I swear, if these pants get any tighter…..

I spent all day in dress clothes working with my lovely children at school.

This is what a typical day in the classroom of Mrs. H will look like. Dress pants, colorful shirt, and a sweater or jacket of some sort— with some cute shoes!

source

I love my pretty clothes that I wear to work. However, five days a week from 6:00 to about 6:00 is just too long in dress clothes that are restrictive and heels. I don’t get to sit much during the day, I spend most of the day weaving my way in and out of desks, walking the halls, and walking during recess; which have been *freezing* Β if you were wondering. I also bend over and squat about 100 times a day- these work clothes are VERY restrictive. Lately, they have been feeling even more restrictive and I found myself saying about a million times today, “I swear, if these pants get any tighter….”

I love my job, truly I do but I have a secret dream. A secret wish if you will. (okay, sometimes, it’s not so secret) Β I wish that I could wear clothes that would let me move. I want to go to work and wear things like this…

I need this! It is so goshdarn cute! πŸ™‚

Source

LOVE these pants! So comfortable!

source

These shoes make a day on your feet a good thing!

source

Heck, I would even take getting to wear even one of these to work! Not alone, but with the rest of my work clothes. I think the whole work environment would be a much more pleasant place if people were allowed to wear clothes that fit them and moved with them. Β I have to say though, I am not the boss and I will be in the dress clothes for two more days this week being Mrs. H in heels.

I have a feeling that I will be saying again tomorrow:

“I swear, if these pants get any tighter……..

I swear, if these pants get any tighter……

I swear, if these pants get any tighter…………….I’m going to buy new pants!”

HA- the joke is on those tight pants, I already ordered new pants πŸ™‚ So long tight pants, I’m going to use you another day.

QUESTION: What is your work dress code?

25 responses to “I swear, if these pants get any tighter…..

  1. Okay just today I told our gym teacher “I am so envious of you that you get to wear sweats to work EVERY day!”

  2. Being a gym teacher would be perfect. I could not wear all of that all the time. I think I would die.

  3. Sounds like being a teacher is like an all-day workout!! Have you seen those pajama jean things on commercials on tv? Maybe not..but you should totally look them up on youtube. This reminded me of them for some reason, they are TOO funny!

  4. You dress so cute! πŸ™‚ I just started teaching this semester, and our dresscode is professional, but we typically aren’t as dressed up as your photo. On a regular day I wear ballet flats or tennis shoes, khakis or black pants, and a cute blouse. I know the tennis shoes are awful and a fashion no-no,….and typically I care…but like you said–it’s a job of always running around and standing. Sometimes my little feet need a break! :p I hope some of my cute (comfy) dresses make up for it!

  5. I totally sympathize – although I’m not on my feet all day, my office is “business,” not “business casual” so I always have to wear a blazer and tights/skirt or pants. I am praying for a day when we can have casual Fridays…even business casual Fridays, I’ll take ’em!

  6. I USUALLY have to dress up, but this week & next week our school is having two different spirit weeks — this week is for a pep rally & next week is for our Relay for Life event. Spirit week = teachers wear jeans for $5! Woohoo, 2 weeks of jeans!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aww I’m sorry Julie! Maybe you should get dress pants with a spandex waistline. Then you’d have everybody fooled πŸ˜€

  8. I am lucky that my work dress code is quite casual. I work at a refinery so half of the people are in work jump suits every day. Although I sit in an office, sometimes I wear my jumpsuit over my pajamas:)

  9. I worked with a teacher last year who wore nikes and nice work out gear every day. She wasn’t a p.e. teacher either. I asked it about it once and she said she couldn’t teach if she wasn’t comfortable. But I worked at a VERY casual school. My school this year is a tad more dressy, kind of business casual I suppose. My favorite thing to wear is leggings or tights with a dress, cardigan and flat boots. I even own a few pairs of fleece lined leggings, which are AMAZING! Comfort is key for me πŸ™‚

  10. Now dress code as a stay at home modem…but would you believe that I actually miss having to dress up for work? I do!

  11. Umm…that shoulD say “mom” not. “modem”! πŸ™‚

  12. I have to be semi-dressy at work; no jeans or tank tops or anything, but I try to at least be comfortable with flat shoes and shirts. It’s hard to dress comfortable when you have a strict dress code!

  13. I’m a teacher too, but my school has, in all honesty, NO dress code. It’s good and bad. I usually wear leggings, skirts, boots, jeans once a week, dress pants occasionally…always comfortable shoes (it’s Alaska). And, I can’t lie, the Uggs make an appearance at least once a week. And I’m one of the “fancier” dressers. Let’s not imagine how everyone else dresses…hoodies and Crocs are not abnormal in my building..

  14. Right now I am a full-time online faculty member which means I can literally wear my PJs 24 hours a day. While I love comfy clothes, I kind of miss cute work clothes (and the excuse to buy adorable sweater sets!). When I am not teaching, I am playing with the two adorable toddlers I nanny and wearing VERY comfortable clothes! Toddlers have no appreciation for Ann Taylor Loft. πŸ™‚

  15. I sometimes miss dressing up, my closet is rather lacking in the dress up clothes…Im pretty much running shorts, or pants and a tank top.
    I do however have several too tight pants that are still hanging up in my closet, someday, maybe they will be worn again, but i’m not holding my breath.

  16. My office is pretty casual – I can wear jeans and it’s really, really nice.

  17. I wear dress clothes to work too but I spend most of my day at my desk so it’s not too bad- I imagine bending like a teacher does would be hard in dressed up clothes! I’m not sure how tight you like your pants but Gap’s Really Skinny dress pants are my favorite thing ever- they are so super comfortable and look great with boots, heels or flats! I highly recommend them! Also, LOFT has a line of SCUBA pants and skirts that are super comfy too!

  18. I am going to school to become a nurse and that is one thing I am very happy about, getting to wear scrubs every day! πŸ™‚ ha Sometimes I do wish I could wear fun grown up looking dress clothes, but you have now made me feel other wise! ha

  19. I remember being so excited when I first started working and was able to play dress up everyday. That excitement quickly faded, though, as it became more of a chore to get dressed and wear heels all day long. At my current job, it’s very casual so I wear jeans to work every single day. I wouldn’t mind being able to wear workout clothes, though!

  20. i know what you are saying…i mean – i hated getting dressed up for work. I think you would rather have people comfy so they can move and be productive…but hey – some companies in Houston still require women to wear pantyhose!!!!! can u believe that???

    xoxo from Houston

  21. There is a teacher at my school that teaches 3 classes of dance and 2 of math and definitely has the okay to dress like a dance teacher all day long. I’m so jealous! I live in skirts and flats when it’s warm enough, but am lucky to work in a district that doesn’t look down on jeans most days.

  22. I’m an ESL kindergarten teacher in Seoul, SK, and our dress code is incredibly lenient. Sometimes I dress-up, but most of the time…jeans and running shoes!!! You, clearly, are super-teacher with being around kiddos all day and dressed to the nines :).

  23. Those clothes you posted above that you wish you could wear? That is my dress code every day. I teach middle school phys ed/health so it’s completely acceptable πŸ™‚ I will say this though, there are many days that I just want to wear a suit or dress to work so I can at least feel professional!

  24. I love this post because this is exactly how I feel! I am currently a nanny and love that I get to wear my Nike’s/Champion workout pants (the same ones you have pictured:) I’m going to become a teacher pretty soon here and am already dreading the dress code:)

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

