Cookie Dough = Protein Balls…. Check!

Hello friends!  Happy Monday! …….If this picture doesn’t get you going, you need to go back to bed… I know it is Monday and all but this is rockin’! How was the weekend for all of you? I tore up  carpet to expose my hardwood floors, talk about hard work! It is a good thing I have these in my freezer to get me through if I decide I need to finish the task at hand….  There aren’t as many of these in my freezer as there were yesterday.

I present you…. the delicious…..

….Cookie Dough Protein Balls!

Here is what you need.

This recipe comes from the fantastic Maryea who blogs over at happyhealthymama.com She is wonderful and I love reading her honest posts. She is expecting her second bundle of joy and need the extra protein to chase after her little cutie and grow another bundle. My sister is in the exact same boat so she needs the protein too! So, I stole her recipe to make for my sister. The adorable  nephew of mine loved them too!

High Protein Energy Balls    (…they remind me of cookie dough! )

  • 1/2 c. almonds (ground into fine crumbs, do this first!)
  • 1 can of rinsed and drained chick peas
  • 3/4 c. peanut butter (I used 1/2 c. and added a smidge of milk)
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c. chocolate chips
  • I added a little too much milk so I threw in some whole wheat flour to make them a little more dough’ish….. Take a look at Maryea’s because of the wonderful pictures and to see what she did.
Process the 1/2 c. almonds FIRST into a crumble. Then add your rinsed and drained chick peas into the processor and work them over till they are all broken. Should look a little something like this! 

The ground almonds with the chick peas added and processed.

Then add the peanut butter, honey, and vanilla extract. Once you have added all of them and blended them into a ball/form. After that, take out the blade!!!! And add the chocolate chips!

Add the chocolate chips! It's worth it, 100% worth it!

I made 30 balls with the dough like Maryea suggested.

My 30 protein balls that taste like cookie dough!

I made mine a little too small I guess.  After 30 were made; 

… I still had dough left over…… What is a girl to do?????

Wait, I know…. 

ADD SPRINKLES! ....Bam! That just happened!

It makes the world a better place…. Come on you know you want to. Just do it  this one time.
Add the sprinkles… peer pressure is rough…. Do it. Do it. Do it.
Add the sprinkles…

Yummm!

Don’t the ones with sprinkles just look yummier! If that is possible….. They just add joy to the plate? Don’t you think so? 🙂

So stinkin' good!

I took a recipe and made it my own by cutting back on the peanut butter and adding milk and whole wheat flour. I love what she did but I want all of you to do your own thing! I think it is important to add your own little sprinkles of yourself here and there.

Question: Do the sprinkles add fun? ….or is it just me 🙂

 Are you a recipe follower or do you do your own thing? 

35 responses to “Cookie Dough = Protein Balls…. Check!

  1. Ummm…the sprinkles totally add fun to these 🙂 I can’t believe they have chick peas in them!!!

    I usually do my own thing with recipes because I try not to use white sugar and I can’t use regular wheat flour. Plus, I always try to add more protein into anything I make!

  2. Those looks delish! Sprinkles definitely add fun! 🙂

  3. I adapt almost every recipe that I find, or just use the title itself as an idea. I don’t eat meat or dairy, so I find it necessary in most cases!
    I also try to sub out a lot of ingredients if they are high sugar or fat for healthier alternatives, and love throwing in extras like flax, chia, spinach, etc.

  4. Yummm – those looks awesome. And I definitely think the sprinkles add the fun 😉

  5. Sprinkles always add fun!! 🙂 I follow the Paula Deen rule…use the recipe the first time and after that I normally change it up!

  6. I beginning to see that Sprinkles are totally your signature item! These look great and the protein keeps the energy goin’!

  7. Sprinkles!!!! They always make me smile 🙂 And, what a totally innovative and delicious-looking recipe!

  8. Ohh those look delicious! And I have all the ingrediants at home! Love that! 🙂 I think adding the sprinkles was a wonderful idea! They definitely make these little protein balls look much happier! And I’m usually a recipe follower, but will make changes based on what I have at home and hope it turns out for the best!

  9. I love your crackle nail polish! And I love cookie dough bites! Yummm!

  10. I’m usually a recipe follower for desserts because if someone else made it and knows it worked then I dont want to mess with a good thing. which me adapting could easily be messing with something. LOL

    I usually adapt more in standard meal ideas.

    These look delicious!

  11. I’m glad you enjoyed these! The sprinkles are a fun addition. 🙂 I hope your sister is doing well!

  12. oh my gosh, these are awesome! Must pick up chickpeas tomorrow!!!

  13. Oh YUM those look amazing! I definitely need to make a batch!

    The sprinkles absolutely add fun… to any and everything 🙂 I’m a recipe follower and I like to create my own too… 50/50!

  14. Sometimes I feel like I just need a whole week of my life dedicated to making stuff that looks delish on folks’ blogs. Just a week, that’s all I want. Maybe when the beau moves out, I’ll have some time to veg (and treat) out.

  15. Sprinkles just make things more fun! These sound amazing. I love the sneaky beans in there.

  16. Pingback: Fresh food « eathealthybehappylivewell

  17. Pingback: 7 links | Spinach and Sprinkles

  18. Pingback: Happy Monday! …& I need YOUR help! (please…) | Spinach and Sprinkles

  19. Pingback: Fro-yo(U) & P.T. Conference week | Spinach and Sprinkles

  20. Pingback: Gingerbread Protein Dough | Spinach and Sprinkles

  21. Pingback: High Protein Energy Balls « Beautiful Disasters

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

