Are you a “Cat Herder”?

If you are a teacher or know much about teachers, you know that we can be a little ummm….. how shall I say this……Resistant to change!

Yep, I got that out there. As teachers- we are natural overseers and leaders. We’re not big fans of someone leading us– especially when the path is not defined! Right now we are all shifting to Common Core Standards. The path is undefined…..Let me share this video- it pretty much sups it up…

I have spent the last two days from 7:00am-5:30pm sitting on my bumm helping develop a plan to help my district shift to common core. The academy that I am attending shared this commercial with all of us and it has so much relevance to our current situation. We are all feeling a bit scattered and unclear of how to get where we need to be going.

While this video has extreme relevance {and humor} to our situation right now, I realize that this is not the first time in my life where I have been ‘herding cats.’

Question: Have you ever felt like you were herding cats? How stinking cute is this video?!

5 responses to “Are you a “Cat Herder”?

  1. OMG I feel the same way. We’re switching to common core too, just ELA this year for intermediate, and it is so annoying. My district already has essentially nothing curriculum wise for reading, so we all thought with the switch they’d be giving us some. Nope! Just a rough guideline with some mentor texts. Ummm with almost all 50 states on board with CC why is there not a good curriculum that matches it?!

  2. When I was in grad school our profs would purposefully be vague with deadlines, expectations, etc. bc they were trying to condition us for teaching. The phrase was “embrace the ambiguity.”
    OMG I feel the same way. We’re switching to common core too, just ELA this year for intermediate, and it is so annoying. My district already has essentially nothing curriculum wise for reading, so we all thought with the switch they’d be giving us some. Nope! Just a rough guideline with some mentor texts. Ummm with almost all 50 states on board with CC why is there not a good curriculum that matches it?!

  3. I hear good and bad things about common core stuff. My district was the experimental district (my senior year! Blah!) for standards based grading and it did not go over well. I used to be a hard working A student and I found myself being super lazy because C work now equaled an A. Some people say good things about common core, but it sounds to me like standards based. I’m just a student, though, so what do I know?

  4. I feel the same way about this common core stuff. At our training in April some of it made sense and I’m curious how this is going to work. I guess I just feel that I want to see exactly what is expected of me like the standards and I’ll teach it. It’ll be an interesting transition.

  5. Adorable!!!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

