Making milk is a superpower! ||{healthy lactation cookies}||

First off, this is a completely “MOM” related post- if you couldn’t tell by the title. 😉  I do realize that many of my posts have “shifted” since the birth of my blessing, – but hey, my hips have shifted too. Life isn’t fair 😉   ……I am sharing this because of a few requests and the fact that I didn’t find a healthy lactation ‘cookie’ while in my search.  I searched high and low, sifting through all sorts of pins on Pinterest—–only to find unhealthy options……  So I’m sharing my own! Who knows, maybe I can help a mom out!

Making milk is superpower, truly.

Sadly, it is not a superpower I possess easily. It is hard work for me. Darn hard work. I’m a wannabe superhero milk producer.

Yep, I’m a wannabe.

I envy all the women that have gallons of breastmilk stored in their refridgerators for their little blessings to enjoy. I really envy them….. like the way I envied Rebecca on Full House because she got to kiss Uncle Jesse. Yep, that kind of envy. That is neither here nor there. Back to the nursing talk.

I take about 30 supplements daily, drink lactation tea 3-5 times a day, and drown myself with water all for the sake of producing juuuuust enough milk for my little one. All of this is doctor approved and suggested; don’t think I’ve went off the deep end here. (but sometimes I feel like I have!) While I’m at work, I also pump every time my son would eat—–> just to keep up.

IMG_0987 Making milk is a superpower! Lactation Cookies

Then, there is this other little thing I do—- eat lactation cookies! 🙂

I can’t lie to you and tell you that they are the best thing I’ve ever eaten, they’re not. However, they do help me eat healthily in a pinch and provide some good things that support healthy lactation. I’m telling you, I do EVERYTHING I can to make milk for my little superhero!

Healthy Lactation Cookies

  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/3 c. rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp cinnamon (I probably put in waaay more cinnamon, I’m a cinnamon junkie!)
  • 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 overripe bananas (the waaay ugly black/brown ones)
  • 1 c. ground flax
  • 6 Tbsp brewers yeast* (can add as little as 2 T)
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1/3 c. brown sugar (I use dark)
  • 1 Tbsp good quality vanilla
  • 2 eggs

Preheat oven to 350°.  Mix the flour, oats, soda, salt, and cinnamon thoroughly in one bowl. In a seperate bowl mix remaining ingredients and mix well, mix very well.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and dollop the cookies on in whatever size you’d like. Bake for 12-14 minutes. (always 13 minutes on the nose in my oven!!)

*note: most recipes I saw only had about two tablespoons of brewers yeast. I just thought that didn’t seem like much for a whole batch of cookies, so I just kept dumping it in!

IMG_0969 Lactation Cokies

Many other recipes add peanutbutter & chocolate chips to make them more ‘cookie like’. But, if some of you recall, due to some “issues” south of the border, I can’t eat those things. So, mine ended up being UBER healthy. They remind me more of a muffin than a cookie. But their cookie nature makes them easy to grab and go for me personally. Plus, I can make varied sizes of cookies that way; something a muffin tin won’t allow!

I am in no way, shape, or form saying that these are a cure all for a low milk supply. For some women , eating lactation cookies can really help; while for others it really doesn’t do much. I like to think that they aid me in healthy lactation but more importantly, they aid me in a healthy lifestyle as a busy mamma! Because I choose to nurse Jackson over my lunch time on MWF while he’s in the same town as me, I have very little time to eat lunch at work, we’re talking 5’ish minutes! I grab one or two of these and know that I’m getting in some whole grains and something that can help with lactation.

WHY these are supposed to help:

  • Oats are shown to aid in lactation as well as just be darn good for you.
  • Brewers Yeast is shown to give some women’s milk production an extra boost.
  • Flax is sometimes shown to help as well, depends who you are asking.

So, these are winners for me and I find myself making them each and every week.  I do hope those of you  out there that are breastfeeding mammas, I hope you easily come by the superpower of making and abundance of milk………… ………But, for those of you like me, the PROUD WANNABES, cheers! Grab a cookie!

10 responses to “Making milk is a superpower! ||{healthy lactation cookies}||

  1. Man, I cannot get past the taste of brewers yeast. I can’t fugure out how to mask it well!

    That is awesome that Jackson’s daycare is close enough that you can nurse him on your lunch break! I bet it makes the day go by much faster!

    • He is across town—— then again, across town is like a mile away. 🙂 The ups of small town living….. It makes the day SOOOO much better! I love MWF!! Tues&Thurs are super long days because I’m away from him for so long.
      I take a spoonfull of brewers yeast and eat it try to get my taste buds used to it- kind of like nutritional yeast. So, I can’t even taste it in the cookies I’m getting so used to it!

  2. This is not exactly a recipe that would fit me considering the fact I am nowhere near ready for a mini Casey in my life, but kudos to you for making your own recipe. I love how healthy you are being, so great for you AND your little one! 🙂

  3. Yay for healthy lactation cookies! I’m so excited that you made your own recipe instead of just using one of the not-so-healthy ones out there. (I’ve done this search, too…) I find that I need a boost during certain times of the month, so I think I may try these! Thanks!!

  4. I just wanted to thank you for posting this recipe! I scoured the Internet looking for a healthy lactation cookie recipe and was ecstatic when I found yours! I just finished making a batch and they are delicious!!! The only change I made was using almond flour instead of wheat so that they’re gluten free. I love that they’re low in sugar and perfect for on the go! Thank you!!!

  5. Thanks for publishing this recipe! I dislike brewers yeast, too, but can’t taste it in the finished cookies.

  6. These look yummy, but I also like lactation granola bars as a healthier alternative (and because dairy doesn’t agree with baby). I order mine from Oat Mama.

  7. Mine came out tasting alright, but stuck to the parchment paper badly and were a bit sponge-y. Any clue as to why do sponge-y? Thanks for the recipe though, I’m really hoping these work!

Leave a reply! ....Let me know what you're thinking!

