Sharing the news with true friends!

I have a set of best friends that I couldn’t wait to share my BIG news with. These best friends see me at my worst, they see me at my best and they are forced to love me anyways. I spend hours upon hours with them; 8’ish hours five days a week. We laugh, we sometimes cry, we pull LOTS of silly pranks and jokes, we learn, we love, and we grow together. We learn about life, the world around us, how to be kind, how to give to others before ourselves, and countless other things. We truly are friends and care deeply for eachother. I’m lucky to have such great friends…..

This is so true! We are FULL of silly days!

…source…

My best friends are about nine years old- the whole lot of them.

I was excited to share my news with them- and extremely scared. I wanted everything to be as safe as possible before I involved their hearts because they truly do care about me. (even though a few of them would rather have their teeth pulled than admit that they love them some Mrs. H; it’s part of their prankster nature & the fact that they are 9 year old boys… side note *over* 3/4 of my class are boys!)

I told them on Monday. We do morning work EVERY morning, without fail. I threw a kink into our morning work and gave them a welcome back puzzle.

Mr. & Mrs. H are going to have a baby!!!

At 19 weeks- I shared the news with my best friends via morning work. They were so intent on getting the puzzle complete so they could get on with their daily tasks that it didn’t sink in until they read the entire message. On of my favorite reactions was “Wooooow.” Throwing his hands up in the air and a look of SHOCK and joy spreading all over his face. “Seriously? Woooow. Seriously!” Then looking at everyone else in the table group to see if they were done— it was killing him to keep the joy to himself but I told them not to ruin the puzzle for anyone else and just wait for the rest of the class to finish. It was the cutest moment ever! 🙂

I heard a lot of ‘NO WAYYYYY’ , saw a lot of giddy little smiles, boys blushing, pure excitment while waiting for everyone else to finish their puzzle. It was a fun way to share our news. It was also exciting for about 9 of them because Mr. H was their PE teacher in Kindergarten & 1st grade (before there was a Mrs. H)– he is also the football coach and has a whole lot to do with some of these kids. So, they weren’t just excited for Mrs. H but the fact that we will add to our family. Mr. & Mrs. H are going to be a dad & mom!

Then after lunch, we celebrated with cookies!

Boy or girl sugar cookies

Celebratory cookies!

They *all* asked what I put in them to make them healthy. The little stinkers know me so well! But, sugar cookies are sugar cookies and I am THE BOMB at making them- not to toot my own horn or anything. But, they are seriously nothing to shake a stick at….. nothing healthy about these sweet treats. But, we were totally celebrating!

Then later in the day, I shared our news with the rest of the staff with a poem and more pink & blue sugar cookies. My poem went a little something like this….

We are almost 1/2 way there…. So we thought we’d share….. Mr. H & I will no longer be just a pair…… Because, baby love is in the air!

They were all shocked- the ones who hadn’t caught wind from my 3rd graders- who were telling anyone or anything willing to listen or that would stand still enough for them to get out the news that their teacher had a baby in her tummy!!!

pink & blue sugar cookies

Pink? ....... Blue?.......
Blue?..... Pink?......

Question: Are there any treats that are just “treats” and you don’t mess with to make healthy?

15 responses to “Sharing the news with true friends!

  1. fitandfuninthird

    This is so sweet!! I can only imagine how exciting that was for them! You know that you and your growing family were the talk of the dinner table that night! 🙂

  2. What a cute way to tell your kids!

  3. Awwww this is so sweet! What a fun way to share the news. 🙂

  4. I don’t mess with chocoalte icing. Its full on butter and sugar. I don’t think anything healthy would stand up to it!
    9 year olds are such a great age to teach. I substitute taught right after I graduated college for 3rd and 4th graders. They were old enough to be self sufficent but young enough to still be sweet and like their teachers. So cute!

  5. Oh my gosh…how cute! I love that you shared the news in such creative ways! I’m so happy for you!! xoxo

  6. Those are such cute and creative ways to announce your pregnancy! I would never be able to think of something like that. I’d just go, “hey, I’m having a baby.” Hooray for being almost 1/2 way!
    I have to make everything healthy otherwise I get sick. I have to remove the butter and eggs at least.

  7. ittybitsofbalance

    So sweet! You’re so creative with the announcement process! I would’ve probably had the same reaction as that little boy 😉

  8. This is so cute! I’m sure the kids were so excited!!! My high schoolers used to ask me at the beginning of the year if I was going to get pregnant any time soon, but only because they wanted a substitute! 😉

  9. That is really awesome!! I love it. ANd the cookies are the perfect celebration!!!

  10. Omigosh- what a great way to tell your kids and the adult!! How precious that the kids were all so excited too! That must have really made you feel so special! And ooh you’ll have to post that recipe! I’m all for making most things healthy but there are some things like my Grandma’s German Chocolate cake or chicken and dumplings that have no place in being healthy! Sometimes you just do not mess with amazing recipes!

  11. This is one of the cutests post ever! I love how you created the puzzle! =D It’s great that you and your hubby have a supportive community!

  12. Aww! That is so adorable! Your class sounds like they truly love you as a teacher, it’s so awesome to hear how excited they were 🙂 These cookies sound incredible, and look ah-mazing. droooool

  13. thehinzadventures

    Awe…you are SO stinkin cute….a word puzzle??? I love you girl – that is probably the cutest way to spread the news ever… LOVE it. I am so so so excited for you!!!

    xoxo from Michigan

  14. HOW DID I MISS THIS POST?!?!?!?!? That is so stinking adorable! I am so happy for you!!!! The puzzle idea was BRILLIANT!!!

  15. Pingback: Week 16 |

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

