The story of the refrigerator

So, the husband and I have a refrigerator that is old. For real….. it’s old.

Not the cool retro kind of old. Just like…. old.

Not cool like this....

I don’t mind the thing. It keeps my food cool and my frozen items frozen…. Until now. Last Tuesday it started to sound a little ‘off’. I didn’t think a whole lot about it because it has sounded ‘off’ before. So, I went on with my life. 

I figured that is was just acting weird and would take itsself out of the funk it was in. It has done that before. Been weird for a few days and then it would be okay…. A few days after the ‘off’ sound started, I realized that my food was not as cold as it should be, uh oh. This isn’t good. It was still running and things but it wasn’t doing its job and it was obvious. Saturday morning rolled around and there was no mistaking that……. IT. WAS.  DUNZO!!!!

No, this isn't the inside of my fridge.... there would be more milk, carrots, and random items. Plus, that is A LOT of condiments! Holy bottles!!!

The items in the freezer were no longer frozen and all of the food in the fridge had gone bad. Bummer…… TONS of money down the drain. Not so much in the loss of our beloved old friend,the ugly refrigerator but all the food and condements inside. Especially with milk being $4.25 a gallon and we had 3 gallons in there. ( the husband is a milk drinking fool!!!)

On the bright side, all this smelly mess meant one thing….. Applince shopping!!

We went shopping yesterday to buy our first appliance purchase as a married couple. It was so much fun picking out what I wanted and trying to figure out what is best for the Spinach and Sprinkles household.  Here is the badboy we decided upon…. It looks like it had the potential to hold the most milk. 🙂

Pretty isn't it!

So the husband is going to pick it up while I’m away tomorrow night and I am excited to pack it full of things. BUT, I am totally bummed to pay the grocery bill to fill it again since everything that was in our old refrigerator & freezer had to be thrown away.

QUESTION: What should I pack this badboy full of?!

16 responses to “The story of the refrigerator

  1. Sorry about the loss of all the food, but your new fridge is awesome! Love it. There’s always a blessing on every disaster, right? 🙂

  2. Ahhh I’m sorry you lost all that food! But hello new fridge! I looove it!

  3. Ah that stinks that you lost all that food, but the new fridge looks awesome!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw 😦 I’m sorry you lost food. Wasting food is one of my least favorite things because I always think of the starving babies across the world 😦 But hey, at least you got a beautiful new fridge!

  5. Ohhh, pretty new fridge! It’s funny what I get excited about now. 🙂 Sorry for the total food loss.

  6. Wow….you know I can relate to this story! Remember when we lost our giant grocery haul? On the HUGE plus side – great fridge girl – SO pretty! Hmm….i would remember to fill it with the basics – fruit, veg, milk, butter, cheese, condiments. It stinks to have to start over but it will be so worth it…
    xoxo from Houston, this week!

  7. I love the freezer in the bottom! I am so jealous! I would have totally tried to find an orange one like that picture. My fridge looks more like that middle one. I am the condiment queen.

  8. Fruit, yogurt, lettuce, hummus, veggies, milk!!! Those things are ALWAYS in my fridge 🙂 I LOVE having a fresh new clean fridge, it’s so exciting!! Haha (things only us food bloggers would say…)

  9. Sorry about your food. That is a total bummer! Love the new fridge though. Super pretty. I think you should stock the freezer full of ice cream! 😉

  10. That really stinks! But getting a new fridge is very exciting!!!! I remember when my honey and I picked ours out. I still admire it every once in awhile 🙂

    I’d say stuff it full of lots of farmer’s market veggies, nuts, seeds and lots of SPRINKLES 😉

  11. That is the WORST! In one of our moves we gave away all of our condiments and BOY are they expensive to replace!

    I always make sure to have lots of frozen veggies and onions in the freezer for soups. In the fridge I always keep pickles, ketchup, mustard, soy sauce, salad dressing, and jam.

  12. Oh no that’s no fun! But love the new fridge 🙂 I love having a ton of pre-chopped veggies in the fridge to toss together for fun salad lunches during the week!

  13. aww what a bummer that the old guy had to kick it :/ at least you got a shiny brand new one!!! Looks awesome, that stuff seems so exciting to get new!! 😀 BTW check out my blog post that will be coming in the next day or so, you’re in it!!

  14. Wasting food stinks, but the idea of fun new kitchen toys is awesome! The fridge that comes with my apartment is pretty old and sad too, but at least it’s still hanging in there and doing its job 😦 I think you should try a new dessert and make that the first thing to go into the new baby!

  15. Having to make a big purchase unexpectedly is never fun. But your new fridge is beautiful! LoL the sounds your old fridge was making sound similar to mine. I secretly hope a new beautiful fridge like yours is in my near future! 🙂

  16. Ugh having a refrigerator break down is so annoying! That happened to me a couple months ago and it was horrible having everything go bad! But yay for the new appliance!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

