Who lives like that?!?!

I decided that I’d give you all a little glimpse into my life. Please, don’t let me loose you on this post. Yes, it has cows in it. Yes, I’m a little bit of a country girl. But, I have pretty shoes in my closet to make up for it. Promise…

I live in small town, USA…. For real, I can completely run across my town (yes, literally run….) in less than a few minutes, I am slow….. It is like 800 yards across ‘town’.

There is no grocery store in my town. No beloved Trader Joe’s for miles around. The nearest Trader Joe’s is 280 miles away, and it’s NOT EVEN OPEN YET!!!

For real, I looked it up on the website. Two hundred eighty miles.

Nope, not a Whole Foods in sight either….

That would be 395.8 miles away. Again, I looked it up.

I teach elementary school and there is no school in town. No, I don’t teach in a one room school house.ย ๐Ÿ™‚ There are roughly 30 children in the grade I teach.

I just have to drive 11 miles to the next town to the town that the school is at. It’s no biggie!

Growing up, cows outside my bedroom window were my favorite alarm clock . Seriously. I know that is weird.

In high school, I seriously was almost late to school because the neighbor’s cows were out. Have almost fallen asleep in class because our cows were out the night before and I was up till all hours of the morning trying to get the cows in. (keep in mind Miss Goody Two Shoes said ALMOST! I don’t fall asleep at school! )

At the farm where I grew up, I could run for three miles down the public road completely naked if I wanted, I know no one would be coming. Don’t worry. I never did that!

There is no place to shop….. Like not at all……

I worked about 15 minutes from Roosevelt Field Mall when I lived in NY! Oh heavens, YES!!!

Don’t you worry your pretty little head about me!….You’ve heard of online shopping before, right? Well, I do a lot of it!!!! (the husband could tell you all about it if you’d like)

On the flip side….. I decided to take the world by storm and move to New York! ….

I lived in New York. I fell in love.

I got to eat great food, experience great people, teach wonderful kids, go out in THE CITY whenever I wanted, and just live the life in New York…. I fit in well. No, really I did. ย People had NO idea where I came from.

Along with all the wonderful things in New York, Iย ย got to driveย drove to work in HELLISH traffic every morning before dawn even thought of coming up.

See? I fit in, I’m just like everyone else…. I loved my time in NY, but I missed the little things that I’d come to love about home.

Even though I live in the middle of nowhere, I live somewhere…… I live in a great somewhere!ย 

The simple beauty on a summer day.

I couldn’t deny where my heart was.

I don’t have to look hard to remember why I moved back…

I missed the things I loved…..come to find out. The ‘things’ I missed about home really weren’t things at all. They were people. I moved back to Kansas to be with the ones I love. My amazing family, the boyfriend (now husband), and friends.

I’ve lived in two completely different worlds and came back to this. Seriously though, we are just like everyone else, except we have had a cow as a pet growing up! Ha! ….I love my designer shoes and jeans just as much as the next girl! ๐Ÿ™‚ Honestly at the school I worked in, they called me Miss Kansas. And, most people actually believed I truly was Miss Kansas for a good month or so…

So, I may complain about not having a Trader Joe’s anymore but I made the choice to move back. I don’t regret it.

QUESTION: Have any of you ever made a life changing move? ย OR———Have you ever been to the midwest or NEW YORK!

(let’s talk about NY…. I miss it! Or, someone bring me back, plleeeeeeeease!)

24 responses to “Who lives like that?!?!

  1. Thanks for the glimpse into your life! I am from the midwest (Wisconsin), but have lived in VA for over 15 years, so it is now home. We live in a pretty small town, population-wise, only about 1000 at most. It is about 25 miles long and only maybe 3-5 miles wide- we live in a valley!! My honey’s 1st-5th grade was in a two-room school house in our town (1st through 3rd was taught by his mama!).

    Honestly, I’m not too fond of NYC…sorry! I did enjoy the Broadway show I saw and would probably enjoy the food more now that I am a more adventurous eater, but I don’t have much of a desire to go back. My honey wants to go for New Year’s Eve though, so we’ll see ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great Post! I moved to NY for a bit too – loved it but knew it was only for a bit — moved to Houston & fell in love, met my husband, got married and we decided to move overseas for a bit – Trinidad! Life is all about adventures-rt? Enjoying ourselves here but when we are done — Houston will be our home once more! Loved your pics!

  3. I. Love. This. Post. I grew up in a teeeny town in the North (there were 5 girls in my grade), then moved to a slightly larger but still small town in the South (and was often delayed by the neighbor’s bull that would get out and stand in the road. Nope, not going to try to move that). I live in a fairly big city now (Nashville–certainly no NYC), and have dreams of living NYC for a year or two. I know it wouldn’t be permanent, though, as I love country living. Fresh air and farm animals can’t be left behind forever.

  4. I love living in Manhattan, but your photos make country living look equally lovely! And, you can always visit the big apple and shop/ eat your heart out.

  5. I’ve lived in the same area my whole life, but did go away to college (only about 2 hours though!). I love visiting NYC! I’ve never been to the midwest, but it looks beautiful!

