God knows better than me?!….. Who knew?!

I was crossing my fingers to win the lottery and put off going back to work for a little while. No dice. Bummer. I even was certain that if I won the lottery, I would go back to work free of charge; as long as they let me build a daycare on the school grounds and hire someone stellar to watch my son while I was instructing my lovely students. Guess it’s now written in the stars for us (yet! 😉 )

Lottery for me?!

November 1st was the set date that I would become a mother AND  a teacher. The day was quite dreaded and I had no idea how I would feel about the whole thing when it finally arrived. My maternity leave was bliss, I loved staying at home with my son….. Honestly, I was very scared that I would go stir crazy on maternity leave; manily because it was football season and I would be completely alone from 7:00 am- about 8:00 pm. {In a small town!} But, we found our groove and I was able to get things done as well as be a mom. It was nice.  Okay, I’ll be honest- it was out-of-this-world-wonderful!

I have known from a pretty early age that I wanted to work with children, even when I was one myself. I just knew that my genuine love of youthful spirits would lead me to teaching. So, I became a teacher. I love my job. BUT, it is no secret around Spinach and Sprinkles that my current situation as far as my job is concerend is a little….. ummm…… less than ideal.

I have taught Kindergarten, 2nd grade, 3rd, and half a year of 6th grade all in consecutive years and am currently teaching 4th grade. That is five years of changing. That means that for FIVE YEARS, I have never taught the same lesson twice! It has been new each and every single day for FIVE YEARS!!!!!  The only thing that has stayed the same for three of those years is my physical classroom—-and MY STUDENTS! That’s right, I have taught most of the kids in my classroom at least two years and four of them have had me three years **in a row**. (Would you like their addresses so that you can send them sympothy cards? I’m sure they would appreciate it! 🙂 ) Talk about a challenge!

My five years of challenges in the classroom.

I have been spending the last two, going on three, of those years crying and stressing about everything concerning my job; from the big to the small….. Then, I got the biggest blessing of my life and found out I was pregnant. I went to school for a full day of 4th grade and went into labor while teaching on the second day of school.

I was able to take an 8’ish week maternity leave due to the nerve damage I experienced. When those 8 weeks were gone, my heart was truly sad. I didn’t want to leave my son….. I repeat, I did not want to leave my son.

LOVE this cutie!

LOVE this cutie!

However, God has a better plan for my life than I have for myself. I recieved a huge shock……. I finally saw God’s plan for making me teach the same kids for three years in a row; I missed my kids. I honestly feel like a few of them are my actual children and I needed to get back and remind them of how much their mom at school loves and cares about them. I KNOW I never would have been able to go back to work if I didn’t care about my kids at school this deeply. God knew what I needed better than I did. Truly, I would have been a stay at home mom if it wasn’t for my unusual circumstances. He kept me with the same class for three years so I would still feel a calling to be a teacher/mom to students every year, not just my own son.  He knew I could be a mom to my baby and my kiddos, I just needed to have three years with some kids to convince me that I could do them both….. for the love of children.

His timing is PERFECT!

Who would have thought; God having a better plan than this girl. Who knew?!

QUESTION: Have you ever been able to look back and see God’s perfect plan for something that has been tough in your life?

18 responses to “God knows better than me?!….. Who knew?!

  1. I’m glad that you’re finding a balance and enjoying the changes in your life!

  2. GREAT perspective. And your son is ADORABLE!!!

  3. I love this! It’s so true, we don’t always understand why things have to happen, and sometimes don’t always agree, but it’s all part of God’s plan for us and we just have to have faith that it is all for a reason and in the end will be exactly what he intends is best for us!
    Great post, just what I needed to be reminded of today! 🙂

    • I think I should remind myself every day that God knows better than I do. His plans are much better than my own, even if at the time it is SUPER hard. ……Like going back to work. Holy heavens is it tough. Breaks my heart every day; however I am called to be a mother AND a teacher.

  4. Love this post, you certainly have some of the luckiest students in the world! Your son is looking cuter than ever, Just pack him in your lunch sack!! 😉 Best of luck to you guys in the New Year. I hope 2013 is as full of good news as 2012 was with the birth your new little bud

  5. Wow, what a wonderful post! I can only imagine how difficult it must have been to return to work, but it sounds like your students are well worth it! I have a hard time waiting for God’s timing but it’s something I’m working on! I just want the perfect job/guy/apt now! But I’m trying to have faith that his timing is the right timing!

  6. Your school is so very blessed to have you Julie. The US has such a problem with finding teachers who care as much and as lovely as you, they are the ones who are blessed!

    xoxo from Trinidad

  7. I’m really really working on it. 2012 was a rollercoaster of some really terrible things.. I’m trying to understand how this “plan” was meant to be.. It’s really hard sometimes.

    • I read about your story & my heart goes out to you. I can’t even imagine. I pray that God will bless you with peace & all of life’s biggest blessings….. My parents lost a daughter, and I a sister, when she was six. I don’t think we are ever meant to understand and I’ll never believe her loss was a part of His plan- I don’t like to think of it that way. However, I do believe He can bless the lives of those left to learn how to live with the loss. I’ll rejoice in the day that I get to hug my sister!

  8. God is good indeed 🙂 Kudos for you for the whole working momma thing. I *think* I’d like to work part time once Adeline is old enough (she’s 3 months now), but just figuring out the logistics of everything is overwhelming! We’ve definitely been praying about what life will look like once I go back to school/work. Your little man is adorable, and I can’t wait to read some more posts! I’m particularly interested in these lactation “cookies”. YOU are doing a FANTASTIC job as a momma, keep up the good work!!!

    • I agree 100%, the logistics is sooooooo overwhelming! Some things have really had to go by the wayside in my life and I’m praying that someday I’ll get it all figured out. Many great moms have went before me on the working momma road and I’ll try to take their lead because I sometimes feel like I’m totally overwhelmed. The only peace I have is that I finally see that it was all God’s plan and it is what He wants me to do.
      I’ll get on sharing the lactation cookies post for you 🙂
      …..and that last comment, “thank you! I totally needed that” ❤

  9. The switching around grades is pretty intense!!!! I actually had a similar surprise of not really being able to find a teaching job in Denver so I’ve taken up piano teaching from home! It worked out better than I could have planned!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

