Stars & Stripes Margaritas for the 4th

Happy 4th of July!

A 4th in NYC would be great..... but I guess I'll spend it in Kansas instead! Thank you to my friends; Casey, Bobby, Meridith, and Sloan for keeping the USA free! Bobby & Casey, wish we were still playing on the farm and not all grown up.... Love you two! To my grandpas: I'm thankful for all that you taught me, thank you for your sacrifice.

As promised, I made a Stars & Stipes Margarita for the best readers around! 🙂 (that’s all of you!)

Low(er) calorie margarita!

All the ingredients for the perfect low calorie margarita! ....Heavenly 🙂

In a blender, mix all of the following ingredients for a low(er) calorie margarita than the mix and it is rockin’! Please try it; for you, not for me. (that is if you are that magic number of 21 or older.)I want YOU to enjoy this. It changed my life, at least the nights I decide to drink margaritas….

  • Shot of Each
    •  Tequila (or a smidge more, no one is watching!) 🙂
    •  Triple Sec
    • Pineapple Juice, more if you like it sweet (3ish)
    •  Lime Juice
  • 1 tsp of sugar free lemon-aid mix (Crystal- Light, I used the cheap brand)
  • 1 egg white, or egg substitute if an egg white creeps you out
    • This is *THE BEST* tip I’ve ever gotten when it comes to cocktails! This egg white makes it SUPER FROTHY! …My male hairdresser shared this with me while he was practicing my wedding hair….Note: Leave out if you are making a margarita on the rocks.
  • ICE- lots is how much I use, it depends how thick you like your margaritas. I used at least 20 ice cubes. I go overboard…
Blend all above items in blender, it will take a minute or two to crush all the ice and let it get frothy.  Separate into three glasses. Add strawberry sugar free drink mix to one, blue raspberry sugar free drink mix to the 2nd, and leave the 3rd glass plain.  If you don’t have the sugar free drink mixes, like the addicted girl that writes Spinach & Sprinkles, add food coloring or frozen berries… See picture below?
  • Add glasses to freezer for at least 30 minutes, I went on a run while they were in the freezer. This IS important, it will help reduce the mixing of the colors… and flavors if you added the Sugar Free drink mixes…
  • Finally, layer them to turn them into a Stars & Stripes margarita!

Stars & Stripes margarita!

  • Repeat! 
  • Thank Julie for the low(er) calorie drink. This last step is optional 🙂 

Here I am, excited for my Stars & Stripes margarita after my run last night! Please excuse the hair, bad make-up, and sweat. Why am I posting this picture again?!?

I am still getting awesome feedback on ‘You’ve GOT to be kidding me’…. and for each comment I get, I am thankful. You are all awesome! 🙂

Happy 4th of July everyone!  God Bless America …and…. America Bless God! Have a fun day and be sure to be thankful!

Question: What are you doing today?

What is your celebratory drink of choice?!?! 

11 responses to “Stars & Stripes Margaritas for the 4th

  1. Such a cute idea!!

    We are gonna be unpatritotic and drink wine tonight – but we will have American made wine so that makes it better, right?!

    Happy 4th! 🙂

  2. SUCH a cute idea! I love it! I’m going to a baseball game then out to dinner and to watch the fireworks, I can’t wait 🙂 Work tomorrow makes any hardcore celebrating nonexistent. Le sigh.

    My celebratory drink of choice varies… this weekend it’s been beer!

  3. Ahh those look amazing!! Love that it’s a lower calorie recipe too 🙂

    • The only calories that you can’t get any lower are the liquors…. The sf lemonade is only 5 calories, lime juice is about the same, and the pineapple juice is about 15 calories worth…. 30 calories for the mix & about 150 for the alcohol. A 180 calorie margarita = my heaven 🙂

  4. What a FUN drink idea!!! Love it!

    We’ve been out of town the past few days and just got back in, so I’m not really sure if we’ll be doing anything tonight…is that unpatriotic?! Oh well! We’re exhausted!

  5. these are so cute!! I could use one right about now 🙂

  6. Pingback: 7 links | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

