. A lot of resistance for this girl…. Coconut Love all the way!

  5. Just came across your blog! This bread sounds amazing 🙂 Next time I have old bananas, this is what I’m making! I just made carrot cake/hummingbird muffins last night and this kind of reminds me of them.

  6. I definitely always have SOME sort of baking project in mind every week 🙂 In fact, I bought bananas last week with the thought of banana muffins in mind. Can’t wait! That bread looks awesome 🙂

  7. I bake bread at least once a week, using my bread machine.

    I’m on a mission to bake all of my own bread this year [when I’m at home – doesn’t count while traveling], and have been super successful. Usually there’s some kind of bread, roll, or pizza dough being baked or eaten in our house.

  8. That sounds delicious! I usually end up baking something 1 or 2 times a week, but we have so many muffins and cookies right now I need a break!

  9. I sadly never have baking on my agenda. I am SOOOO bad at it! I can cook but baking just never works out the way it is supposed to for me. Your bread looks fantastic!

    • Thank you! Believe it or not, I’m not much of a baker… I think it’s because I’m too hard on myself. I always think ‘it should be more….. I should have added….. I baked it too long……’ the list goes on. This bread had too much baking soda, and I could tell…… BUT, just go with it! You’ll be glad you gave it a whirl! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Living on ‘BORROWED’ time | Spinach and Sprinkles

  11. Pingback: Too excited…..Can’t think | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

