Secret ice cream…

I’d like to introduce you all to my new best friend!

Stay with me, you’ll want to understand why I am so very in love with this bittle lottle, wait I  mean little bottle…. (What is that from?)  Anyone? Major props if you know what I’m talking about!!!

I am in love.... it's true!

I have just recently discovered that THIS is the key to anything and everything that is great in the Spinach and Sprinkles household.  I am putting it in EVERYTHING!!!

I think I need to google: “Side affects of ingesting too much Xanthan gum” …I didn’t see any warning labels on the stuff, so maybe I’m safe. Maybe?

I was sent this stuff fromSwanson Vitamins free of charge to review. It is an AWESOME site that has a lot of health items that I can’t get around here, major plus in my books. I was in heaven browsing this site and finding out that the things I can’t normally get my hands on can be SENT TO MY HOUSE! (side note: husband was gone when UPS dropped it off, small victory in my book!)

Xanthan gum is a thickening agent that has changed my life. I am using it to turn my morning Green Monsters into THICK and CREAMY green monsters…. And to make iced milk that reminds me of a milk shake. Ice cream I can feel good about!

Dark Chocolate Coconut ‘Ice Cream’

What you need is....

  • 1 cup of milk (I used skim but if you are vegan I bet almond or soy milk would work? Do you thinnk?)
  • 1 tsp of coconut extract
  • 1 tbsp  Dark Chocolate Cocoa powder
  • 1 packet of stevia
  • lots of ice, we’re talking like at least 15 cubes
  • 1/2 heaping tsp Xanthan Gum (added last)
    • Optional: frozen banana, frozen strawberries, spinach WHATEVER floats your boat, drop it in and give it a try!

I put them all in a blender and went to town. I add the Xanthan Gum last to make sure that all of my other ingredients are mixed together well enough before I add the Xanthan gum, it makes your blender work for all it’s worth! The Xanthan gum makes it *SUPER* thick and creamy! I add as much Xanthan gum as my blender can handle, which is a heaping tsp of the stuff….. When it is all blended together….  It gives off the essence of Ice Cream or a shake! SOOO good! 🙂

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream!

Seriously it is good for me too! (as long as I don’t OD on Xanthan Gum!) Only the calories from the milk,  dark chocolate powder, and Xanthan gum….  seriously we are taking around 100 calories total for over 30 oz of ice cream!!!! See, Ice Cream you can feel good about!

In this mix I added coconut shreads, chia seeds, and cocoa nibs.… All form Swanson Vitamans! They are so nice over there! 🙂 They want your honest opinion so free of charge they let you review their products; the good, the bad, and the ugly. So, this is a review of my opinions and thoughts. Nothing more, nothing less…

The topping of coconut shreds weren’t quite as sweet as I was expecting but they did give some coconut flair! The cocoa nibs were not at all what I was expecting! They are a little bitter, such a pure form of chocolate, but loved the added crunch!! The chia seeds are wonderful, as usual!

All Swanson Vitamins asks is that I share this:  1.) That you write an honest review, including both the good and the bad, in a timely manner. 2.) That you fully disclose the fact that we sent you the products for free to review. 3.) That you include links to each product and to our homepage (well help you find the right links). 4.) We also want your help in spreading the word about reviews: Are you interested in getting some free Swanson Health Products goodies to review on your own blog? Then check out the Swanson Health Blog for all the details.

Question: Where is the ‘this bittle lottle’ quote from?  –or– have you used Xanthan gum?

 

 

 

19 responses to “Secret ice cream…

  1. I haven’t used xanthan gum, but I’ve read a lot about it in the blog world! Maybe I’ll have to look into Swanson Health Products!

  2. ittybitsofbalance

    I LOVE xanthan gum! I read about it everywhere on the blog world and then finally decided to splurge and buy myself some of the magical stuff
    I haven’t regretted it since 😉

  3. I’ve heard so much about Xanthan Gum!! I want to try it so badly!!! Does it really make things super thick and creamy?

  4. I haven’t tried xanthan gum yet and since it is so expensive, I haven’t been able to shell out the cash for it!!! I definitely want to try it out though!! I just might have to contact those nice folks at Swanson 😉

  5. I haven’t used it but I want to! I’ve been so intimidated by it but oh my goodness that smoothie looks good! (and you know I love me some smoothies!)

  6. Yummm! That icecream bowl looks so tasty 🙂 Toppings always make things better too, of course. I still haven’t bought xanthan gum but I know the Shakeology I make has it already in it..Perhaps I could add more? 😉 And thank you for sharing the Swanson health products information!

  7. Hmm…I have never tried that stuff — might have to go pick some up…xoxo from Trinidad

  8. Wow! I never would have thought to make ice cream! I have heard lots about xantham gum but have never tried it…

  9. I’ve never used xantham gum, but now I’m intrigued. Chia seeds, on the other hand, are a much-loved friend 🙂

  10. I’ve heard about xantham gum!! I wanted to try but couldn’t force myself to spend the 12 dollars at the grocery! Sounds wonderful!

  11. I LOVE LUCY! How is no one else trying to guess this?? I love that show!! You should do a product review of vitameatavegamin! 🙂

  12. That is so cool! I haven’t tried it yet but I’ve seen it around the blog-world. I’m not even sure that I can get it in Denmark… But worth a try 🙂

  13. I just bought xantham gum a few weeks ago but I haven’t perfected it in my smoothie bowls yet… I think I’m not adding enough because it doesn’t always get thick enough! I’m going to try again tonight! And ohh that company sounds great! I’m going to email them 🙂

  14. I definitely have xantham gum on hand – it’s the only way to make gluten-free baking come out right! Love that stuff 🙂

  15. Gosh look at you with all these comments! You’re like a blogging superstar already!! 😀 YAY!! I’m so happy your blog has become soo successful! by the way, this xantham gum stuff..yeah I GOTTA get my hands on that! Sounds sooo good 🙂

  16. I’ve used xanthum gum in smoothies, but my most genius use of it was in pistachio instant pudding. I used almond milk, which doesn’t thicken up pudding like normal cow’s milk, but the xanthum gum helped a lot!

    – Nicole

  17. I always figured xanthum gum to be the stuff of mass food producers or mad scientists; I will have to look deeper into this thickening miracle bottle!

  18. Pingback: 7 links | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

