Who needs chips?!?! …Try it Tuesday food edition!

I am in love…. this is true….. with more than just the husband.

All is well, in the spinach and sprinkles household….. I am in love with my garden! πŸ™‚ True statement! I planted a little too much squash and was finally able to pick one last night! (it will be the first of MANY)

This is how I decided to use my first yellow squash from my garden….. I want you to try it too, for Try it Tuesday! You’ll thank me later, this is a promise….

Squash chips!! ….This was a good decision!

The start of the chips!

First, I cut the squash into thin slices and tried to make sure they were all the same thickness. They were about 1/4” thick… I tried to make them even so the cooking time was even.

Then I sprayed them with cooking spray…. Added ground sea salt and crushed black pepper.Β 

After I did that, I put them on a cookie sheet that had a wire rack ontop so that the air could get both sides of the squash and they could get crispy on both sides

I put the squash chips into a 400Β° oven for about 12 minutes. Took them out at 12 mins and flipped them over so the ‘grill’ marks were on both sides. (I just have OCD, no biggie. Plus I didn’t want them super crispy, I just wanted them cooked) Β Then pop them back in for another 12 ish 24-25 minutes total cooking time….. However crispy YOU want your chips! It is your kitchen do what YOU want. It will taste better that way…Β (450Β° if you want them to crisp up faster, just reduce the cooking time a tad and watch them)

Squash chips! Heavens YES!

These were my supper last night. Who needs fried chips?!? Not this girl! These made my night! So delicious!!!!

I also am going to give ‘Try it Tuesday’ a go again this week on the spreading smiles side of things! I just loved it so much last week that I’m doing it again! Yeeesss! If you missed last weeks ‘Try it Tuesday”, you should really check it out Β and take a look at the recap… We are all making the world a better place, one smile at a time! YOU all ROCK!!!! πŸ™‚

Question: πŸ™‚Β What is your favorite chip??? (healthy or not healthy, just show some ❀ chip love<3!!!)

 

 

 

28 responses to “Who needs chips?!?! …Try it Tuesday food edition!

  1. Looks delish! I’m not a huge fan of squash (I know, I know) but I loooove me some homemade kale or sweet potato chips! As for the store bought variety – I’m a BBQ Pop Chips addict!

  2. Mmm great idea!! I’m definitely going to try this!

    I love tortilla chips and BBQ chips! Which is weird because I like no other BBQ type food!

  3. This sounds like a must-try for me!

    I don’t think I have a favourite store-bought chip! It is just whatever I gravitate towards when I have a excuse to buy them!:)! Really strong salt and vinegar chips I found in the UK have to be up there though!

    At home I LOVE kale chips sprinkled with white cheddar or dill pickle popcorn seasoning! Yummmmmmm!

  4. Yummm! I wish my poor squash plants hadn’t all died 😦 Favorite healthy chip? Kale. Favorite unhealthy chip? Either sunchips or Trader Joe’s reduced guilt tortilla chips (reduced guilt, but still a chip, so you know, the “healthy/unhealthy” is up in the air there).

  5. Love it… so simple! I’ll definitely be trying these! Do Doritos count? Omg I can’t control myself around them! πŸ™‚

  6. Oh my gosh!!! These look awesome! I am definitely making these asap! I love all things squash so the idea of squash chips sounds excellent! And my favorite chips are Salt and Vinegar pop chips! They are so good for a salty craving!

  7. This sounds like a great way to use up some squash I’ve got left over! Also, I just picked up a few more from the farmer’s market today! Look for my post later about πŸ™‚

    My fave chips right now are the ones I found at the local grocery store that taste like Cool Ranch Doritos!

  8. They aren’t really chips, but I love veggie straws and go through a big Costco bag every 2 weeks! They are great calorie-wise…not so much sodium wise though!

  9. I’m a POP Chips girl — love the salt ones — haven’t found them here in Trinidad yet…

  10. I do this with sweet potatoes and it’s always so awesome. I’m not a huge real chip fan though – but I DO love blue corn tortillas every once in a while πŸ™‚

  11. I loooove eggplant chips. As in: I can eat an entire tray straight from the oven. And they make the best sandwich! Combine eggplant chips, avocado, tomato and salad with whole wheat bread – it’s heaven. They go with buffalo mozzarella too. And chicken… And… Pretty much everything πŸ™‚

    • Holy cow!!!! Eggplant is my favorite food and I’ve never had them! How can this be!!! I will have tons of eggplant (crosses fingers!) and need to try that out! Smart thinking!

      • You HAVE to try them then. Just cut into thin slices, salt and leave for 10 minutes to draw out some of the water, pad them dry with kitchen towel and pop in the oven with a bit of olive oil brushed on. But watch them carefully they burn real easy!

  12. Oh my gosh, those look fantastic! I’m writing down the instructions right now!

    As for favorite chips, I’d have to say the Multigrain Tortilla Chips from the Food Should Taste Good brand that I am snacking on at the moment take the cake πŸ™‚

  13. Good idea! I never would’ve though to do chips with squash since it has so much water in it, but I guess it works!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

