Living on ‘BORROWED’ time

I felt like I have been living on ‘borrowed’ time… Some of you have suggested that I read the book ‘Something Borrowed‘ by Emily Giffin. So, while I was in a town that had more than a post office, I bought the book to see what all the fuss was about….

Needless to say; I am understanding all of your fuss!

This is the fort I am holding down all day... Food, phone, and book. Ready to go!

Looks like a pretty good day in the life of a teacher on summer break, huh? It takes me FOREVER from front to back read a book for pleasure…..

Did anyone else go on  reading strike after college? I was the nerd that read every page of her teacher education books in college. So, I was D.O.N.E. by the time I graduated. It took me a few years to go off of strike and read again.

During the school year, I am just so swamped with methodology, brain development, pedagogy, and schema tactics that I just don’t read for fun…. So this is game time! I only have a week or two before I need to truly start preparing for next year, so I need to knock this book out of the park. Cliff notes anyone? Ha! Kidding!

I decided I must eat a Greek Yogurt Parfait this morning , so that is what I did.

Summer time bliss!

What is in the mix:

  • FAGE 0% nonfat Greek yogurt
  • Crushed pineapple
  • Coconut
  • My Coconut Pineapple Vegan Banana Bread  (awesome in this mix!)
  • Drizzle of honey
  • drum roll please……….. **SPRINKLES**
    • Add the sprinkles, it makes the world right!

See? Add the sprinkles!!!! They are totally worth it!

I love this mix, it tastes all sorts of tropical and really makes the world a better place! …..Oh what’s that???? You aren’t  5 1/2 years old and don’t have sprinkles on hand??? Well, I suggest you go buy some!!! Very quick like! NOW is better, GO GET THE SPRINKLES!!!
Question: Have your read ‘Something Borrowed’? What are you currently reading?
-OR-
Have you ever gone on strike from reading? (like I did after college…)
30 responses to “Living on ‘BORROWED’ time

  1. If you want to laugh your butt off – you must read Thank You Notes – By Jimmy Fallon. Honestly, it is SO funny – if you are having a frustrating moment, you can open it and read a page or two and it will make you laugh, if not shoot soda out your nose! Yes, it’s that funny!!

  2. I just read that book and quite enjoyed it… and that parfait looks out of this world delicious!!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  3. Omigosh- I love that you put sprinkles on top of your Greek yogurt! It just makes it look like such a happy breakfast!! And I read that book years ago but remember loving it! Did you see the movie? I just finished Sisterhood Everlasting and it was a great summer read. I didn’t really go on a strike but I did find that once I graduated I was really excited to read books that I picked out again! But I guess that’s the English major in me! 🙂

  4. Your day sounds/looks PERFECT. A tasty treat and a good book? Nothing better. I’m a complete book nerd and have never gone on a reading hiatus. Ever. For even a day. I always have something going, and have to read at night or I can’t fall asleep, even if it’s ridiculously late. I haven’t read Something Borrowed, I’ll have to check it out. Currently reading a terrible fantasy book from the ’70s, luckily it’s really short.

    Sprinkles make everything happier 🙂 I feel the same way about straws. Drink boring drinks out of a wacky straw? Suddenly the most exciting water ever!

    And in case this comment wasn’t already long enough…I’m now off to check out that banana bread recipe! I happen to have coconut, the rest of a can of pineapple AND old bananas that all need to be used. You may have just simplified my life 😀

  5. I’m so jealous that you get to read all day!!! I LOVE sprinkles in yogurt…don’t you remember Dannon Sprinkl’ins?? They were my fave back in the day!

    I am currently reading some non-fiction books about health and nutrition. I have found that lately I don’t want to read novels even though I used to devour them! I just tried to start Eat. Pray. Love. but no dice! I didn’t enjoy the first 10 pages so why keep going?

    Enjoy your relaxing day!!!

  6. I have read all of Emily Giffin’s books! Such fun reads! Have you seen the movie Something Borrowed? I never go to the theatre to see it, but I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD!

  7. That little parfait looks so yummy! So cute that you added the sprinkles. I love sprinkles on all my icecream and frozen yogurt but never used it for greek yogurt..love it 🙂

  8. i read Something Borrowed and Something Blue this summer! So good.. and quick reads 🙂 enjoy!

  9. I’ve never gone a strike from reading – I love it way too much!

    I didn’t read Something Borrowed but I saw the movie if that counts! 🙂

  10. Just found your blog… very cute! I’m a teacher too! 🙂 I hear ya on the reading thing… and I’m an English teacher so my “strike” is pretty shameful! I’m trying to be better though & read more for enjoyment. Right now I’m reading Water for Elephants, but I’ve heard Emily Giffin books are wonderful!

  11. I think I read that entire series in like 3 weeks. Such fun, easy reads. Perfect for summer 🙂 I’m reading “Kitchen house” right now. It’s ok, kinda like The Help meets every other southern, slave era book.

  12. thepleasedplate

    i love the sprinkles idea on yogurt!
    i am currently reading Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. It is so good!

  13. I go on strike against reading every school year (I’m a teacher). Then when summer comes, I read like 8 novels in 3 months. 🙂

  14. After having 2 kids I went on a reading strike… Mainly because I don’t have time to read anymore. Love the sprinkles!!!

  15. I LOVE that you added sprinkles to your yogurt parfait! That is amazing!

    I haven’t read the book but I did see the movie and it was adorable. (I love to hate those characters Kate Hudson plays!) Jim from the Office was hands down my favorite part of that movie!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

