5 years…..

Five years ago a girl walked into a bar. She met a boy. She thought she’d rock his world and show him he wasn’t the center of anyone’s world—-certainly not mine.

One of his friends, who is a great friend of mine, explained a guy that was a friend of his. It was the husband. He had a reputation of being a ladies man.

My exact words: “Watch me play a player…”

And so I did……

Funny thing is….. I think we both got played.

We never really expected to fall for each other …..and actually spent the better part of two years trying to figure out why we couldn’t get enough of each other even though we drove each other mad at times.

The heart wants what the heart wants. It knows better than the head.

I’m so glad that we listened to our hearts.

I’m a better woman because of his unconditional love and am thankful for our unexpected love for eachother. I love that he isn’t perfect, he’s perfect for ME. Same goes with this girl. It amazes me daily how we are for eachother. End of story……. Beginning of a lifetime! ♥

Question: Follower of the head or the heart? Have you ever been in an unexpected relationship?

19 responses to “5 years…..

  1. What a beautiful picture! I hope you framed that one 🙂

    I used to follow my head and then a few months ago I figured out that God speaks to us through our hearts, and that’s always the way to go!

  2. this is sooo sweet!!! You guys are so cute together 🙂 I definitely follow my heart not my head!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    SUCH a beautiful post, Julie! You are truly blessed to have such a wonderful man in your life and a love so pure and beautiful. 🙂

  4. aww so cute!!! 🙂

  5. I follow my heart all the way! Such a sweet post 🙂

  6. Such a cute post!! I think it’s important to follow your heart sometimes! I was not ever expecting to meet and fall for the guy who I’m in a relationship with now (we’ve been together for almost 4 years now!).

  7. Very nice post and love the picture of you two. It shines happiness! I follow with my heart for sure!

  8. I loved this post! Love always comes when you least expect it.

  9. How adorable!? You two are meant to be! I love stories like that! I never ever expected to get married right out of college, but when you find the one, the rules fly out the window!

  10. Aw, I love this post!

    I guess my relationship with my husband would have been considered “unexpected.” I always thought he was so cute growing up (we went to the same church) & now, we’re married!

  11. Congrats on 5 years! That’s so awesome! I wish you both many more years of happiness 🙂

  12. So sweet, and congrats on the years together! I ended up in an unexpected relationship, and although it only lasted a year, I still remember it as the easiest relationship ever. There’s something to be said for low expectation, haha 😀

  13. Ahh I love learning about people’s love stories!! That’s great to hear that sometimes those unexpected relationships can turn into a committed, loving marriage! I try and follow my heart but find that sometimes I’m too “in my head” to really let my heart rule.

  14. That’s so cute! Love it 🙂 I’m definitely a follower of my heart over my head, although I’ve tried to learn to balance the two.

  15. My whole relationship with my hubby (together for 7.5, married for almost 4.5) was unexpected and unwanted (by me). I was in no way, shape or form looking for a relationship and basically tried to sabatoge ours so that it wouldn’t work, but ended up falling more and more in love with him every day.

    It’s like the song says: “Life has a way, when you try and arrange it, of making a fool, of the best laid plans”.

  16. Aw cute post! You too are adorable! I think with my heart most of the time, so I know exactlyyy where you are coming from. 🙂 I never expected to be where I am today either, but life is so much better like this!

  17. Soooo cute!! I love happy endings 🙂 I’m back with my high school BF after 10 years of no contact so I am all for unexpected love stories

  18. So so cute! Whenever I follow my head I always seem to end up in the wrong place…I’m going to start following my heart instead! 🙂

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

