Learning and Working and Being Nice

I have shared my rules to live by and my rules for the classroom. I thought that was all I would need. Well, this should go down in the record books people. For the first time ever 😉  I was wrong. Take a look at the two additions that will be added to my classroom wall!

These are two basic principles that many people, both big and small people, take for granted. The value of hard work is starting to shift but I feel you can never know the value of anything until you have truly known hard work. I am a farm girl. I have been put through the mill during the summers picking up irrigation pipe in 115* heat while being eaten alive by mosquitoes that are the size of wasps and helped pull a baby calf at 2:00 am in the middle of a huge snowstorm. However, I can’t lie, I wonder if I truly know hard work. My grandmother, she knew hard work.……. I don’t know if anyone from our generation knows that kind of hard work. I’m not trying to be controversial. I just think we owe a lot to the generations that have come before us that know a different kind of hard work. Hard work should not be underestimated. 

The second part of this- be nice to people. I love the simplicity of that statement. BE NICE TO PEOPLE. This is such an amazing statement. Do it. 🙂 Your life will be better. The world will be better. 

Being a teacher and all, this is perfect. I smiled when I saw this sign because it is so true. Again, we sometimes think that this is purely for children in the classroom but I think we need to look at it on the larger scale. The world is a classroom and all of us are the students of the world. Our job is to learn and even as adults we need to pay attention to the things that tare to be learned. Big and small.

Have a wonderful day! Remember: work hard, be nice, and pay attention. (oh yah, and please eat your vegetables 😉  I had to throw that one in there.)

8 responses to “Learning and Working and Being Nice

  1. Hmmm I think my students need a reminder about the “pay attention” part! 🙂

  2. I LOVE this! I totally have to work on the whole being nice thing when it comes to marriage. I have a tendency to go from nice to grouchy REALLY quickly! I am working on that…. 🙂

  3. This is so cute and so true at the same time! I agree, older generations know hard work in a different way than we do. It’s great to remember that as it really makes us respect our elders! Hope your week is going great!

  4. Those are so good. Such good reminders! It’s not always easy to be nice and work hard, but it’s so worth it. I’m so glad you’re a teacher! 🙂

  5. Great post girl. I try to learn something new everyday. AND glad you added eat your veggies!!! 🙂 I bet you are just “the best” teacher!
    Have a good day.
    xoxo from Trinidad

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    It’s amazing that “be nice to people” is such a simple statement, but yet SO many people don’t do it!

    I love your little cute rainbow reminders 🙂

  7. I like that, though I don’t know what class would have an easy time with the “pay attention” part. Especially for younger kids. Imaginations are so much more interesting than school, unfortunately. But those are awesome reminders. I like how colorful they are.

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