  6. I love that last picture–so beautiful! I moved to South Carolina for a year after college and then moved back up to Michigan for grad school. I liked the south, but missed the midwest a lot more than I thought I would!

  7. Love this post! And that you knew what would truly make you happy! ๐Ÿ™‚ One of my best friends lives in Wisconsin and my boyfriends extended family lives in Indiana so I’ve definitely been to the mid-west… and New York alike! ๐Ÿ™‚ New York is awesome but a little too fast paced for me (SF suits me perfectly!) I am a huge Boston fan however, having been born there, my parents growing up there, and having all my extended family there… I love that city! (And the Red Sox!)

  8. Great post! I have family that just moved to Kansas. I can’t wait to visit and check it out – hopefully cows don’t get in my way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I work in NY but I’m the total opposite, I really don’t like it at all. I just find it too crowded, too busy. I’m much more a country bumpkin myself ๐Ÿ™‚ If I could live in any city it would be Boston (again!)

  10. So funny how everyone has different preferences!

    I lived in the city of Seattle for a long time and recently moved to wine country in NorCal. At first it was a little to slow for me, but now I find the city overwhelming! I am starting to like the slower pace ๐Ÿ™‚ Although my town is not nearly as small as yours, it is still a much slower pace than big cities!

    I love how you wake up to cows! LOL! We recently moved to a place right across from a cow pasture. I don’t usually hear them, but I can definitely SMELL them! When I give people directions to my house I tell them just to follow the smell of cow poop. #iheartcountryliving

  11. Loved this post! I wish I could do a big post on my move NEXT TUESDAY..but I can’t share it with some people I know. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll be moving from Orange County in California to a small beach and military town Fort Walton Beach in Florida. It scares me, but I’m ready for a change!

  12. I live in NYC and I love it! Something about the South has always intrigued me though, I would love to spend time there someday.

  13. Wonderful post! I’m so glad you love where you live and are happy that you moved back! By the way, I love those last 3 photos. So beautiful!
    And the closest TJ’s to me is like 1000+ miles….I’ve never been :/
    I love the cow stories ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. I grew up in WV and have moved to NYC for love. So I can definitely relate! NYC has it’s pluses and minuses.
    -Sarah
    fitango.com

  15. Having just visited a big city, I can’t help but think on the reg about how happy I am that I live in the suburbs. I know it’s not the same as the farm, and we’ve got a TJ’s a mere 8 miles away, but it’s a WORLD away from that big city life, walking all over, no grass anywhere…. I think it’s just not for everyone.

    You sound right where you belong!

  16. OH my gosh I relate to this SO much! I currently live in Manhattan (where in the city did you live where you had a car?!? I can’t even imagine – the mere thought of driving here gives me a panic attack) but I’m from Missouri and moving back at the end of the summer because as ahhhmazing as NYC is, well, there is just no place like home ๐Ÿ™‚

    I feel so lucky to have experienced both, as most people tend to stick with either one or the other, and I’m sure you’ll agree that leaving home teaches you so many important things about yourself – sometimes it teaches you that you love home the most!

  17. I can totally relate to this post. I moved back to the midwest from Phoenix a few years ago. Now, Phoenix isn’t exactly NYC and the town where I live now is much bigger than 800 yds (I just read your about page :-)) but it’s the same concept. Good for experiencing the bigger world and then listening to your heart and going back home. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. that should say good for *you*. Oops.

  19. Pingback: 7 links | Spinach and Sprinkles

  20. I love this little glimpse!! I’m English and I have a complete and total fascination with the South and Midwest part of America (although Ive never been) – I would love to go to Kansas! Currently I live in London and in a way I feel a bit like I have a relationship with this city – sometimes its so crowded, dirty and hectic I just hate it and want to leave – and then right when I feel ready to, I have this overwhelming sense of actually just being totally in love with it and never being able to do that. People often have such passionate feelings about their hometown right?! xox

  21. I just found your bog, it’s great! I also lived about fifteen minutes from Roosevelt Field Mall, in Long Beach. My husbands job brought us back to upstate NY so we left but do I miss it! I am also an elementary teacher but I taught in the city so I feel ya on the commute. It’s nice to see you got back to where you wanted to be ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh goodness was I jealous of the people coming from the other side of the island in the morning- no traffic- I was always headed the wrong way with the rest of the people headed to the city; even though I taught on LI and not in the city. I taught in Merrick and LOVED it! So great to hear from you, love meeting people that understand that kind of traffic (oh and the amazing food!!!!!). NO WHERE have I found traffic like good ol’ Long Island 5am-8am and 2pm-7pm.

  22. I decided to go to college in North Carolina and continued to live there for 6 years (4 years of school, 2 years of just living). I moved back to California after I felt like I got the whole experience and saw nothing changing in our small city there. Now I’m back in Southern California where it’s dog-eat-dog, which just means I have to get better.

  23. i loved reading this! im from ny so i no where you get all your love for ny from but i never been to the country and i want that whole small town experience i just love that, my aunt lives up in a little town in maine on a lake and when i go there its just so peaceful and i love how small it is though i no i would still miss the crazyness of ny time to time!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

