Daily Archives: April 10, 2012

Week 15 & 16

Week 15

Beginnings of the baby bump!

I have no idea where the time has gone. I am now almost 21 weeks (tomorrow it will be 21 weeks) I am over halfway done with my pregnancy. I have to admit though, the weeks creeeeeep on when you’re in them but when you look back they simply few by! Such is life. ….. My original intent was to catch up on weeks 13’ish- 19 week by week and then keep up by doing a weekly post about the pregnancy journey.

I have some bad news. I did a HORRIBLE job tracking my pregnancy in the earlier weeks. When I say horrible, I mean horrible. As in, ummm,  I didn’t really track it at all.

Yes, there is a reason. It lies deep within my being and I just let the time slip away from me. Here is the truth. I was/am scared. I knew the deep pain that I would feel if anything went wrong. I had a very hard time letting go of my fears to just enjoy the fact that what we had worked so hard for was happening. I was scared to get excited. I guess I thought it would help with the pain if….. I hate that my brain went there but it is reality and it scared the you know what out of me.  During those weeks, I quietly enjoyed my pregnancy with  my husband, my mom/dad/sister, and my aid at work.  I was able to talk to them about my fears, joy, and what was going on with my body. They were all *so* great!

What my body was doing weeks 12-16’ish: 

  • Extreme tiredness. Early pregnancy was definitely the beginning of the journey to adding on to our family. I had to push back the alarm about 30 minutes to make it through the day at school. I lived on the couch after 7:00 and was fighting sleep by 7:30. Seriously. I neeeeeeeded sleep and was passing out on the couch by about 8:10 every.single.evening.
  • Growing tummy. It was only visable to those VERY close to me though. Plus, I am *always* wearing a coat or sweater, so it was hard to see the growth.

“Morning” sickness:  Not only in the morning though. The sickness would come super hard, super fast- then I would run to the bathroom to puke and that was the end of it. I felt better afterward. I consider myself lucky. It didn’t start till about week 11 or 12 but still creeps in every once in a while, especially if I accidently get too much acid in a food or drink…… I didn’t/don’t feel sick all day, just those few moments before I would puke. I didn’t/don’t feel nautius all day long like some women. See? Lucky duck right here.  I do have to eat every few hours, but this isn’t out of the norm- I’m a natural grazer 🙂

Smells that made me sick: 15 expo markers (14 was safe but add another and I’d be running to the bathroom), beer, body oder, strong perfume, many foods that smell strongly, and—-  everything really….. My nose was, and still is, SUPER sensitive to just about everything in the book!

Craving and Hating: I crave condiments: ketchup, mustard, and salsa! Mmmmm, salsa! Those three things can go on everything as far as I’m concerned.  Potatoes in every fashion also sound good, this is out of the norm for me. I usually only like sweet potatoes but now—- baked, mashed, and one french fry or tater tot each time I see one- yep, just one but I can’t say no because I want one.  I hate….. um, nothing. I also can’t get enough fruit- mainly frozen grapes. Since I can’t drink wine, I’ve taken up frozen grape eating. 🙂  Also, I can’t get enough chocolate. This isn’t new though.

16 Weeks

Baby Bump at 16 weeks with unbuttoned jeans and a Beband. Lifesaver transition period.

I’ll try to get on top of week 17, 18, & 19 soon. And then on to 20 & 21!

Overview: I experienced overwhelming exhaustion, fear, joy,’morning’ sickness could be worse, all smells are yucky, I have a relationship with the couch after 7:30, I dig chocolate and frozen grapes a lot, and the baby concept is truly real- we are enjoying having our secret to enjoy and dream together for our future child.

Annnnd- note to self, I need to get ontop of the letter writing to Baby H!

Question: Wait, I don’t have a question; just thankfulnes for the healthy (almost) 21 weeks with our baby! ♥Thanks for reading♥