Life handed me lemons….

This post is a total downer and I won’t think less of you if you don’t want to read about my lemons…. But come back tomorrow, I’ll be giving you CHOCOLATE BANANA CHIA SEED BITES!   🙂 

Welp readers, I try my best to be happy all the time, not just on the blog.… but life in general….. When the husband and I got home on Saturday/Sunday, life handed us lemons.

Not just one lemon.... but a whole bowl full!

This would be the reason for no post yesterday. I was just too stressed to add another thing to the growing list that is sitting on the kitchen table.

This is the bowl of lemons:

There is a man, let’s call him Bob for the sake of the blog…. Bob is a teacher in our district and around the husband’s age (28-29ish). We are acquaintances but not really friends. Bob made a huge personal mistake this year regarding a student… We knew very little about what Bob was doing, in fact most of it was assumptions.…. but we knew that if it was happening, it wasn’t right.  And we had to let our administration know of what was going on for the best interests of everyone. The husband did what was hard and let our bosses know all that we knew so that the fault wouldn’t be on us or our district.

We tried to do the right thing in the name of the teaching profession and the kids we teach. This was months ago….

After we arrived home, the husband got the mail and there was a letter addressed to the two of us, no return address…. This letter made horrific comments about our moral character and maturity. It stated that we should resign from our positions immediately because of Bob’s mistake. The letter says that we knew of what Bob was doing and chose not tell the administration and to do nothing about it. That we condoned Bob’s actions… This letter was not signed, it was anonymous.

Newsflash: We told the administration!!! We did something about it! We did everything in our power to make sure the right thing was being done!

After I read the letter I proceeded to cry my eyes out and hyperventilate for quite some time. I am so hurt that someone is spreading things that are truly against every fiber of my being! 

Someone is HIGHLY misinformed and spreading things that are against all of my character and moral traits. I just want to scream: “I am Julie! I go to church! I eat my vegetables! I have never even littered! I  give my heart and soul to teaching kids!  …And you’re saying THIS about ME?!?” ….but because this horrific letter was anonymous, I have no one to tell this to. Someone will just be saying horrible things about me and the husband. It’s killing me…..

Our administration, superintendent, principal, and school board are *so* upset that someone is dragging our name through the mud when we tried to do the right thing. 

Question: Have you ever taken the fall for what SOMEONE ELSE has done?

16 responses to “Life handed me lemons….

  1. I’m so sorry that this happened to you. I’m sure everyone in the community knows the kind of people you and your husband are and know that any rumors being spread are not credible. Hang in there!

  2. Julie…Wow and I thought my no refrigeration problem was bad… I’m so sorry girl – I know you must feel upset, angry and most of all frustrated. You have to remember in times like this – trying times — is when you are truly tested. You know what you did – you know you did the right thing – I will keep you in my prayers! In the end, you will come out ahead – liars never get anywhere! MUCH love from Trinidad

  3. Julie, this is AWFUL! Shame on the anonymous letter-sender. That is just despicable. I am SO sorry. That is so cowardly that the person did not sign the letter. That further proves that he/she HAS NO CREDIBILITY. Clearly, they are in the wrong. Hold your head up HIGH! You and your husband did the right thing!

    Joshua 1:9 always gives me strength in times like these. I find myself going over it in my head. Maybe it will be of comfort to you both.

    “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

  4. So sorry that happened to you and husband 😦 You DID do the right thing, and the people who matter know it… this pathetic person is hiding behind a letter… you are so much better than that and proved it by being responsible and doing the right thing! I’m behind you! 🙂

  5. Kelsey @utmosthealth

    Hey Julie, I am SO sorry to hear this 😦 Unfortunately it seems in our day and age the wicked are praised and encouraged while the righteous are slandered and degraded. But we are told to “rejoice when we face trails of many kinds for the testing of our faith produces endurance and hope!” Also: Psalms 31:18: Let the lying lips be put to silence; which speak grievous things proudly and contemptuously against the righteous. Psalms 34:19: Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the LORD delivereth him out of them all. Proverbs 10:32: The lips of the righteous know what is acceptable: but the mouth of the wicked speaketh frowardness.

    Take heart and as hard as it is try and learn and grow from this. You did the right thing and God will restore you and your husbands names!

  6. That is awful that you and your husband had to be put through that! I really hope ‘Bob’ gets what he deserves and that people realize that you all did the right thing. Unfortunately there are some people in this world who want to find things wrong with people, even if they have to make it up!

    My heart and prayers are with you all as you start back up with the school year!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m so sorry, Julie 😦 I know that the hurtful words of others can be very discouraging sometimes and can make your mistakes seem 10 times worse than they originally seemed. However, you need to remember that this is just the enemy trying to bring you down. Keep your head up! If you know that you did the right thing, then that is all that matters. ❤

  8. Oh i just feel for you, this plain sucks
    I know its hard to remember but you DID the right thing and eventually the misguided person that wrote you that letter WILL find this out
    Its just really unfair you have to feel awful about this in the mean time
    Whenever i’m having a hard time i always remember the saying “This too shall pass”, it sounds silly but its true!
    Sending smiles your way

  9. Hi there, first time here at your blog and really felt the need to post a comment on this post.

    I’m a teacher also although I’m currently on sabbatical indefinitely…

    It is absolutely horrible that someone would send you an anonymous letter saying such horrible and untrue things.

    As a fellow teacher, I understand that as teachers our “moral bar” is held WAY higher than the rest of society. You did the right thing by informing the administration of your suspicions. I would have done the same.

    Although difficult, I think you have to try and ignore or overlook that letter. It is not true and accuses you of something you did not do. You did all you could do by reporting the situation. You know you did the right thing and that is all that matters!

  10. That is unbelievable, I am so sorry that happened to you! How frustrating that you made the decision to do the right thing, only to have people assume otherwise. I really hope that it all blows over. I’m sure the people that matter know you well enough to know that you did the right thing and will back you up 100%.

  11. Not a happy way to start the school year, Im sorry. 😦 Hang in there and trust that God will guide you through this.

  12. Ughh I’m so sorry to hear you have to go through that 😦

  13. Julie, ohmygosh, I’m so sorry to hear this!! Don’t listen to that letter at all, you did what was right!! You did nothing wrong at all. Hope everything gets better for you!! 😀

  14. I’m so sorry someone would do that. At least YOU know you did the right thing, and while it hurts that someone doesn’t understand, you know you aren’t to blame. It’s sad to read about you feeling down and out, ’cause I feel like your posts and your attitude are so positive, and I love that about your blog! Makes me even more bummed that someone would do something to change that. I know you’re a lovely lady, and everyone who matters will know that too!

  15. My goodness!!! What a bunch of ridiculousness. I can’t believe someone would really do that. I HATE it when people do stuff like that and don’t have the nerve to say anything like that to your face..or even CALL you. It’s very immature. It doesn’t sound like whoever this person is that sent you that letter is really changing the school’s impression of you, so just try to think about how there are soooo many more people that love you and know you’re a good person..so that goofball who sent that letter is just one tiny stitch in the quilt.

  16. Julie, how terrible!!! I obviously only “know” you from peeking at your life through your blog but your kind spirit, joyfulness and faith are already apparent to me and I can’t believe someone would do something like that!! You will rise above though – sending prayers and patience your way!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

