Delightful Sugar Cookies

Easter Spring Sugar cookies

Aren’t these cookies just *the* cutest! They encompass Easter & spring so much that I could just run outside, find fresh flowers to smell, bask in the sunshine, and lay in the grass finding animals and shapes in the clouds while daydreaming!

Enough about the joys of Easter & spring. On to the cookies! …..I am pretty darn good in the sugar cookie department. Tis true, tis true. A few of you commented on how you’d like to see my recipe; so I decided I’d share. That, and the fact that I don’t like searching for the cookbook, which I usually misplace, that has the beloved recipe in it.  Now, I’ll know EXACTLY where to find it! 🙂

I’m usually not one to toot my own horn but…. Toot! Toot! …… My sugar cookies are THE BOMB! 

 …source…

 Sugar Cookies

via an old church/community cookbook that I copied when I was 17 and living under my mom & dad’s roof. 🙂

  • 2 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 c. oleo/ shortening (Blue Bonnet Light)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 c. sour cream (I always use fat free and they turn out great)
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 5 c. flour (depending on the weather more or less- usually more though) (See *note, please)

Cream together sugar, eggs, vanilla, & oleo…. Stir in sour cream. Sift dry ingredients in separate bowl. Slowly, add sifted dry ingredients: baking soda, cream of tartar, baking powder, & flour. Work all ingredients into a dough that can be rolled. Roll out, cut, and bake.  •Bake at 350° for about 5-7 mins; depending on thickness. (I like a SUPER thick cookie and they take about 8-10 minutes to bake)

*Note: I have used whole wheat flour before and they are just as delicious, I promise! They will need just an extra splash of wet or a tad less flour. They are a delicious texture! Pinky promise! ♥

pink & blue sugar cookies

The batch of cookies to share the baby news! They kids thought they were delicious!

Yummy Frosting

via my sister who probably got it from my mom who probably got it from her mom…. ect 🙂

  • 2 c. crisco
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp flavoring (vanilla, almond, small drop of peppermint for a kick- we’re talking really small drop.)
  • 2 bags of powdered sugar

Mix. Color. Taste. Decorate!

Easter sugar cookies

Question: What are YOU the bomb at making? Go on—Toot your own horn! I want to hear it!

13 responses to “Delightful Sugar Cookies

  1. These are so cute! And they do look delicious! I’m nervous to make these, knowing I’ll probably end up eating them all in one sitting! ha

  2. These looks delicious! I like I’m best at baking things, but I don’t have any one specialty!

  3. So cute! I love decorated cookies, and am always impressed by people who make them gorgeous because my artistic flair is totally lacking. I love making pancakes and cookies…they always are a hit!

  4. Super cute Julie! I bet the kids LOVED the cookies!

  5. I’m good at making chocolate cake!!!!!! Not decorating. But the baking part. I also make some awesome muffins! Those cookies look so springy!!

  6. Mmm I love sugar cookies, they are by far my favorite and they absolutely have to have frosting. Growing up my mom would always make huge batches at Christmas and we’d freeze them – then I would be too impatient for them to defrost and I’d eat them frozen with fresh frosting on top, haha. They still tasted good to me 🙂
    I’m bomb at wrapping burritos/soft tacos, my toppings never spill out 🙂

  7. Yum! I don’t think I’m really good at making anything. I just make things by the recipe and people think it’s awesome.
    I should make cookies for Easter though. I almost forgot it was this weekend!

  8. Yay thank you for sharing this recipe!! I love recipes from family like this that have been passed down from generations! I’ve never heard of putting sour cream in cookies either, I bet that makes them super moist! And I make awesome cupcakes and soups!

  9. fitandfuninthird

    Those are adorable!!! Perfect Easter recipe! 🙂 I’m pretty darn good at making chocolate chip cookies… toot toot!

  10. thehinzadventures

    ADORABLE – you are amazing at cookie making – great job! I suck at cookie making (except oatmeal) – xoxo

  11. How amazing (and YUMMY) do these cookies look!!! I LOVE a good sugar cookie! Thank you for sharing the recipe! I think sugar cookies are the happiest looking cookies!! How can you not smile when you see one (and EAT one!!!).

  12. Love your way of sharing the news with your students and coworkers – how fun! And congratulations!! I honestly don’t really have a good sugar cookie recipe, so I am going to try these next time – thanks!

  13. Wow – those cookies look great! I am still working on my baking abilities 🙂

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

