In the dark…

I won’t leave you in the dark… there are good things at the end of this post!

… Julie is going about her morning business, then POP!!!! …. The lights go out in the house, the music stops, the computer stops charging, the news goes off the TV…. All power to the spinach and sprinkles household, GONE! 

POP, just like that, a major kink got thrown in my morning!

On a side note:…. In the future will the lightbulb above someone’s head look like this: 

Okay back to the task at hand, here are the things that I couldn’t do that I was frusterated about:

  • Make a smoothie for breakfast
  • doing three loads of laundry
  • water my garden & flowers around the house
  • seam mop my hardwood floors (all of my house!)
  • Vacuum the rugs around the house
  • BLOG!
  • Upload pictures to my account to print
  • Check e-mail
  • Work on lesson ideas and craft projects for the year
  • ….This list could go on and on….
Notice how all of these require electricity in some way, shape, or form. 
I am a pioneer girl at heart, I kid you not. I truly wish that I cold be Laura Ingalls Wilder. No joke. I used to call my dad ‘pa’ ….just to be more like Laura. I would dream about being able to walk the plains and just live off the land.
I felt guilty about moping about not having power. I am a live simple life, I’m a simple kind of girl, why do I need power? ….Oh yes, I know. Because our world today revolves around it. I don’t live in the same world as Laura….Laura had a basin to do her laundry in, a well to get her water from so that she could water the garden and do her laundry, she could sweep the floors in her house (no one else had a stem mop, it didn’t matter if her floors couldn’t be eaten off of,  there are tables for that…)
So, this is me still wishing I could have lived in Laura Ingalls Wilder time but accepting the reality that I don’t and it’s okay that I get a kink thrown in my day when the electricity is gone for hours.
I’m going to share something dark with all of you:

Dark chocolate coconut

Ice cream! …. So it’s iced milk. Same difference….

My life has been changed…. I’ll share this next time I post. (if the power stays on…)
Oh yah, we are talking, healthy too! Like REALLY HEALTHY! :O You’re welcome.

QUESTION: Do you rely on power like this girl (maybe kind of wish you didn’t)? –OR— ♦Did you ever want to live in a time other than current day? What period is it?!?!?!♦

14 responses to “In the dark…

  1. I need power — for sure – mainly because I need air conditioning! 🙂 Plus – I live on my computer — Can’t wait to see your post tomorrow – yum! P.S. i made the BEST cookies today (watch for it tomorrow) Happy Friday!

  2. Dark chocolate+coconut? Can’t wait!

  3. Oh my gosh that Dark Chocolate “ice cream” looks amazing– I hope it’s vegan!!!

    I definitely rely on power… I’m so obsessed with technology it is kind of crazy! I do love days when I’m disconnected though, it is kind of nice to focus on more natural things in life. That being said, I don’t think I could make it a day without my phone or blogs!

    – Nicole

  4. ittybitsofbalance

    Haha adorable post!
    I used to LOVE Laura Ingalls Wilder & the Little House on the Prairie books! I was just like you, always wishing I lived on that big old prairie cooking popcorn in my kettle with ma’ and pa’

    I definitely appreciate the convenience of power and what it allows me to do, but I’m usually a pretty good sport when it goes out. I usually find something awesome and productive to do in the dark 😀 How long did it take to turn back on?!

  5. You poor thing!! I hate when that happens. I do rely on power for most things, but it goes out frequently here, so I just pick up a book! If I could live in another time period, it would have to be back in the 1800’s or the 1920’s. I would love to be a flapper girl 😉

  6. I rely on power but I hate the fact that I do… I find that the more “electronified” our lives get, the more I crave getting away from it once in a while. I love just going to our summer cottage and not having tv or computer. But then again, we still have a stove that requires electricity, a fridge etc. I try to think about not having too much of a materialistic focus in life, take time-out from electronics etc. And to get close to nature at least once per week! Makes me feel more “back to the roots”…

    I always wanted to live around the “Little House…” period 🙂 Just living the simple life and the main focus being how to get food on the table, but still with some possibilities of intellectual challenges. In secret I am also quite taken by the idea of being a stay-at-home mom living on a small farm and just spend my time taking care of our future children and cooking/preserving food. But I could never give up my job for good – I love the dream though 🙂

    Great post!

  7. I HATE when the power goes out! It really makes you realize how much we depend on electricity for everything, especially entertainment!

  8. I definitely rely on power and tend to forget about all of the things that need power to run, until it goes out!

  9. How funny — I refer to our house sometimes as Little House on the Prairie because we are becoming so reliant on our garden for all of our vegetable consumption. Plus, of course, the canning of pickles I just did this week. But, when it comes down to it, I rely on electricity and would be hard-pressed without it!

    Can’t wait to learn more about the dark chocolate coconut ice cream! YUM!

  10. ive always wanted to go back in time.. possibly the 50’s or 60’s..or even earlier like the 30’s and 40’s .. not sure why..maybe just because of all the old movies ive watched haha ❤

    xoxo

  11. I feel your pain! I hate to whine about something like electricity but ours has been going off 3 times a day for a couple of hours at a time for the past 2 weeks and now it’s just getting bloody frustrating! I’m sure a few less hours a day spent staring at my laptop will have done wonders for my square eyes though! 😉

  12. I DEFINITELY have wanted to live in a different time. I’m so fascinated by the era my parents grew up on (60s/70s) but also think it would be so fun to live in the 40s and 50s.

  13. I always think about the dresses in the early 1900’s, so grand looking. It would be hotter than hades to wear them but I do love the look. Also love the 40’s and 50’s.
    I need electricity too 😦 and rely on it soooo much, but like you said we do not have the things we need to live with out electricity anymore.
    Cute post. 🙂

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

