Homemade Pumpkin Butter

There was this one time, I moved to New York and lived 20 minutes away from a Trader Joe’s. I remember the first time I dipped my spoon into that pumpkin butter. It was love at first bite!

Seriously, Love at first bite. Not kidding.

Well, I moved back to Kansas and couldn’t get my paws on the stuff. I thought it was going to be the end of me. For real, I was going to have pervious students ship the stuff to me. It was an addiction.

You’ll all be glad to know that I overcame Pumpkin Butter addiction when I went through detox. I had to go through detox when I moved back to the midwest, I wouldn’t have gone willingly. Family and friends would have had to have an intervention.

 So, after detox. I could slowly introduce the stuff back into my diet. But, I had to improvise and make the stuff on my own. SO…… make it on my own I did.

Homemade Pumpkin Butter

Waiting to be filled to the brim!

♥Homemade Pumpkin Butter♥

What you’ll need:

  • 1 (29 ounce) can pumpkin puree, approx. 3 1/2 cups or fresh
  • 3/4 cup apple juice + splash of pineapple juice (the splash is optional, I just wanted to add it to add a twist from last time I made it…)
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1.5  tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp of Xanthan Gum (optional, I liked that it made it thicker!)
  • Juice of half a lemon

Directions:

1. Combine pumpkin, apple juice, spices, xanthan gum, and sugar in a large saucepan and stir well. Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered with lid ajar, for 35-45 minutes, stirring frequently.  BE CAREFUL! THIS BABY WILL POP AND SPLATTER. OUCH! Long sleeves and *cute* apron recommended! 

2. Remove from heat. Adjust spices to taste. Stir in lemon juice (I’m using lime juice next time!). Once cool, pumpkin butter can be kept in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 3 weeks. Makes enough to fill one large mason jar or about 3.5 cups.

Homemade Pumpkin Butter

Homemade Pumpkin Butter in all its glory!

QUESTION: Any other pumpkin butter lovers out there? -OR- What food would you need an intervention on?

15 responses to “Homemade Pumpkin Butter

  1. I’ve never had Trader Joes pumpkin butter but I listened to my friend rave about it for 15 minutes straight yesterday. She said she puts it in her yogurt and it’s amazing. Now I feel like I’m missing out so I’m definitely trying this recipe, thanks for sharing!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I pinned this recipe on my Pinterest board 🙂 TOTALLY making this in the future!! thanks Julie!

    Question though: Why did you say you’re switching to lime juice next time?

  3. Ohh this homemade pumpkin butter looks great! I actually just bought some pumpkin butter from TJs and am not sure what to do with it! What do you use it on?

  4. Such a great idea! I haven’t actually tried to TJs stuff because my bf won’t let me buy stuff he thinks I won’t finish eating. I might have to ignore him on this one and give it a try, but I’ll bet your homemade one is even better 🙂

  5. Oo yes to this idea! I live right near a TJs and haven’t tried the pumpkin butter…what the heck haha
    Now instead I shall make my own!

  6. Oh my goshhh thank you for posting this. Genius!! I will totally be making this. I wiish I lived near a trader joes!

  7. I love all fruit butters pretty much! Pumpkin butter might be my fave because it’s so easy to make homemade. Love it!

  8. I would have to say that family might have to intervene if I ever find cashews at a decent price again! Cashew butter is out of this world 🙂

  9. What a SUPER fun recipe!!! Love that you almost had it shipped 😉

    I am definitely an egg white & veggie addict. Yep – mine would be an omelette intervention – but I’m hoping I never go anywhere I can’t find my favorite veggies & some egg whites, so I am thinking that intervention better never happen … or else … 😉

  10. Yum this looks awesome! I’ve never had pumpkin butter, so I might have to try this soon!

  11. I’ve never tried pumpkin butter and I keep meaning to make it but so far it hasn’t happened. Might have to just go buy it from trader joe’s.

  12. I’m in HEAVEN over here girl!!! Seriously, I have to make this and I have to make it now!! Why oh why is pumpkin butter so delish??

    xxoo

  13. Ooooh! Ive never had this and Ive been wondering what it is!!! Truth is you can barely get pumpkin tins over here so making this might be quite a procession… sounds like it could be worth it though!!

  14. Pingback: How the heck do I use pumpkin butter? | Spinach and Sprinkles

  15. Pingback: Get-R-Done! | Spinach and Sprinkles

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

