Daily Archives: April 30, 2012

Everyone else is prepared- I’m not…Weeks 21 & 22

21 weeks

Growing Baby H for 21 weeks

I feel like every other mommy to be has themselves so together and prepared. Every other mommy on the face of the earth has their nurserys painted, cribs bought and put together, are informed about what kind of diaper is best, knows all about breast feeding, has the birthing classes taken, is preparing their bodies for labor with prenatal yoga and such,  and has absolutely every aspect of their pregnancy/delivery/homecoming taken care of.  Yep, it’s true- EVERY OTHER MOMMY TO BE HAS IT ALL TOGETHER—– and I don’t.

I know that this isn’t true. I know that there are hundreds of other mommys to be out there that feel the same way I do. I can’t be the only one freaking out about all that I don’t have done and all that I don’t know.

These past few weeks have been a week full of craziness and numbness. Let me explain.  When I get overwhelmed, I go numb in a sense. I kind of black out and go through the motions. Keeping a job, growing a baby, being a wife, and wrapping up a school year is enough to make me feel stretched thin. I know this is only minor to the things to come but it sure does feel overwhelming at the moment.

Currently, I am preparing to bring a new life into the world and into our family. That is a big deal. Right? Yep, HUGE.  I’m too much of a Type A personality to not have everything in order. I need to get busy!

  • Baby’s room needs to be cleaned out of stuff not baby related
  • Baby’s room needs painted
  • Buy a crib
  • Schedule our childbirth class
  • Paint Baby’s room
  •  Prepare for EVERYTHING under the sun for what is to come in the next 3 1/2 months. Holy cow. THREE AND A HALF MONTHS.

The thought of holding this baby in my arms is getting me through and makes me absolutely giddy inside- and totally freaked out too. I want to be a good mom. I want nothing more than to be the mom that this baby deserves. I can’t believe that all of these mommy emotions happen long before I even get to hold the little bundle.

I need to continue concentrating on doing what is right for me and my growing family and not get so caught up in how ‘together’ every other mommy to be seems to be. I’m being me and doing the best job of being a mommy that I can- even if her/her nursery isn’t even started. That doesn’t mean I’m not excited beyond belief for the little life in my tummy- each prayer I say is worth just as much as a painted or clean nursery. 

22 weeks

22 weeks with growing baby

Such a journey that I am so blessed to be walking upon with my husband and growing bundle.