The swaps….

I’ve had to make a few swaps in my life as of late. Some of the swaps have been hard while others have been okay. I am just sharing a few of the changes that have been gracing my life for the past three months or so…

Instead of coffee….

I swapped to tea….Β 

…source…

Coffee and I are best buddies. (I think it’s a teacher thing.) It was suggested that I let it go, not mandated, so I decided I should cut back. The moment I decided to cut back, I started getting sick on 1/4 of a cup. So, I have been getting my daily warmth from a cup of tea for a few months now. I’m surprised I am still alive- and I’m proud to report—- so are all of my students!!!! πŸ™‚ I really miss the jolt I got from coffee but I know it will all be worth it in the end.

Instead of running:

…source…

I swapped to walking.

…source…

This one was not suggested, it was mandated. I was told I could run- as long as I kept my heart rate under 140- I CAN NOT DO THAT! My heart rate jumps super Β high even when I jog or power walk. I am HATING this change. I can’t even jog 100 and walk 200. It is killing me- I’ve never been a so called runner but I’ve always used it as a tool to stay active. I don’t like that the tool is gone. I will have to do a full post on this sometime soon because I’m needing feedback and ideas….. I will get over it- again, it is well worth it!

Instead of a 10:00’ish bedtime.

…source…

I am swapping to an 8:15 or sunset bedtime.

…source…

This swap has been mandated by my body. I seriously have no control over this. I start fighting bed at about 7:30 and by 8:15 or 8:30 I am passed out on the couch. I only wish this were an exaggeration, it is not. I had to start waking up later too because my body was requiring sleep like it was it’s primary job. I’m just going to go with it. The husband does a good job of picking my bum off the couch and taking it to bed about 10:00. Bless him.

Also, sorry for being such a grump yesterday- I’m all better today πŸ™‚ The sun came up and I am blessed! I know this- yesterday was just an off day. Thanks for not judging and just letting me be grumpy pants.

Question: Have you had to make any changes as of late?

24 responses to “The swaps….

  1. I think I would literally d.i.e. without coffee haha! Good for you though πŸ˜€

  2. I am addicted to coffee! I need to cut back but I just love it. I have cut back on my running because of a bum knee, but I plan to pick it back up soon.

  3. I have recently cut back on running a lot; not because I was told to but basically to keep my sanity! I’ve got so much going on right now, I feel that if I can get in at least 2 runs during the week them I’m doing OK. It’s hard because I feel like I’m neglecting myself, but I know that if I stress about it too much I will just end of beating myself up.

    I praise you for your ability to give up coffee; it’s good to hear your still alive πŸ™‚

  4. Hahahaha…glad the kids are still alive! πŸ˜‰

  5. I haven’t HAD to cut back on anything, but I’m cutting back on sweets for Lent! I admire your strenght in cutting back on coffee!

  6. I’m cutting way, way back on sweets, or really anything that is overly processed and unhealthy. Kind of going for a more whole foods & vegan diet. And it’s really hard, especially being in a household that isn’t following the same regimen. But I’m plugging away.
    I also have cut back on coffee. I used to have one mostly every day, but now I drink tea instead. I never needed or used coffee for the caffeine benefit – it would literally not affect me in any way. I could have it or not have it and I would be exactly the same, so I wasn’t addicted. Obviously, the switch wasn’t as difficult for me. I still go to Starbucks every now and then, though!

  7. I have really reduced my running in an attempt to put on a little weight, and it was tough at first but I’ve been so busy at work that it ended up working out. Hopefully it will get better for you!!!

  8. I want to cut out coffee, switch to tea. I used to be able to drink so much, but as of recently my stomach can just not handle it the way it used to. I think you just gave me the motivation to do so. I never thought I could make it through a morning without killing anyone without my morning joe, but maybe I can…ha

  9. Im cutting out alcohol…..for the next 40 days…that will be tough…
    xoxo from Trinidad

  10. I’m off coffee too – no fun! That is probably why your bedtime is so much earlier πŸ˜‰

  11. I recently gave up my two a day workouts and am not regretting it one bit!

  12. I had to make the running swap as well…only I swapped running for cycling. I miss running, but my body has responded so well to this and is doing it’s normal thing again. Wonder if you could ask to ride a spin bike or something. It’ll give you something close to a runners high but is much easier on the body I think.

  13. I’m just catching up on all your post. I have had to rest again!
    Have you tried teeccino in place of coffee? It’s an “herbal” coffee. I have been drinking that instead. No caffine.

    Hang in there!!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

